We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (198)
Filter reviews
198 results
Traveller rating
102
74
12
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
102
74
12
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free tour lake chuzenji bird watching forest view japanese style the bus outdoor onsen breakfast and dinner horse oil the hotel offers japanese guests the staff spoke english hotel is located body wash rooms are large two nights perfect stay
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 198 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2017

We spent 2 nights here in April in a Modern Japanese room with futons and kotatsu (sunken heater that you sit around). We didn’t use the kotatsu as it wasn’t that cold but it’s a cute feature. The hotel included breakfast and dinner and we had different Kaiseki meals each night and Japanese breakfasts as well. The staff were lovely and very obliging. The hotel included a one-way sightseeing trip, which was a bit difficult for us to understand how they could take you one way and then just leave you there. We used it to get up to the Scenic Ropeway in the morning and then caught the local bus back to town (we could use our JR Pass on the bus). We did quite a lot of sightseeing around that area.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights as part of tour package.

Facility is well kept but a bit on the dated side. Cleanly managed but minor details shown through. When tatami beds were made, housekeeping didn't do a clean sweep of teapots and cups.

Not sure how well hotel is doing. Gift shop is empty without attendant and most shelves aren't filled with products.

Dinners were in the large banquet room on 2nd. Kaiseki both nights were ok.

Rooms on 2nd, lobby floor were more convenient instead of those down on one.

Hot spring was average according to those who went.

Guess if location is near where sightseeing might be then it's ok.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank o2mpx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017

Nice clean place for family sightseeing and spa, male/female spa were separated with indoor/outdoor pool. Dining were very good and tasty. Lobby also equipped with binoculars for bird watching.The whole environment more suitable for older people with slow and quite mood rather than for kids and night life.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C200FK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2017

Stayed here in fall and it was amazing.
Its set back from the lake but you dont get much of a view of it (unless theres no leaves on the trees) but that doesn't matter. We had our own hot tub on our deck overlooking the forest.

Everything is traditional food, rooms, attire ect so be prepared.
Staff didnt speak a great amount of English but there was always 1 who could understand.
We didn't experience any of the poor hospitality that some reviews mention either.
Be prepared for an experience with the food. Multiple course dinner and there are a few crazy things that turn up on the table. Approach it with an open mind.

We really liked our stay but for us it was a do it once kind of thing and that would be it.

Make sure you take the slightly early check out so you get the free shuttle service the hotel offers which stops of at a number of different sights on the way.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank neil241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2016

Great service. Staffs will go out of their way to assist the guests.
Location of the hotel is a bit far from lake Chuzenji and you can't see the lake from the hotel. Hotel offers complimentary tour to Mount Hangetsuyama observation deck and Kegon waterfall. From Kegon waterfall, it's only a short walking distance to Lake Chuzenji where you can spend the rest of the day enjoying the view. Hotel will pick up guests from anywhere around Lake Chuzenji with just a phone call.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CTC9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews