We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice rooms courteous staff very good breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nest Hotel Kumamoto
Ranked #18 of 94 Hotels / Ryokan in Kumamoto
Sucre
Level Contributor
76 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Nice rooms courteous staff very good breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

We enjoyed the good sized room (by Japan standards), which was carpeted, warm(it was freezing outside in Winter) and clean. The staff were great including the breakfast staff in the Good Rice Morning cafe down stairs. The hotel is well located a few meters from the bus station. The buses did not make any noise though that we could hear. But the good thing is we could wheel our suitcase to the bus station to leave for Kagushima and did not need a taxi. It is also very close to the castle, the main attraction. Other buses from the nearby station can get you to Mount Aso (recommended)- the bus from the station can take you all the way there and drop you back again for about $30; there is cable car to the crater. You can take a bus to the ferry to Shimabara to see Mount Unsen or go to Nagasaki. We went to the town of Unsen from the Shimabara ferry station by another bus. It was about $20 return. Highly recommended hot springs there- it was snowing heavily and the volcanic vapours were amazing in the snow fall. The bus drops you at the hot springs as they are on the main steet. It is on the road to Obama- famous for its name and hot springs. Give yourself plenty of time because it is quite a long day.
Back to the hotel: we stayed for 4 enjoyable nights. You can get to the main mall easily from the Chisun by foot. The breakfast was excellent and courteously delivered. My goodness the service is excellent in Japan! The room rate was also very good value.

Room Tip: Staff are very amenable to a room change if you need it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank senorsolomon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    81
    43
    9
    1
See reviews for
19
17
48
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

Typical Japan hotel with a smaller room than western style. It is ok for Asians but I doubt that Americans or Europeans would find the size of the room and the bed a bit small. The english-speaking staff is as friendly as your buddy to offer you all sorts of advice and smile. Even more I stayed here for 1 night but I came back a day after I moved out but they still offered me a temporary baggage storage which was the plus. This service could be turned down in another hotel in Japan so my stay here was a pleasant one.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LionOnLive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonds, WA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2011

This is mostly positive. The hotel is located between the train station and the Castle. So you can take the tram (A line), get off at Karashima Cho, walk left for about 15 mins, past Dormy Inn, hotel is on the left. Warning: the tram costs Yen 150 and may be crowded, causing some discomfort when you exit. A taxi might be more reasonable. I took a taxi from the hotel to the castle, cost about Yen 650. But you can take the A or B line 2 stops farther and walk uphill to the Castle. The tram will announce in English when you get to the Castle stop.
When you return to the RR station, the tram isn't crowded, so luggage isn't a problem. But remember to take the A line. The B line does not go to the main RR station. I made that mistake and had to backtrack. The trams have clearly marked letters A or B on the front and back, but generally all announcements are in Japanese. So get a tram map from the internet, or at the station, or on the tram itself. There is a Yen changer at the back of the tram. Everybody gets on in the rear and exits and plays at the front. Drivers are courteous.
One last thing. The fridge in my room was broken. Next day I wrote a note in English with a drawing and informed staff. Upon my return in the afternoon, the fridge was fixed. So good response Chisun Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AsianStanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2010

My wife and I were on a sight-seeing trip around Kyushu island during the cherry blossoms season of 2010 (late March). We stayed one night at the Kumamoto Chisun Hotel and felt completely satisfied with our experience.

Kumamoto turned out to be much larger than we expected, with lots of traffic. Staying in a hotel with good location makes a big difference. In this respect, we were very lucky to choose Chisun.

The hotel is just a short walk (less than 10 minutes) from the magnificent Kumamoto Castle, which is made even more majestic by the cherry blossoms along the moat. We have seen many castles and palaces in Japan, but this one is among the most impressive.

The hotel is also a short walk from the popular shopping arcade with an array of restaurants and stores. The main street (called Ginza) is fully covered and closed to traffic. It was a bustling place on Saturday night when we were there and most of the restaurants were fully booked. We could not get a table at our top three choices, but we got one at a very nice izakaya.

Our room at Chisun is cozy, if smallish, with comfortable bed and a nice layout. The breakfast was wonderful -- with a large selection of both Japanese and Western food. The staff is very courteous and professional. I had no difficulty communicating in English.

The hotel has a parking lot for guests, but our rented car exceeded the height limit. So we parked at a commercial lot right behind the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chadzilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kumamoto hotels
0.1 km away
Dormy Inn Kumamoto
Dormy Inn Kumamoto
#2 of 94 in Kumamoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
0.4 km away
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kumamoto
1.2 km away
Ark Hotel Kumamotojomae
Ark Hotel Kumamotojomae
#15 of 94 in Kumamoto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Kumamoto Tokyu REI Hotel
Kumamoto Tokyu REI Hotel
#8 of 94 in Kumamoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.5 km away
Richmond Hotel Kumamoto Shinshigai
1.0 km away
Hotel Nikko Kumamoto
Hotel Nikko Kumamoto
#1 of 94 in Kumamoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nest Hotel Kumamoto? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nest Hotel Kumamoto

Property: Nest Hotel Kumamoto
Address: 4-39 Karashimacho, Chuo-ku, Kumamoto 860-0804, Kumamoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Kumamoto Prefecture > Kumamoto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 94 Hotels / Ryokan in Kumamoto
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,658 - ₹ 8,168
Hotel Class:3 star — Nest Hotel Kumamoto 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
”Comfort that makes you feel at home” At nest, we provide you with at-home relaxation on your trip. We expect our HOTEL to be a place where you feel comfortable when you want to relax and see a morning before an important event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nest Hotel Kumamoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing