We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fancy - but too expensive”
Review of Royal Tulip Almaty

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Tulip Almaty
Ranked #9 of 73 Hotels in Almaty
Certificate of Excellence
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
90 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fancy - but too expensive”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

i stayed there for 10 days. the rooms are toooo big.. no one would need such a big room during a business trip.
the hotel is superior in everything with only 2 downsides... it is too expensive and far from the city center and the lively Almaty.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shadz1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    47
    17
    11
    2
See reviews for
11
15
9
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
delhi india
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Amazing place, great staff and service. I would go back again to Royal Tulip.One of the best place to stay in Almaty.
The fittness centre and Spa is out of this world especially the Indonesian Balinese massage.

Keep it up

Room Tip: Roome facing the hills are to be requested
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suneet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

The hotel is really impressive and beautiful. The bathroom was very big, although the bathtub isn't big enough for two.
Breakfast is ok, but SPA is great.
I recommend it as a nice treat for the special occasions.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asseltraeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

Great hotel for visitors. Cosy rooms, friendly staff.
Good restaurant, in companion with best night club in the city.
Have organized an event forum, and was very very satisfied:D

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beldiamantemokka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

I spent two night staying at this hotel earlier this week and it was a patchy, frustrating experience.

First, the hotel is on an impressive site in a good location. I don’t think it could be faulted. The building is new, a year old. The style is marble and gold leaf – understated it isn’t. In the accommodation areas the walls are lined with hand painted panels. It is reminiscent of the art markets along the Seine or the north side of Hyde Park – meter after meter of poorly painted bucolic or maritime scenes.

The rooms are huge – unnecessarily so. It felt like a double bed in a tennis court and frankly the proportions were wrong as a result. For example, the perfectly good TV on the wall is fine for reasonable bedroom but was like watching a blackberry as it was a good 7 meters from the bed.

Service
Frankly hopeless. After a long flight I arrived at the hotel at 1.30 in the morning. There was someone on duty at the front desk but he couldn’t check me in. I had to wait 15 minutes to get checked in.

I had to carry my bags to my room.

When I got to the room it was 34 degrees. I could not turn the temperature down so I called three times for help. No one came. I called to see if they could press my suit; ‘No, but we can deliver an iron and board for you’ All this at $500 a night?

I packed my bags and went down to reception and asked for a car to take me to the InterContinental. The duty manager turned up and put me in a different room which was 22 degrees.

The room had no drinking water in other than in the mini bar so I called to get some water, then decided to grab a shower. The single towel was on the other side of the bathroom, 5 meters from the shower…just sums up the constant failure to pay attention in the design of the hotel. 1 ½ hours after arriving I got some sleep. Then woke and showered and then used my wet towel (as there was only one provided).

Breakfast was ok – the cereals, cold meats etc were great. The hot options like scrambled eggs were inedible.

After a day’s work I had dinner in the restaurant – the same as the breakfast room. The other options in the hotel were closed for a private function, in this case the owners birthday. I have to say the pasta and salad I ordered were excellent. One my return there was a bottle of Rose Asti in a warm ice bucket in my room with a card from the manager; a nice touch but in poor taste.

Overall quite hopeless on the service side and I would not recommend this hotel to any visitor.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RGTLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Almaty hotels
6.2 km away
Rixos Almaty
Rixos Almaty
#2 of 73 in Almaty
641 reviews
4.3 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, Almaty
4.7 km away
InterContinental Almaty Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Holiday Inn Almaty
Holiday Inn Almaty
#10 of 73 in Almaty
424 reviews
5.1 km away
Worldhotel Saltanat Almaty
7.3 km away
Kazzhol
Kazzhol
#6 of 73 in Almaty
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Tulip Almaty? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Tulip Almaty

Property: Royal Tulip Almaty
Address: Ospanova St., 401/2, Almaty 050020, Kazakhstan
Region: Kazakhstan > Almaty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Almaty
#7 Business Hotel in Almaty
#8 Luxury Hotel in Almaty
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,432 - ₹ 15,375
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Tulip Almaty 5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Five-star hotel ""Royal Tulip Almaty"" opened its doors in 2010. The brand ""Royal Tulip"" is owned by Golden Tulip Hospitality Group, one of the largest international hotel operators. Royal Tulip Almaty is the first hotel of this international network in Central Asia. The elegant and luxurious hotel offers 166 spacious rooms including 9 suites and Presidential suite, restaurant of international cuisine, summer terrace, lounge bars, three meeting rooms, ballroom with lobby, health club, beauty salon, VIP room for billiards, and nightclub. The hotel is conveniently located on the Dostyk Avenu in close proximity to the magnificent mountains of Tien Shan, the ice rink ""Medeo"" and ski resort ""Shymbulak"", as well as in 10-minute drive from the financial center. Almaty's International Airport is 20 km away from the hotel." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Tulip Almaty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Tulip Almaty Hotel Almaty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing