We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveller rating
27
35
13
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
35
13
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 78 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2017

The location is very central and close to everything.

The onsen isn't big but my kids love it.

Deco is a bit old but clean. Given the price, it is acceptable.

The breakfast is ok. Staff is very helpful and booked taxis for us.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank tpking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

3 Aussies with bikes. All stayed in one tatami room, bikes were safe downstairs in the basement area near the hotel entrance. Bring a bike lock!

Right in the centre of town, short ride from. Shinkansen terminal.

Most staff spoke English but use google translate to polish it up.

Onsen was small, quite and cute.

Date of stay: September 2016
Thank 83evang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2016

Close to the historical part of the city, not far from the harbour and very close to Tenmonkan Dori, this is a great place to stay, espacially in the big Japanese-style rooms. Very helpful staff though some at front desk hardly speak any English.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JFLR187198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2016

I loved my stay at Nakahara Besso: The staff spoke English and was extremly friendly and helped me even late at night to re-arrange my bookings for other hotels as well as find a the best way to travel from Kagoshima to Kobe/Osaka as the trains were blocked due to the earthquake.
I enjoyed one of the best Kaiseki Dinners in Japan in the restaurant - it is very recommendable to eat at least once in the restaurant when staying there.
The rooms were very nice in Japanese style - clean, spacous, And the onsen small but OK.
Internet worked well (WLAN in the rooms)
all in all - a great experience and almost a reason in itself to travel to Kagoshima.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Framboise-Zuerich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nakaharabessou, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Onsen Hotel Nakahara Bessou, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2016

This time, thank you very much for your best evaluation!
The person who looked after Framboise - Mr. Zuerich the other day.
It seemed that you could board an airplane safely, and I was relieved.
I caused you trouble by influence by an earthquake this time.
But without worrying about it, please come to Japan again.
By the smiling face I don't change, either, we look forward to seeing you again, I'm waiting more than a heart!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2015 via mobile

We stayed there for two nights. The hotel is located very centrally and the Onsen was a very enjoyable added bonus. The rooms were clean albeit simple. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We have booked this hotel again, this time a western style room and we look forward to staying there again.

Date of stay: January 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Dream605680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews