We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
$418
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/10/22
eDreams
$373
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/10/22
Expedia.com$430
Priceline
Travelocity$383
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (693)
Filter reviews
693 results
Traveller rating
417
211
43
12
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
417
211
43
12
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ocean wing japanese restaurant sister hotel shuttle bus the pearl lobster per person wings harbor view rooms view of the water queen elizabeth ii sitting area emperor bay sea onsen bath
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 693 reviews
Reviewed 25 December 2021 via mobile

This is one of these classic first rate hotels that have been graced by the royal family, in this case the last three emperors. The service is beyond excellent and the room and the view were so nice. The restaurant was very good, in this case, worth the hotel prices. The Japanese restaurant had a set menu that was only ¥6800 and it was plenty of food for us. The wine list was quite good and the library bar was very classy without being antiquated.. everything in fact is nicely renovated. And the ambience was very nice.My wife said the spa was very nice and had pearl powder in the water. It’s highly recommended not to try to walk to the hotel because it’s up a steep hill and there’s no sidewalk. It’s only a quick drive from the train station but worth waiting for the shuttle bus or taking a quick taxi ride. The lobby has a lounge that overlooks the bay with floor to ceiling two-story glass. The bathroom was small but the shower is in the bathtub and it is not too well lit… but most just go to the onsen anyway. It was a nice mixture of young couples, young families and older couples. No jetsetters or wild types.

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank johnvtokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 26 November 2021 via mobile

The hotel has Ocean view rooms, mountain view rooms and harbor view rooms. They all have a modern decor.
The Japanese style dinner was one of the most delicious meals I have experienced. Excellent sashimi and lobster.
The staff were very attentive and friendly.

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank TopkapiTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 23 February 2021

This was a really great hotel. We stayed ion Toba on our trip around Mie to visit the aquarium. We did not like the aquarium too much but really loved this hotel.
The staff were so wonderful and friendly. Our room was very well designed and comfortable. The hotel is big and beautiful and we had a wonderful nice view of Toba bay. The property is on a cliff over the bay, great place.
The hotel is linked with another smaller one next door which also has the onsen in it, a 2 minute walk outside. The onsen is really great and had a pearl bath. Very nice onsen!
We didn't have dinner there, we ate in town, but the breakfast buffet was really good.
Nice service. Nice hotel. Worth a stay.

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandBTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 11 January 2020 via mobile

For Westerners reading this review, bare in mind that this is a Japanese owned and operated hotel catering to Japanese travelers. You will not feel welcomed at this property and they will make sure that you get the message. Toba International Hotel is a failure in every aspect of the hospitality industry.
Starting from the check in process. No one at front desk speaks English. NO ONE! I mean, they have “international” on their name but there is nothing international about this property.
And then there is the annoyed attitude from all the staff when you approach them - one feels like you are disturbing them.
The bed is like sleeping on plywood - I’ve never seen a hotel that provides a bed this hard. So I went to front desk and asked for some kind of padding for the bed. With an annoyed expression on his face, front desk employee said to me in broken English: “That’s the only mattress we have.”
We also asked front desk to call a restaurant for reservation and we got another rude answer: “You should call them yourself.”
Every single request seemed to be a burden and the answer was always NO. When we asked for information about the attractions around the hotel, they seemed lost and confused like they had no idea about what to tell us.
We booked two rooms for three nights. One ocean view and another one “mountain view”. Note that the pictures on their website and booking sites are photoshopped. The “Mountain View” room is actually “parking lot view” - see picture attached to my review.
If you stay at the ocean view room you get two bottles of water per day, but if you stay at the parking lot view room you don’t get any water and you have to pay $5 for one bottle at the room’s mini bar. Talking about being out of touch with current hospitality rules - you are trying to nickel and dime your guests over a 20 cents bottle of water?!
The room itself is updated and look nice but they must have run out of money when they got to the bathrooms. Think Motel 8 bathroom but worse. Minuscule area, dark with plastic sink and shower area, towels that look and feel like old rags. See pictures attached to this review.
Breakfast is basic with very few western options and every morning of our stay it was the same food. Service is almost non-existent during breakfast. You have to help yourself even for coffee.
Dinner at the hotel’s restaurant was a complete rip-off. Around US$200/300 per person for a pre-fix menu. I had chicken a la carte one night US$30 and I got 50g of chicken with three small veggies. See picture.
There was 4 people dining at the restaurant that night as most of the guests go into town to eat local food at reasonable prices.
Shuttle ends at 6pm, so if you want to go to town you’ll have to rely on taxis since the hotel will make no effort to help you go out or return to the property.

We talked to management on the last night of our stay to report our concerns. He shook his head. That was the response we got.

This was a total disaster stay for me and my group. We’ve been traveling in Japan and we were always in owe of the Japanese hospitality. Toba International Hotel is a management disaster, a unwelcoming hotel and a stain in Japan’s hotel industry.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank smartravelerAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 3 November 2019 via mobile

The hotel is conveniently located just 5 min (by car) from.toba station. We arrived around 930pm at night. As we could not get a taxi, we called the hotel and they sent someone to pick us up from the station. The hotel has shuttle buses running from toba station up till 1800h. If you're arriving later, you may want to let the hotel know and arrange pick up.

We used this hotel as a base to sightsee the nearby towns. The drive up to the hotel is easy, and parking is free.

We had a western style room which faced the sea. We could see the sun rise from our bed room every morning. It was fantastic!! The only area which the hotel could improve in is in providing more comfortable beds and pillows.

This hotel is linked to a Japanese style hotel called Shiojitei, next door. Guests of this hotel can easily walk over to Shiojitei to use the onsen any time. If you stay here, I highly recommend this pearl onsen! Feels great and you walk out shimmering in pink pearl after!

I tried Sea Horse restaurant at this hotel. It was fantastic. They had this abalone steak in butter sauce which was to die for!

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank daphneadrienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews