We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Koko-en Garden
from US$ 153.10
More Info
from US$ 171.20
More Info
Reviews (934)
Filter reviews
934 results
Traveller rating
485
348
93
8
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
485
348
93
8
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tea ceremony tea house combined ticket himeji castle water features different sections castle ticket pine trees autumn colors different theme green tea en garden next door edo period per adult costs yen nice walk
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 934 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2018 via mobile

For a negligible small amount extra you can also visit the gardens. If you are into it or want to see a nice Japanese garden, go for it. If you don’t have enough time, you might skip it as well, you probably won’t miss too much. Just some pretty gardens nice to look at.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank asymetrixs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2018

We purchased the combined ticket for Himeji Castle and the gardens. The gardens are very well kept and the fish are very impressive.

When we visited in April it wasnt too busy so we were able to relax stroll around.

Hint: There is a very nice restaurant inside the garden where we had lunch. Very nice food, great value with a nice view of the garden.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Evangelos P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2018

Kokoen Garden is a nice little Japanese style garden right next to the Himeji Castle grounds. If you are planning to visit the insides of the castle, it's a good idea to buy the combination ticket that also gives you the entry to the garden.

It's a garden and therefore there is not much to do besides the obvious: enjoying your surrounding views and the atmosphere. There are some buildings with traditional Japanese architecture and a koi-filled pond with a small waterfall. Also, there are areas with beautiful flowers

Inside the garden, there are also some traditional tea houses but I don't know if they are open to the public. On my two visits, the buildings have been closed.

Anyways, the garden is a nice place to walk around and observe. If you're looking for action, this is not the place for you.

Date of experience: June 2017
1  Thank KalleUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018

Visited this garden after going to Himeji Castle and almost closing time. Not as good as I expected and we visited in such a rush. Joined the tea ceremony, not much impression on it.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Mama2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018 via mobile

Saw it in April 2016 and was disappointed as I first saw this garden in autumn 1985. Came again November 2017 and it was once again beautiful in its autumn colours. So if you get the chance to see it, I think it's best in autumn.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank GlobeTrotters4001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews