We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Kazahstan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kazahstan
Ranked #42 of 72 Hotels in Almaty
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
98 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Perfectly Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

Clean hotel with some really cool Soviet Era touches from the 1970's, The front desk staff was fairly nice however seemed a tad distant and not too interested in us. While some people like the location, for me it was a bit far from the more pedestrian friendly area of Gogal Street. A gym would be a nice addition.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    66
    88
    46
    24
See reviews for
9
23
34
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tehran, Iran
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

I was there almost 5 years ago so I hope the situation has been improved. A few of the staff could speak English. There was no safe in my room. You had to give your cash to the reception people asking for the receipt. No swimming pool. No discos. I thought the hotel had received the stars because it was a government-run one. Of course, there were many rooms. Rooms themselves were somehow spacious. All in all, the hotel had past its best days.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoloTraveller1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Almaty hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Minnesota
Level Contributor
106 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

Stayed for 2 nights. Nothing fancy but nice and relaxed. About $135USD was a good price for Almaty, which is a bit expensive. Good location ..Cable car to Kok Tobe is about 1 block away, Paniflav park and Green Market is about 10 blocks maybe? Nice walk.
Rooms were nice with good views in all rooms. Buffet breakfast with chicken&vegetables, fried eggs, breads, cereal was good. Receptionist were nice and they held my bag (arrived at 5am and they held it while I took a city tour, until check in at 2pm). The Guns&Roses bar is attached on floor 2; A couple of clubs up on 26 with good views.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Plexiaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

Recently stayed for 2 x 2 nights on a business trip. My first impressions were not too crash hot, but by the end of the week I had warmed to the location.

Breakfast is also included in the rate of the room - 20,000T (approx. $135 AU) - a buffet selection of eggs, sausages, pastries, cold meats, fruit and yoghurt.

Quick and free Wi-Fi was available, and after I got my bearings I found that the hotel was conveniently located for a walk to the Koktobe (Green Hill) cable car and if you headed straight down Dostyke Avenue & through Paniflov Park you would end up in the central shopping district (approx. 10 minute walk). There is a supermarket just a couple of minutes down the street. The Noodles bar and the Guns & Roses Pub-Grille are located in the hotel complex. However, for a traditional Kazakh meal it is a taxi ride. Suggest you organise this through the reception. A licensed taxi will cost approx. 1000T ($7 AU), while a street taxi will charge over 1600T ($11 AU) and they don't carry change.

The staff are generally quite helpful, but their spoken English is limited. I'll admit Kazakhs' seem to understand English better than most can understand Kazakh/ Russian. If you have a late flight you are welcome to check out and leave your luggage in a locked and guarded room while you catch up on some sight-seeing/ business.... But don't forget to tip! Actually they probably will ask for one anyway! :)

Room Tip: I would suggest requesting a room on the upper floors (22-25) as these rooms have been more recently...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

I was in this hotel for one weekend. I can't say much about the service because I didn't really deal with this side of the hotel. Reception was helpful to the extent that I needed it, I was also able to store my things in a guarded room for a few hours after checking out while I was walking around the city.
The room itself was is of medium size, it's clean and the view from the 25th floor where I stayed was fantastic with the city and the mountains right there in front of you. Shower and toilette area are clean as well. The price includes wifi and breakfast. On 2nd floor you have a nice bar with dancing area where they have live music and a dj. So if you don't feel like going anywhere, you can always party not too far from your room.
The location is perfect, especially when you're in the city for a short time. You're within a walking distance to the cable cars that take you to Kok-Tobe, the movie theater and a lot of nice cafes and bars. You're also not too far from the mountains (taxi wise).

Room Tip: I read in some reviews that due to the bar on the 26th floor it was impossible to sleep, but I had n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the_puteshestvennik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Almaty hotels
2.6 km away
Kazzhol
Kazzhol
#6 of 72 in Almaty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
1.3 km away
D'Rami
D'Rami
#5 of 72 in Almaty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
2.0 km away
Holiday Inn Almaty
Holiday Inn Almaty
#9 of 72 in Almaty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Rixos Almaty
Rixos Almaty
#2 of 72 in Almaty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
1.8 km away
Voyage
Voyage
#13 of 72 in Almaty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.8 km away
Iris
Iris
#19 of 72 in Almaty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kazahstan? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kazahstan

Property: Kazahstan
Address: Dostyk Ave., 52/2, Almaty 050010, Kazakhstan
Region: Kazakhstan > Almaty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Almaty
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,084 - ₹ 6,746
Hotel Class:4 star — Kazahstan 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star 26-storey hotel "Kazakhstan" is located in a picturesque location of Almaty. From the windows of the hotel magnificent view of snow-capped peaks of Trans-Ili Alatau is opening. Ecologically clean area, where the hotel is located, the heart of business and administrative center of Almaty is connected by transportation routes to any point of the city. In five-minute walk from the hotel are office buildings, schools, banks, restaurants, museums, parks, theaters and monuments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Kazahstan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kazakhstan Hotel Almaty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing