We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (224)
Filter reviews
224 results
Traveller rating
63
102
35
15
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
63
102
35
15
9
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 224 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2016

The hotel looks really nice on the outside, and fairly easy to find.

The room was clean and all but not exceptional. The big bath is very comprehensive good with really good shampoo, conditioner, facial cleanser/toner/moisturizer, and body cream, cotton bud, hairbrush and all! there is even an outdoor onsen which is quite nice.

We bought a half board package including Ise lobster and Matsusaka beef, I have to say we were very disappointed, the lobster is very small, maybe 12cm only, the entire sashimi plate is the freshest we had before, there were only 4 small pieces of beef , overall dinner was only average. Breakfast was a buffet, plentiful though again just average. Service was attentive though.

As far as value for money is concerned, its also rather pricey for JPY 29K considering the dinner was only average ..

Room tip: get a room facing the Ise Bay, its beautiful in the morning
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jun W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 12 June 2015 via mobile

This hotel offers a free shuttle service from/to Toba station at certain times of the day.
Check in starts at 3pm and this seems to be strictly observed so there is no flexibility on the hotels part regarding early checkin!
As you approach this hotel the facade is very grand from the outside this soon fades away once inside...this hotel was maybe a very popular option in the late 1970s and early 1980s.
The room was large with quite a nice view down to the sea in the distance but was obviously a smoking room as there was a lingering smell of smoke and this remained despite the use of an extractor and room spray.
The evening meal at the French restaurant was good but there was no atmosphere and the breakfast buffet was nothing special at all.
The hot spring baths were relaxing with one large indoor and one smaller outdoor pool but overall this hotel has seen better days.
Apparently there are re furbished rooms with private hot spring baths on the balcony. This might be the way to go if staying here.
The hotel is in a very isolated location and there are no shops or convenience stores nearby so make sure you stock up on the essentials before leaving from Toba station.

Date of stay: June 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank aichii
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel on our way back from south Japan to Tokyo. We had a room with private onset ion the balcony with a great view to the sea. The food was very good and served with the expected Japanese hospitality . In Toba there is basically only Mikimoto Pearl Island. A good spot to learn about pearls, Toba village is quiet old and is not for foreign tourists. The Island itself is very nice and best explored by car. You should not miss a boat trip. Its really nice to explore the sea surrounded by the many small islands. One remark to the Hotel: nobody really speaks engish or any other language beside Japanese. If you don't speak, you may have a problem - on the other side it gives you some adventure ;-) we really enjoyed the stay. There is also a free hotel bus from and to Toba railway station.

Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PS588
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This hotel is very nice whether you use Japanese or American standards. My wife and I stayed in Room 204 from Sunday July 7 with a check out the next day. Check in time is 3 PM. Check out is Noon. The room is very nice. It is sectioned off with a seperate tatami room for dining and sleeping with a traditional two twin-bed sleeping area in a sunken area of the room. The room is nicely appointed with a flat screen TV, refrigerator and air purifying machine. Each room has a private outdoor balcony, but note, there are no chairs on the balcany. Standing room only. The view is spectacular.

The hotel ammenities include an outdoor pool with a seperate hot tub. Please note, the pool and hot tub close at 6 PM. There is a small "planetarium" next to the pool that opens at 7 PM. Hotel guests may go and take a peek through the telescope at the visible stars. It left me less than impressed. I would have preferred the pool area to stay open during the evening/night hours in the summer, given the heat index in the day. The outdoor pool area also has a breathtaking view of the ocean and islands down below as the hotel sits on top of a mountain. Note: Each room has 4 large bath towels, however, if you need additional towels, the person at the front desk told me there is a 300 yen charge per extra towel.

The dining facility on the 4th floor is magnificent. Our dinner had several courses of Japanese cuisine and the dining room has the same spectacular view of the ocean. The hosts and waiters were very accomodating. Breakfast was in the form of an all you can eat buffet. It was a mixture of Japanese and American breakfast foods and was very good.

The hotel has a natural spring onsen on site. It is open until 10 PM. I was in the onsen until about 10:30 PM, but no one made me leave and the cleaning person apparently went to the other side and cleaned up and allowed me to stay longer. This was evident because my shoes were removed from the shoe locker and placed on the floor for when I departed.

This is a pricey hotel. I runs between $200-$200 US Dollars per night. There is a complimentary shuttle that will pick you up at the JR Station and take you into town. Be sure to take the tour of Mikimoto Pearl Island while in Toba City.

I highly recommend this property and would stay again.

Room tip: Ask for a high floor.
Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 10 June 2022 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews