We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well kept and tranquil gardens”
Review of Koko-en Garden

Koko-en Garden
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 153.19*
and up
Himeji Castle and Akashi Kaikyo Bridge from Osaka
Ranked #3 of 430 things to do in Himeji
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Japanese garden 'Koko-en' was constructed in1992 at the exact site of Nishi-Oyashiki(Lord's West Residence) with Himeji Castle, one of the world cultural heritages, as a background. The area of this garden is about 3.5 ha and it is composed of 9 difficult garsens,built on the archaeologically excavated site of samurai houses and roads. Using the gardening techniques in the Edo period(ca.1600-1860) as a good model, 'Koko-en' creates historical atmosphere with the magnificent view of Himeji Castle. We hope you will have agood stroll and feel history in 'Koko-en' with Himeji Castle.
Reviewed 10 May 2018

We purchased the combined ticket for Himeji Castle and the gardens. The gardens are very well kept and the fish are very impressive.

When we visited in April it wasnt too busy so we were able to relax stroll around.

Hint: There is a very nice restaurant inside the garden where we had lunch. Very nice food, great value with a nice view of the garden.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Evangelos P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (934)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"tea ceremony"
in 35 reviews
"tea house"
in 31 reviews
"combined ticket"
in 28 reviews
"himeji castle"
in 157 reviews
"water features"
in 12 reviews
"different sections"
in 6 reviews
"castle ticket"
in 11 reviews
"pine trees"
in 7 reviews
"autumn colors"
in 4 reviews
"different theme"
in 4 reviews
"green tea"
in 7 reviews
"en garden"
in 10 reviews
"next door"
in 9 reviews
"edo period"
in 4 reviews
"per adult"
in 4 reviews
"costs yen"
in 4 reviews
"nice walk"
in 4 reviews
Filter

41 - 45 of 934 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2018

Kokoen Garden is a nice little Japanese style garden right next to the Himeji Castle grounds. If you are planning to visit the insides of the castle, it's a good idea to buy the combination ticket that also gives you the entry to the garden.

It's a garden and therefore there is not much to do besides the obvious: enjoying your surrounding views and the atmosphere. There are some buildings with traditional Japanese architecture and a koi-filled pond with a small waterfall. Also, there are areas with beautiful flowers

Inside the garden, there are also some traditional tea houses but I don't know if they are open to the public. On my two visits, the buildings have been closed.

Anyways, the garden is a nice place to walk around and observe. If you're looking for action, this is not the place for you.

Date of experience: June 2017
1  Thank KalleUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018

Visited this garden after going to Himeji Castle and almost closing time. Not as good as I expected and we visited in such a rush. Joined the tea ceremony, not much impression on it.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Mama2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018 via mobile

Saw it in April 2016 and was disappointed as I first saw this garden in autumn 1985. Came again November 2017 and it was once again beautiful in its autumn colours. So if you get the chance to see it, I think it's best in autumn.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank GlobeTrotters4001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2018

Cost 4-500 yen to visit but worth it. Beautiful gardens and lakes. Well signposted route around the garden. Places to sit to drink in the views.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank daleringham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Koko-en Garden also viewed

Himeji, Hyogo Prefecture
Himeji, Hyogo Prefecture
 
Himeji, Hyogo Prefecture
Himeji, Hyogo Prefecture
 

Been to Koko-en Garden? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing