We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (213)
Filter reviews
213 results
Traveller rating
85
106
15
7
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
85
106
15
7
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor onsen top floor perfect location tram station front desk hotel is located matsuyama castle one night dogo onsen sky spa stops yen japan
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 213 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2017

Limited supply over a busy weekend meant we had a 5th floor 'terrace suite' for the first night, and only an ordinary twin bed room for the second; the ordinary room was much the better one - well laid-out and comfortable, with impressive view of the city and castle. The more expensive suite was odd, with a cramped sitting area squeezed into one corner; we didn't plan to use the terrace on a chilly November evening, but it wouldn't have been that attractive in better weather: the high fence obscuring the extractor fans alongside meant there was no view whatsoever. Plus points for this - still new and design-led - hotel were the excellent breakfast on the top floor, and the relaxing onsen spa alongside. And it's well located for visiting the castle and Dogo, although quite a trek from either JR or Iyo City Stations.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roadboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

Arr with a car and 6 pieces of luggage. Front door is small and no drop off area. Carry all bags to reception on the top floor to check-in and bring them down to the rooms on 6th floor. Extremely inconvenient. Although hotel is brand new with trendy decoration, going up and down with key card made things difficult. Sky Spa is disappointed. However rooms are nice and cosy. Nice hotel overall.

Room tip: high floors
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hkgphilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matsuyama2017, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Candeo Hotels Matsuyama Okaido, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Dear.hkgphilip

Thank you for choosing Candeo Hotel as your mean of stay in Matsuyama City.
We hope you spend great time in Matsuyama.

We are really sorry that made you feel uncomfortable because we do not have our own parking lot.
We are always thinking how we can impress our guests deeply by our services as well as achieving high customer satisfaction so we think the most important thing to move our customer`s hearts is to embody the hospitality in our actions.

Therefore, we need to have a wide range of opinion in order to continue to improve.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, and wish you have a great day ahead.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017

Never use this hotel if you are travelling by car. We arrived with our hire car and successfully pulled in round the side of the hotel to unload. After check in we asked where to park and were given a leaflet with 5 possible public parking lots but only one was usable if we did not which to move the car the next morning (Matsuyama is a night mare of one way streets and unfiltered right turns). After 5 tours round the block and 2 further visits to enquire at reception we finally parked nearly an hour after arrival. The parking place was the one we had first seen but with a name on the side of the building different to the one given us by reception (and which they insisted was not the one we needed on our first return to ask for help!)
Given the size and 'grandeur' of the hotel one would expect at least one member of staff to speak English but no one could, making things even more fraught. There were no translations to the room instructions booklet so it was impossible to set the air conditioning to cool the very stuffy room. When we got someone from reception to come and look she turn on English translation on the aircon so ok in the end. Why not tell you in the room info how to do this. No toiletries, note pad or tea/coffee in the room either though we found out at breakfast next day that these can be picked up from reception.
Breakfast - limited western style items but only frozen or tinned fruit (still frozen 1hour after breakfast opened) no butter and plastic 'butter knives' and spoons.
Would expect much better from this class of hotel.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank MatureCoupleH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matsuyama2017, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Candeo Hotels Matsuyama Okaido, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2017

Dear. MatureCoupleH

Thank you for choosing Candeo Hotel as your mean of stay in Matsuyama City.
We hope you spend great time in Matsuyama.

We are so sorry that we made you uncomfortable when you stay at our hotel.
Also, we should explain about parking lot and hotel`s instruction when your Check-In. Sometimes there is no one speak English at the Front.
However, we had to try to provide the best service for you even if no one can speak English.

All partners who work for our hotel will share your feedback and we will try that same things will never happen again.
Thank you for your feedback and we believe that we can grow up with customer`s feedbacks and our reflections.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, and wish you have a great day ahead.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

This hotel is located at the center of Matsue, Okaido street. The front loby is in 13th floor. It takes about 10 min on foot to the lopeway to Matsuyama castle. You can see the castle at the 13th floor when you have breakfast. There are so many shops and restaurants near the hotel.
The room is very clean and enough wide, very comfortable! You can use a big bath and sauna at 13th floor. Also you can enjoy a variety of local food at breakfast.
The hotel fee is somewhat expensive, but value for money.
I strongly recommend the hotel.

Room tip: I am not sure if there are smoking rooms.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 963hiros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matsuyama2017, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Candeo Hotels Matsuyama Okaido, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Dear.963hiros

Thank you for choosing Candeo Hotel as your mean of stay in Matsuyama City.
We hope you spend great time in Matsuyama.

We are really happy to hear that you enjoyed Spa and restaurant on the top floor of our hotel.
We always try to provide a roof-level sky spa that offers the ultimate feeling of openness and a healthy breakfast uncontested in quality and taste.

Also we hope you could feel the ideal environment to fill yourself with the energy you need for tomorrow during your stay.

We are always thinking how we can impress our guests deeply by our services as well as achieving high customer satisfaction so we think the most important thing to move our customer`s hearts is to embody the hospitality in our actions.

Therefore, we need to have a wide range of opinion in order to continue to improve.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, and wish you have a great day ahead.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

We spent four nights at the Candeo Hotel in Matsuyama. The room was a double room with a "shower booth" which was a practical bathroom with no bath tub, just at the shower. Due to a feather allergy, I had to get alternate bedding on our room but it was still quite nice. The hotel onsen was fabulous so if you want to soak in a tub, they have you covered. The onsen view of the mountains is serene and peaceful. We opted for a no cancellation rate that included breakfast. The Japanese breakfast was outstanding complete with hot and cold items. The food was very traditional and delicious. The room included lounging suits to dine in or wear to the onsen so the place had a rustic lodge feel to it in spite of being a 13 story hotel. The front desk staff was very helpful with all of our questions and helped us plan our time on the island. We used the coin laundry on the top floor and were able to get our clothes clean for the next leg of the trip without much expense (200 yen to wash and another 200 to dry). The staff was lovely but bring your pocket dictionary or translator app. There is not a lot of English on this island.

Room tip: Ask for a higher room with a balcony and/or view of the mountain.
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gea58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matsuyama2017, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Candeo Hotels Matsuyama Okaido, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Dear.Gea58

Thank you for choosing Candeo Hotel as your mean of stay in Matsuyama City.
We hope you spend great time in Matsuyama.
We are really happy to hear that you enjoyed Spa and restaurant on the top floor of our hotel.
We always try to provide a roof-level sky spa that offers the ultimate feeling of openness and a healthy breakfast uncontested in quality and taste.
Also we hope you could feel the ideal environment to fill yourself with the energy you need for tomorrow during your stay.
We are always thinking how we can impress our guests deeply by our services as well as achieving high customer satisfaction so we think the most important thing to move our customer`s hearts is to embody the hospitality in our actions.
Therefore, we need to have a wide range of opinion in order to continue to improve.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, and wish you have a great day ahead.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews