We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Your own, clean, home in Japan. What more can you ask for? Maybe an excellent host? Also provided!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nikko Cottage Fu-Sha
Ranked #3 of 28 Speciality lodging in Nikko
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Your own, clean, home in Japan. What more can you ask for? Maybe an excellent host? Also provided!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

You must stay at least a couple of days in this great place. Your own Japanese style house in the beautiful area of Nikko. Clean and comfortable with the most technically advanced toilet you'll ever see. The host goes out of her way to help you anyway she can. Recommended!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GenjiG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
51
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

We stayed in Nikko Cottage Inn Fu-Sha in early March 2011. Thank you to all the previous reviewers who recommended it so much. We were not disappointed with the comfortable cottage and the wonderful hospitality. It is a short walk from the centre of town along a quiet riverfront street. As it was quite cold and snowing when we arrived, Yoshiko had the cottage cozy and warm for us. She sat us down at the traditional Japanese table with cushions on the floor and a blow heater underneath and went over a map of the local area with us. She recommended Mihashi at the Kanaya Hotel for dinner and insisted on driving us there. We enjoyed a wonderful three course dinner and Yoshiko organised with the restaurant owner to phone her when we were finished and she picked us up. Don't hesitate in booking this cottage when staying in Nikko, you won't regret it. For a fabulous lunch don't go past Hippari Dako. We had yakitori (chicken on skewers served with rice and noodles). It is a white building on the left side of Rte 119, about 100m before the Shin-kyo Bridge.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benaroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

Everything you have read in the other reviews is correct. Yoshiko is a wonderful host. She met us at the train station and attempted to drive us everywhere we wanted to go. She was very helpful with our itinerary, checking what we wanted to see, and advising on the best use of time. She checked everything for us on the internet, providing bus and train timetables, and discounts for a local theme park, Edo Wonderland (well worth a visit).

The cottage is in a great location, beside a river and very quiet. We never made it to the Bake Jizu down the road, and hope to return someday to see them. It is about 15-20 min walk to the major shrines, and 7 min to the nearest bus stop, and about the same to two convenience stores. We expected a sort of self catering cottage, but instead it is like staying in a detached hotel, with rooms cleaned and towels replaced every day. It was stated that food was not included, but we had breakfast and lots of fruit provided each day. The cottage is very large, with a good kitchen, a small dining area, a room with a raised area for a futon, and larger tatami room with sliding doors for more futons. The bathroom is fantastic. We were well used to large Japanese baths and intricate controls before we arrived, but this was the first toilet we encountered with automatic seat raising and lowering, and hot air drying as well as washing facilities. other features include Wifi, an intercom connection to Yoshiko (next door), and yukatas.

Overall it is a very comfortable and special place to stay, and deserves the number 1 ranking. Nikko is short of foreign tourists this year, and is well worth a visit. I hope to return, and will recommend Fu-Sha to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripAway7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

This is a privately run, detached cottage with Japanese style rooms, kitchenette and a laptop with wifi! Yoshiko, the owner, obligingly provided station transport in her car and also drove us to the temple site and restaurants on both evenings. She provided fruits, yogurt and buns for breakfast and arranged our restaurant bookings. The cottage is within walking distance of the temples (if you are moderately fit) but the pleasant surprise was the walk up the road, from the cottage, to discover a natural park along the rapidly flowing river and a row of ancient stone statues. After the hustle and bustle of Tokyo, this cottage was a welcome oasis of calm and space. If you would like private, Japanese style accommodation with a homey feel and more space than a hotel room, Nikko cottage is ideal. Yoshiko is a charming and helpful lady.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanfromCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2011

A lovely couple of days being looked after by Yoshiko at Fu-Sha. She couldn't do enough to help us, and even picked us up at the station in the rain, not even knowing which train we were arriving on! Very cosy room (we stayed in the room which is part of their house), very clean, and a beautiful area.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevepmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nikko hotels
Nikko Kanaya Hotel
#4 of 151 in Nikko
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Nikko Onsen
Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa
Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa
#1 of 151 in Nikko
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Nikko Onsen
Nikko station hotel classic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nikko Onsen
Hotel Natural Garden Nikko
Nikko Onsen
Kozuchi no Yado Tsurukame Daikichi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nikko Cottage Fu-Sha? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nikko Cottage Fu-Sha

Property: Nikko Cottage Fu-Sha
Address: 8-22 Takumi-cho, Nikko 321-1433, Tochigi Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tochigi Prefecture > Nikko
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 Speciality lodging in Nikko
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,886 - ₹ 10,989
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nikko Cottage Fu-Sha 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"VERY COSY". We opened FU-SHA in September, 2007. We wanted to show people from all over the WORLD the beauty, both natural and man made that Nikko offers. Since our home is directly across the street from the cottage, we are able to provide assistance when you need it during your stay at the cottage. This private Japanese style cottage has a small sitting room, a small kitchen, a large modern bathroom and can sleep up to 5 people. The rooms are Japanese style rooms with tatami mats and divided by fusuma(sliding doors). Japanese futons are laid on the tatami mats and they are very comfortable to sleep on. There are a microwave oven, a toaster, a refrigerator, a coffee maker, an electric pot and tableware in the kitchen. The bathroom has a big bathtub and a shower. In addition, there is an amazing Japanese high-tech toilet. The cottage has a high speed internet( wireless). My ancestors came to Nikko approximately 130 years ago and we have been living here ever since. Therefor we have all the information on Nikko you would like to know and we are happy to share that with you. We will happily provide a pick up from Nikko station. Popular sightseeing spots in the neighborhood of the cottage; World Heritage "Shrines and Temples" 15 minutes walk Old Imperial Villa 5 minutes walk Kanman-ga-fuchi Abyss 5 minutes walk Jakko Falls 2 km Botanic garden 15 minutes walk Kirifuri Falls 4 km Kirifuri haighland 30 minutes by bus Nikko Edo Wonderland They has a shuttle bus service. Bus station is 7 minutes walk Oku-Nikko area 35 minutes by bus Bus stop(No9 Nishi-sando) is 7 minutes walk ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Nikko Cottage Fu-Sha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing