We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (255)
Filter reviews
255 results
Traveller rating
122
98
22
10
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
122
98
22
10
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 255 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2018

We stayed here one night as part of our Shikoku pilgrimage walk. Both the outdoor and indoor onsens were lovely and not at all crowded so I actually skipped getting in line to go to the Dogo! The Kaiseki dinner was excellent. Our bedroom was very comfortable and spacious. Excellent choice of mid-range Japanese Ryokan.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pv2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yamatoyahonten, 支配人 at Dogo Onsen Yamatoya Honten, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

Thank you for your stay in our Ryokan.
How was your feeling at temple or your destinations in Shikoku.
Please come to Shikoku and our Ryokan again. Japan has a lot of charm in each season.
We’re looking forward to seeing you again.
Yamatoyahonten manager Sei Horikawa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2016

A large place with ryokan type rooms. Has a bath but is also a couple of minutes walk from the historic dogon onzen. The food is delicious. There is a small show of Japanese dance at 6 pm. Service is of course perfect

Room Tip: Suites are very large
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arnaud T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yamatoyahonten, 支配人 at Dogo Onsen Yamatoya Honten, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2016

Thank you very much for staying at our hotel.
I'll have a comment, and thank you very much.
Please come to Japan again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2016

Yamatoya Honten is mid-way between a Ryokan and a hotel. We arrived rather late and about 8pm, and the manager was waiting for us in the driveway. He could see that were a bit flustered and also exhausted. His welcome and attention immediately relieved all our anxiety.
Each day when we returned to our room in the late afternoon, we were served tea, and a sweet snack. It was so relaxing. The is a great natural onsen in the basement. There were three of us (adults) in a tatami mat room. There was plenty of space, and the mattresses and were comfortable. There was a kettle so we could make tea or coffee, and there was limited minibar.
We had dinner and breakfast included with accommodation. The Dinners were deliciously exquisite multicourse Japanese menus. It varied each night. There is a short theatrical performance at 6.30pm each evening on a traditional stage, which can be seen well, from the restaurant.
For breakfast there was a choice of Western or Japanese menus, One morning I tried the Western breakfast to see what it was like. It came with salad, yoghurt, fruit, sausage, bacon and egg, coffee, croissant and a pastry, and a dessert pudding. It was very good, but it was not comparable to the multiple small plates that comprised the Japanese breakfast.
The hotel provides a a yukata which can be worn in the hotel, and to the nearby famous Dogo Onsen, and shopping arcade. We tried the Dogo onsen but for guests of Yamatoya Honten, I think its better to have a photo outside Dogo Onsen, then use the onsen at the hotel- much more relaxing.
Some of the staff speak and understand English well. We were able to go over our sightseeing plans each day with the hotel staff and this was very helpful They also assisted to explain our daughter's food allergies and called ahead to our next hotel to explain these in advance.
Our bathroom was very clean, but we mainly used the onsen bath house. There was a small wooden drying rack in the bathroom, sufficient to dry socks and undies only.

Room Tip: specify a non-smoking room if you want one.
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank presdient
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yamatoyahonten, 支配人 at Dogo Onsen Yamatoya Honten, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2016

Thank you very much for staying at our hotel.
I'll have a comment, and thank you very much.
Please come to Japan again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2016 via mobile

We stayed one night at the hotel. The location of the hotel is just next to the historical Dogo Onsen. We took a walk along the dogo onsen area with a lot of souvenir shops around. We enjoyed the onsen within the hotel, particularly the outdoor ones during the cold winter time that was wonderful.
We had the western twin-bed room which was spacious. However, all the lamps inside the room have dim lights that made the room too dark and was a bit uncomfortable.

The Japanese breakfast was tasty.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
Thank RonnieHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yamatoyahonten, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Dogo Onsen Yamatoya Honten, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2016

Thank you very much for staying at our hotel.
I'll have a comment, and thank you very much.
Please come to Japan again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2015

We had a one night stay in this hotel. From the outside it does not look fancy, but the inside makes up for this. This is a typical Japanse style hotel. The reception and other staff are very friendly and correct. The hotel restaurant is also excellent with nice and exquisite food. The Dodo Onsen and shopping area are around the corner which is very convenient.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbroek2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yamatoyahonten, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Dogo Onsen Yamatoya Honten, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2015

Thank you for staying.
Please come back to JAPAN and DOGO ONSEN.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews