We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Richmond Hotel Premier Sendai Ekimae
Ranked #3 of 129 Hotels / Ryokan in Sendai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Standard business hotel. Comfortable, stylish room. They were able to accommodate me when I arrived one night early. However, the rate for this extra night was double the price and I had to stay in a smoking room for the night--which was very, very saturated in smoke. I opened the window, but found it hard to stay in the room, as I am sensitive to smoke. Was able to move to a non-smoking room the next morning. Staff are a tad too formal and, while smiling, seem insincere. The complimentary breakfast is simple and western--with fresh pastry, cereal and yogurt. Disappointed there weren't any Japanese choices! English newspapers in the lobby for sale (Daily Yomiyuri Japan Times). It is in a great location--steps from the main station. Lots to see and do in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank punkscholar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (545)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

55 - 59 of 545 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2012

Stayed here for two nights in February. As many say, the location is handy. This is a clean and convenient metro hotel a block from front entrance to the station. Entry takes you directly to elevator, where the 5th floor is the first (and only) choice. To go higher, you need to feed a card key into a reader. This keeps anyone from street from reaching your floor, a good idea.

Nice place. Richmond must have made a study of what the traveling business customer wants, and the offerings were a degree nicer than what you can expect in more standard business quarters. Roughly equivalent in class to a nice, new Hampton Inn in the U.S. Free breakfast. Lobby is not what I'd call spacious, but comfortable and friendly. Lots of newspapers, with copies of Japan Times for English speakers.

Room was cozy. If you're a foreigner, you might prefer the word 'small.' But new and convenient for one person. Two people might find themselves bumping into each other a lot in the room -- but I saw many Japanese couples there, so people seem to handle the tight quarters. (I was only foreigner.) Saw one family with a child. Just one. I'd seek out a more spacious place for a family.

Bed was fine. I only heard some soft sounds from a neighbor room for a brief period as a happy couple apparently celebrated an intimate holiday. And I heard that only because it was late and otherwise so quiet. Not a problem.

Breakfast was OK. Best part were the warm breads and small pastries. They heat them up on the spot, so keep an eye on when the tray comes out of the oven. There were three or four workers handling the service, so no waiting. Place was spotless.

People at front desk were positively friendly and spoke enough English to help foreign guests. They sent me off for dinner in direction of a bunch of izakaya. The housekeepers were unusually friendly, too.

On a weekend, the place was well occupied but not crowded. Lots of young couples. I met one cello player who apparently was performing with a quartet or symphony.

This is a warm and friendly place for people traveling or staying alone. It's a step down from the Metropolitan Hotel and the Westin and a few other large, full-service hotels near the station. But for my needs, I rather enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeekingGoodService
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

The location is wonderful, placed almost in front of Aoba Dori station (JR Senseki Line). When you travel to Matsushima (the three best view in Japan), you can ride a train from Aoba Dori Station, and directly can go to Matsushima Kaigan Dori station (30mnts, 400yen one way), then can get on sightseeing boat (need reservation).
Also it has an easy access to dine out in the city center or to Sendai station.
Richmond premiere is not an elegant city hotel such as intercontinental or Westin, Hyatt, but among business hotels, but deserve much more than the price, and I can understand why it ranks highest in customer satisfaction in the ¥9,000 to Less than ¥15,000 per night segment at Japan Hotel Guest Satisfaction Index Study.
It offers wonderful Western style breakfast (fresh and healthy), high quality bed and pillows, efficiency (free internet connection both wired and Wi-Fi, many electrical outlets/ power source) , and hotel staffs very professional and helping.
If I add one thing to be mentioned, they should write about that the hotel is on the WEST exit of Sendai station. Sendai station has two exits: east and west.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deartravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2010

At the end of 2 weeks in Japan staying at modest, well-appointed 3 star hotels we decided to splurge for our last night and stay at the Richmond in Sendai. According to Rakuten (which I am aware is rated by customers) this is a 5 star hotel, but it was in no way superior to the other places we stayed on our trip and in many ways it lacked by comparison. It cost as much as where we stayed in the centre of Ginza! The service was next to non-existant, and the room was tiny!!! On checkin we had to talk to the receptionists, confirm our booking and then walk over to an automated checkin machine adjacent to the desk. This was simply bizarre, and seemed to serve the purpose only of trying out a new gadget, unless the staff here were particularly offended by handling cash?
Although the hotel offers baby cots, there was no way we could fit the cot in to our room without causing a fire exit hazard. The room was by far the smallest I have ever stayed in, and I have stayed in many hotels in Japan. The bed was pushed against the wall and this left less than 1 metre between the other wall and the other side of the bed. The foot of the bed was cluttered with furniture, and in general the effect was claustrophobic. Noise from the street below, including the incessant beeping of the traffic lights, was high, especially considering we were on the 10th floor.
On the plus side, the complimentary breakfast was very pleasant, although again it was not staffed. It seemed as if this hotel was doing all it could to not offer service to guests.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank charlyandal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ななっち
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sendai hotels
Sendai Station
Hotel Metropolitan Sendai
Sendai Station
Richmond Hotel Sendai
Richmond Hotel Sendai
#8 of 129 in Sendai
644 reviews
Kotodai Koen Station
The Westin Sendai
The Westin Sendai
#1 of 129 in Sendai
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sendai Station
Hotel Monterey Sendai
Hotel Monterey Sendai
#10 of 129 in Sendai
500 reviews
Sendai Station
Mitsui Garden Hotel Sendai
Sendai Washington Hotel
#9 of 129 in Sendai
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Hotel Premier Sendai Ekimae? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hotel Premier Sendai Ekimae

Address: 2-1-1 Chuo, Aoba-ku | 5F, Sendai Toho Building, Sendai 980-0021, Miyagi Prefecture
Region: Japan > Tohoku > Miyagi Prefecture > Sendai > Sendai Station , Hirose Dori Station
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 129 Hotels / Ryokan in Sendai
Price Range: ₹ 5,145 - ₹ 13,286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Richmond Hotel Premier Sendai Ekimae 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA so you can book your Richmond Hotel Premier Sendai Ekimae reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing