We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall very nice, but expensive”
Review of Rixos Almaty

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rixos Almaty
Ranked #2 of 72 Hotels in Almaty
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Overall very nice, but expensive”
Reviewed 1 November 2011

I stayed at the Rixos for 10 nights in October. Overall, I enjoyed it very much. The service was very friendly and helpful at the front desk, in the business center, in the lounge, in the fitness center. Room service was always delivered within 30 minutes or less and was enjoyable every time. The hotel, room service, food in the hotel are all quite expensive.

The hotel has an absolutely fantastic breakfast buffet with everything anyone could want: omelettes made to order, several types of cereals, yogurts, milk, honey, and jams, dozens of types of pastries and breads, fruits, cheeses, meats and vegetables, hot dishes such as porridge, scrambled eggs and sausages, and even soup and dinner type items for those how are jet lagged. I agree with the other commenters that coffee can be hard to come by. I’m not sure if it’s because they’re understaffed, but the servers seem to be constantly running around, yet I was always having to wait for a coffee refill (even if they had just refilled the neighboring table, they would somehow not see my hand gesture).

The lobby is beautiful and has loads of seating, all of which is appropriate for business meetings or even for dinner.

The fitness center is one of the best I’ve seen in a hotel, with up-to-date and very clean equipment. In fact, a staff person is always there to immediately clean the equipment after use. They have lockers, change rooms and showers for use too. The pool is great, warm but not too warm, and plenty big enough for a few people to swim at one time.

Housekeeping was very good in general, though I do wish they would conserve resources and not change the bed sheets EVERY single day. The bathroom was really nice with a rain shower, separate whirlpool tub, nice big vanity, and a hairdryer strong enough to get me out of there in 10 minutes or less!

If you are doing work in your room in the late afternoon/early evening, expect several interruptions unless you put the Do not Disturb sign on your door: the mini-bar checker will come by, someone will come to complete housekeeping, another person may need to drop off more towels, and turn-down service will come by as well, all in about 10-20 minute intervals.

The hotel room is like a lot of rooms in Almaty: VERY hot and stuffy. I kept the heater in the room and bathroom (heated floor also) off and kept my balcony window open as much as I could (given the traffic noise during rush hours). At night it was still quite hot, so I would leave the balcony door open and use ear plugs (when the bass from some nearby club/bar wasn’t too loud). This was during a very nice mid-late October though, the heating system would be much appreciated in the winter I’m sure!

The mattresses are not nearly soft or comfortable enough for a hotel of this price. The mattress is fairly rigid and the quality of the linens and towels is average. The robe and slippers are nice though. You may have to ask for more hangers in your room (I only had 5) and if you need to press anything, you will have to request an iron and board from housekeeping.

Internet in the rooms (at least on the 6th floor) is incredibly slow and my ipad couldn't even pick up the wireless signals. It's still slow in the lobby but at least workable. In the rooms, I required use of a cable to do any type of work with email or internet.

My only other complaint is that I wish they would conserve resources a little more, such as not changing the full bed linens every day, having the card available that says you are ok with towels not being replaced every day, and having the device that controls power working (the one by the door where you have to insert your room key to use lights, etc.).

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank strawberryfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RixosAlmaty, Director of Rooms and Guest Relations at Rixos Almaty, responded to this review, 14 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind and positive words towards our services, facilities and especially the breakfast offer.

Your comments and suggestions are very important for us in order to improve even further.
We proudly pass your comments on to our team which continuously strives to make your experience better.

Your comments in regards to the WiFi connectivity has been addressed and we are currently adding additional WiFi antennas in order to improve the coverage.

Once again thank you very much giving us the opportunity to have you stay in our Hotel, and for the much appreciated post here.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in future in Rixos Almaty.

Regards,
Kuralay Ongarova
Director of Rooms and Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    173
    35
    10
    6
See reviews for
42
40
27
464
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northern VA
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

This was an above average hotel. Very nice grounds and spa. Everything (room, breakfast, service) was above average. But it was not as good as the Intercontinental, which you can get for about the same price.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Foster32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makhmut Z, Front Office Manager at Rixos Almaty, responded to this review, 6 December 2012
Dear Foster32,

First of all we would like to apologize for the delayed reply, we highly appreciate the time taken writing this review about Rixos Almaty.

We are pleased to read our facilities met your expectations, and that you enjoyed our SPA. As we are continuously improving our facilities and services, we highly value your comments and take them with sincere interest, as it will reveal where we need to improve.

Again, thank you for your beneficial feedback, we assure you that your comments will be communicated to the related departments.


Sincerely Yours,

Makhmut Zharimbetov
Director of Rooms and Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

The Rixos does have a "wow" factor when you first come in, I'll give it that but that's as far as it goes I'm afraid. Staff is polite but nobody really told them how to do their job and as a result they end up muddling through. Breakfast was ok but not at the level that should be expected from such a hotel. The worst part however was the fact that behind all the superficial luxury, the whole place is quite dirty.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank theomobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makhmut Z, Front Office Manager at Rixos Almaty, responded to this review, 7 December 2012
Dear theomobile,

Firstly we would like to apologies for the late reply, we truly appreciate the time taken to write a review about our hotel.

We value your constructive feedback, and will take all necessary measurements to improve the quality of our service. We trust that we have improved our breakfast and services since your visit in 2011.

Moreover, we are glad to read that you had a “wow” feeling when entered Rixos Almaty and it is with regret to read that the staff were not able to bring out the service you expected. We assure you that your feedback is communicated throughout the team, and that all necessary measurements to improve the level of service will be made.

It is unfortunate to read that the cleanliness was not satisfactorily during your last stay, and we want to assure you that your comment is taken with sincere interest and have been communicated to the related department to prevent this from happening again.

Again, thank you for your comments.

Sincerely Yours,

Makhmut Zharimbetov
Director of Rooms and Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inwood, West Virginia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

On arrival I thought well " it does not look too bad? but then I walked inside and was Wowed, this hotel is very nice. Breakfast was good, room service was good, and the bed was not hard like a rock. My only problems were with the service; the breakfast food was good, hot and what i like, however the service left alot to be desired. There were times that I had to get up and get my own coffee( I'm not lazy, they kept the coffee so that only the wait staff could bring it to you) I could have set there for an hour and not have one of the wait staff stop by. I also wanted to buy a cigar, they had the key, but no cutter? so how can you smoke a cigar without a cutter?...not sure if they ever did get one. I went out and bought my own. but other than those issues it was a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank firemanstep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makhmut Z, Front Office Manager at Rixos Almaty, responded to this review, 7 December 2012
Dear firemanstep,

Firstly we would like to apologies for the late reply, we truly appreciate the time taken to write a review about our hotel.

We are pleased to read that you were amazed when you entered Rixos Almaty, and the breakfast was to you liking. However, it is unfortunate to read that the service was not up to your expectations and that you had to get coffee your self is regrettable to read. We want to assure you that we take your your comments with sincere interest and will be communicated to the related departments, so these annoyances is not happening again.

Moreover, we cannot overlook the inconvenience you had when purchasing a cigar, and it is with deepest shame to read that you had to go out to buy your own cigar cutter. Your experience have been communicated to the responsible department, and we assure you that we have solved this issue.

Again we were delighted to read your solid feedback, and we are glad we were able to make your stay wonderful.


Sincerely Yours,

Makhmut Zharimbetov
Director of Rooms and Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

My job has taken me thru a few hotels in the capitol of Kazakhstan and the Rixos is the only hotel that I have seen focusing on a business travellers needs.

The wireless Internet connection could be better but it works for the most part. Wired Internet is available and works all the time. A/C is working well.

Breakfast and lobby bar are exactly what you would expect in a top class business hotel. The huge atrium lobby bar is perfect for a drink after work and the pub menu is well designed.
I have also tested the conference facilities and also had the hotel arrange a team event which was highly appreciated. Add the fantastic spa with several different saunas and a 25 meter swimming pool and the Rixos is all you need!

Room Tip: Ask for a room where the wireless Internet is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makhmut Z, Front Office Manager at Rixos Almaty, responded to this review, 7 December 2012
Dear Marcus S,

First we would like to apologies for the late reply, we truly appreciate the time taken to write a review about our hotel.

We were delighted to read your sunny comments about our hotel. However, we cannot overlook the challenges you experienced with our Wi-Fi and apologize for any inconvenience it may have caused. Your experience will be shared with our IT team at the next hotel quality meeting.

Our Brasserie Restaurant offers indeed great breakfast, with vast assortment and high quality food, designed by our French Executive Chef. Also our lobby lounge is indeed perfect for after work drinks, and our conference facilities are great features for business travellers. Our 2200 sqm SPA with several different saunas and our 25-meter swimming pool is indeed a great trait to our guests.

Again, thank you for your wonderful compliments to our hotel, and we hope to welcome you again soon.


Sincerely Yours,

Makhmut Zharimbetov
Director of Rooms and Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Almaty hotels
3.4 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, Almaty
1.6 km away
InterContinental Almaty Hotel
1.8 km away
Holiday Inn Almaty
Holiday Inn Almaty
#8 of 72 in Almaty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Worldhotel Saltanat Almaty
1.2 km away
Kazzhol
Kazzhol
#6 of 72 in Almaty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
6.2 km away
Royal Tulip Almaty
Royal Tulip Almaty
#9 of 72 in Almaty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixos Almaty? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixos Almaty

Property: Rixos Almaty
Address: Seyfullina 506, Almaty 050012, Kazakhstan
Region: Kazakhstan > Almaty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Almaty
#2 Luxury Hotel in Almaty
#2 Spa Hotel in Almaty
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,082 - ₹ 15,877
Hotel Class:5 star — Rixos Almaty 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury 5-star hotel is located in central Almaty, half a mile from Nikolai Cathedral. Rixos Almaty Hotel offers modern rooms with free Wi-Fi internet and a spa with swimming pool. All rooms at Rixos Almaty feature air conditioning, a desk and a balcony with impressive views. All bathrooms include a bathtub and shower. A buffet breakfast is served each morning at Rixos Almaty. The restaurant serves international buffets as well as offering varied dining menus. The Lobby Bar & Lounge is open 24 hours a day, and guests can also dine at Wine Bar that has great selections of wines. The 23680 ft² spa also includes a gym, sauna, Turkish bath, indoor gardens and 7 massage rooms. Rixos Hotel is one mile from Almaty Opera House and 3 miles by cable car from Koktobe Mountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rixos Almaty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rixos Almaty Hotel Almaty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing