We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveller rating
5
32
57
17
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5
32
57
17
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 113 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2017

I really liked this hotel. As referred to by others it has an old world soviet feel; with obvious improvements. Air con can be a bit annoying; but apart from that hotel was fine. Beautiful view if you have a room facing the street.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scmp79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Great example of a soviet style hotel. We had an executive room which had a bit more space, the furnishings were quite old but that didn't worry us. The beds were comfy and had pristine clean linen on them. It was rather warm when we stayed found the aircon worked fine but was a tad noisy. The breakfast room is amazing we loved sitting there of a morning looking at the murals, for us there was plenty to choose from cereals, breads, pastries, eggs, cheese, meats, salads. The location is great close to a lot of attractions and also very safe. The check inn/check out process was quick and easy, staff were very helpful. We even got a packed breakfast when we had to leave early to catch our flight. It is quite dated and old but if you want a soviet experience try The Otrar.

Date of stay: June 2017
Thank joanne065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

The hotel is on a busy main street and has 160 rooms. Our room had two double beds but there was very little space for suitcases. The aircon unit was actually in the window behind two sets of curtains and was ineffective. The TV was old and only had ten Russian channels. The bathroom was basic but it did have toiletries and hot water. Breakfast was buffet-style with hot/cold foods, fruit and pastries.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

Good sized room, clean and well equipped. Bath with shower, although shower head did not hold still. Wide open landings and foyer. Amazing breakfast room with domed, painted room with an enormous central chandelier. This hotel dates from the soviet era. Excellent choice at breakfast for all tastes. Well placed, with most attractions within walking distance.
I would not rate this hotel 4 in U.K., but we're not in U.K.!!! Some reviews on here are negative and I think it's important to remember the location and nature of Kazakhstan to put things in perspective

Date of stay: August 2017
Thank kizzyjenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

The room is very small and not very clean. The breakfast is inedible for Westerners as the hygiene standard is very poor (no cooling, no covers). Aircondition works rather poor. We would not stay at this hotel again. However the staff was very friendly and helpful and their caring attitude made up for some of the inconveniences.
Looked to us as the managment is quite greedy and they seem to sell a lot to tourgroups for one night only.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paspy7711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews