We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveller rating
65
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
65
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tatami room rent bikes a great place to stay free wifi guesthouse san shower japan station
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 69 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2018

This was a great place to stay in Takamatsu and not only because it's so clean & very well organised- the owner is so wonderful, kind and knowledgeable. Love cation is only a bus ride from the station & the guesthouse website has really good instructions to help you get to the door

Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jo_au_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wakabaya, オーナー at Guest House Wakabaya, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Yes, I made the access instruction very carefully for first comers. Thank you for your comment and rating. Have a nice trip again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018

Once in a while during a trip you come across a place that makes you want to stay longer: this was definitely one for me. Friendly and helpful owners (without being pushy), super clean and well designed hostel. The bunk beds must be the most practically designed I ever came across (and I travelled quite a bit in hostels). Lots of travel info available, sociable atmosphere, great for solo travellers. If I would ever come back for the triënnale I will definitely consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Bunks are sturdy with a lot of privacy (curtains that close perfectly). Some private rooms as well, walls are thin though.
Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sigrid L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wakabaya, オーナー at Guest House Wakabaya, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2018

Although I was wondering if you could spend good time in rainy Takamatsu and foggy mountain, now I’m really glad to hear that our guesthouse could be your home. A large number of tourists visit this area during the trienniale. I recommend you to reserve “your home” three months in advance. Thank you for your stay and see you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017 via mobile

What a treat to stay at a newly built guesthouse with all the modern conveniences and space while paying homage to the local past. Also a treat to get to interact with the young family/owners. The quiet, neighbourhood location is a simple 2-road, 45-minute walk from the JR station/ferries if you're up for it. Free toiletries and towels a bonus. Recommend it!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Thank Maureen078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wakabaya, オーナー at Guest House Wakabaya, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2017

Thank you for your stay at wakabaya and comment. Yes, it takes 45 minutes from JR Takamatsu station and the port on foot or 5 minutes walk from Kotoden Hanazono Station. Have a good trip toward warm land :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

The house is very clean and comfortable. Location of the guesthouse is nearby the station. The owner is very kind and helpful. Free wifi in the house and the common room with free coffee and tea. I enjoyed to stay.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank joelA3378XT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wakabaya, オーナー at Guest House Wakabaya, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Thank you so much for your stay at wakabaya and your comment. Have a good trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017

I have travelled to Japan many times but this was my first experience staying in a guest house. This was a wonderful experience. The house was immaculately presented and Takeshi was a very friendly and helpful host. I was a little unsure of staying anywhere other than hotels but will now try guest houses and hopefully they will be as good as my experience here. I had never stayed in a tatami room but really enjoyed it and slept comfortably. I have no hesitation recommending this guesthouse to all travellers. Thankyou so much for a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wakabaya, オーナー at Guest House Wakabaya, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

I’m glad that you enjoyed well the first experience in a guesthouse! If you like communication with the owner or other guests and don’t care about some noise, I really recommend you to stay in a guesthouse again. New guesthouses open in rural area also these years. Thank you and explore Japan again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews