We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (693)
Filter reviews
693 results
Traveller rating
356
232
64
24
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
356
232
64
24
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews italian restaurant japanese dinner sand bath jr station sea view spacious room onsen hotel comfortable futons great room english speaking staff half board japanese tradition pine trees well worth a visit japanese style room the owner outdoor onsen
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 693 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2018

Ibusuki Hakusuikan is a short taxi ride from the train station. The train you take from Kagoshima is so cool. It's an old style train with beautiful wood finishes. Check in was smooth but be aware that check in is at 3 pm and you can not check in earlier. They will hold your luggage for you while you walk around or go have lunch in the Italian restaurant across the way. We did both. Had a very nice Italian lunch then walked along the beach. We happened to run into the owner of the hotel and he told us if we walked the beach before 3:30 the tide is out so you can walk to a nearby island. When we returned to the hotel at 3:30 we were taken to our Japanese style room with a view of the ocean. The room was very spacious and very clean. There is a tea pot, tea cups, tea and a hot water machine so that you can make yourself a pot of Japanese tea. They also left a couple of sweets to eat with your tea. We changed into our yukata and slippers and went down to the onsen. We did do the sandbath which I would recommend to all. They bury you in hot sand and it feels so good. After the sandbath you obviously shower off and then take a dip in the many onsen baths they have on site. We opted for the half board which gave you dinner and breakfast. Dinner was amazing but a lot of food. When we returned from dinner they had prepared our room for sleep. Two very comfortable futons were on the tatami floor. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We had trouble connecting to wifi in the room but it was very strong in the lobby area. The whole experience was well worth the money but be aware that the onsen baths are not open all day long. They close for cleaning at 930 in the morning and do not open again until 3 or 330 in the afternoon. I would have loved to soak all day long. Thank you Ibusuki Hakusuikan.

Room tip: Book a room with a sea/ocean view
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wheretonext58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
指宿白水館, 営業本部 at Ibusuki Hakusuikan, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for using our hotel hotel.
Also, thank you again for giving us your thoughts at that time.

The sand steamed spring of the hotel is indoors, so you can use it at any time without being influenced by the weather.
Also, we do sand care every day like hot springs.

We saw how comfortable you stayed and we feel very happy.
We will continue working to become a hotel that will be selected by many people in the future.

We preparing limited seasonal meal (Japanese cuisine, Itarian cuisine), we hope to see you in another season.
We sincerely looking forward to your visit.

Yours sincerely,
Ibusuki Hakusuikan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

We stayed on the top floor in the new wing. Great room with a stunning view across the bay. The onsen was fantastic especially the outdoor baths. The 'Shochu dojo' was an education. I spent some time there trying the different labels while waiting for the women to exit the onsen. Had the best wagyu beef I have ever tasted at the Italian restaurant.

Date of stay: January 2018
Thank Morinoishimatsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
指宿白水館, 営業本部 at Ibusuki Hakusuikan, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.
And, We can support your trip and are very honored.
We are very happy, you enjoyed the 'Shochu dojo' and hot springs.
We looking forward to seeing you soon on your next visit.

Yours sincerely,
Ibusuki Hakusuikan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2017

Poor ventilation and musky smell in the room. Was told at front desk all are smoking rooms, well, that explains. Dated design and furnitures, time for a makeover.
The saving grace were the good dinner and breakfast, and the pretty landscape surrounding the hotel.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SERENities
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
指宿白水館, 営業本部 at Ibusuki Hakusuikan, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.
And, We can support your trip and are very honored.

In addition to being a non-smoking room, the 3 rooms that have been fully renovated this summer,
Because various types of rooms are available according to the style of your trip,
I would be pleased if you could consider it when you come to this place.
We looking forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2017

We stayed in the japanese-style rooms and would highly recommend it as it is very spacious with large windows overlooking the ocean. Also chose the room with a wooden bath tub so you can soak in the bath even inside your room. One of the main reasons we came to Ibusuki is to try the sand bath and it was definitely worth the visit. It was an amazing experience. Another highlight in the hotel was their japanese-style dinner. It was one of the best meals we have ever experienced, the ingredients were fresh and tasty while the presentation of the dish were beautiful and you know how much thought and details the chef put into it. As the hotel is right next to the water, you can definitely see the wear and tear of the building and I do agree with others that the carpet needs some updating. Other than that, I'd highly recommend this hotel as the sand bath and dinner alone are well worth a visit. There are scheduled free shuttle bus from the hotel, but we were able to walk from JR station to the hotel in half hour, and it is a nice walk through the small town.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jubu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
指宿白水館, 営業本部 at Ibusuki Hakusuikan, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.
And, We can support your trip and are very honored.

First of all, We apologize for the stain spots on the carpet, we will address the matter with the room cleaning section.
As to the signs of wear, we are continuously doing renovation work to update and refresh our old buildings.
We hope you can stay in a newly remodeled guest room on your next visit.

We looking forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2017

nice little seaside onsen resort, with the novelty of sand onsen, where they even help take photos. air-conditioning does not work too well, and we had to resort to opening the windows in the winter, as the room got too hot and stuffy. the 2-hr drive from kagoshima is horrible, mostly single-lane roads which are hugs the coast in a bendy fashion.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GreyLephan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
指宿白水館, 営業本部 at Ibusuki Hakusuikan, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.
We can support your trip and are very honored.

We apologize for the inconvenience in rooms.
Although air conditioning specification varies according to room type, we will preparing various room types according to the style of your trip.
If you have opportunity next stay our hotel, please contact to us feel free.

Next winter trip, I recommend looking from driving roads for winter sea fog "KEARASHI". The golden sea fog is lit by the sunshine. It's so beautiful.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Ibusuki Hakusuikan Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews