We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
11
12
7
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
12
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free wifi toilet port english tram
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2017

The ryokan is off the main road. It is close to tram and bus stops,easy to go to the train station. Walking distance to shopping areas and waterfront.
The room was spacious for 5 people, there is a kitchen available, bathrooms and toilets very clean. There are laundry facilities. Great place to stay for a few days.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017

if you are looking for a simple ryokan to stay and just need a bed and free wifi , this is a great place to stay . Its close to the kagoshima port and its very walkable to nearby Tenmokan and Kagoshima chuo station but you can also take the bus or tram if it is during the day .

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ang W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

The owner speaks good English and is very friendly. He provided us with two rooms, one with our beds and a toilet and one for our luggage and as a drying room (we could hang our washed clothes here). The wifi was great in all rooms and free coffee and tea is provided all day. The washing machine can be used free of charge as well which was very nice. The room itself was a bit smelly and the beds were a bit hard. Nonetheless it was a great experience to stay in a traditional ryokan.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Anouk v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile

A really great place to have a traditional ryokan experience in Japan. Nakazono, the owner is extremely nice. He will tell you what to do in Kagoshima, what are the schedules, what are the prices, etc.

His ryokan is friendly and cozy. I felt I was staying in someone's house. I had this enormous room just for myself. There is a big dining room you can use and a fridge. Free tee is available as well as umbrellas and yakuta. The ryokan is beautifully decorated. The common showers are on the first floor. There is a free washing machine and you have to pay 100 ¥ for drying.

The location is close to the street car and walking distance to Kagoshima station and the ferry to Sakurajima island. There is an onsen next door practically

Note that credit cards are accepted but it's an extra 200 yens/night I think. It's very peaceful at night, but you start hearing the parking lot noise in the morning. My room had heating and air conditioning.

So definitely recommended!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
Thank madmaxQc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

We booked to stay here based on a tip in the Lonely Planet guide book. Glad we did.

Slightly more expensive than other places but the owner spoke great English and gave us maps and tips on arrival. We visited the local volcanic island based on his tip and it was a highlight of our entire Japan visit.

Basic accommodation, equivalent to a hostel in the UK, but close to transport and the main bit of town and the level of English spoken was a comfort.

Free washing machine (pay for drier at reasonable rate) was handy and all sundries (tea, shampoo, towels, hairdryer) provided. No need to take anything.

TIP - His directions are from the streetcar stop so if walking from Kagoshima station (take a local JR train from Kagoshima-chuo, included in the JR pass) and you should as it's only 12 mins walk, follow the streetcar track along the main road until you see a sign for the place on your left, opposite a streetcar stop and just before a temple. Really easy to find, don't try to be clever and Google map it as it's in an alley, but his sign is super obvious from the main road.

TIP - Make sure you ask the owner for restaurants with an English menu as it's really off the beaten track there and we struggled until guided by him the next night. And go to the place he recommends for breakfast - either English or Japanese for 450Yen with coffee - such a quaint little place run by an elderly couple...it's like eating in the 1950s...in a good way!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank EvieWonder78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews