We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (899)
Filter reviews
899 results
Traveller rating
389
396
85
19
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
389
396
85
19
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews yamashita park cruise terminal new wing general macarthur pre cruise original building le normandie chinatown station lives up to its name nice cocktail bar business lounge huge windows interesting history historical hotel the red brick warehouse lovely room lovely park
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 899 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2018

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights after leaving our cruise ship in Yokohama. We had a lovely room on the 13th floor in the tower building at the front overlooking the bay. What a view!. The room was spacious and very well appointed and very clean. The only downside was that the bed was a little firm for our liking.

The staff were exceedingly polite and very patient with us given the language difficulties. They went out of their way to oblige our every need like tourist info, public transport info, and arranged a taxi to take us to our next hotel in Tokyo.

They have a very nice cocktail bar on the ground floor. The hostess fussed over us as we were guests of the hotel. Very comfortable place for an evening drink.

We highly recommend this hotel both for its location and great staff.

Room Tip: Get a room in the tower building facing the bay for magnificent views.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
宿 泊, マネージャー at Hotel New Grand, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2018

We thank you so much for writing a nice comment regarding your previous stay at our hotel. We are sorry to hear that our bed firmness did not fit your preference. Next time you stay with us, we will prepare some extra bed pads to assure your comfort.
We look forward to seeing you again someday in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018

Amazing two direction view from my spacious room in the tower. A beautiful and historic hotel with a wonderful atmosphere. Perfect location to China Town, Minato Mirai and connection airport. Lovely breakfast and breakfast area. Service was outstanding. Thank you especially to the young woman who RAN with my heavy bag, which she would not allow me to carry, to help me catch the bus to the airport. All staff spoke good English and were very kind. My only regret is that I couldn't stay longer.

Room Tip: try a corner room for view over Minatomira and the port. There are only four.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tzb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
宿 泊, マネージャー at Hotel New Grand, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

We are very grateful to you for taking your time to post a review.
I am delighted to inform you that I found out the bellhop who assisted you for catching the bus to Haneda and passed on your kind comments to her. She was very pleased to hear your heartwarming comment. We know that our efforts will be rewarded in having the guests repeatedly come back to our hotel, but at the same time it is surprising and encouraging for us to receive such kind comments.
We thank you very much for your thoughtfulness.
We hope to see you again someday in the near future and wish you many happy experiences on your trips. 

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018

From the door greeting and whisking away of luggage to our room, this hotel really does stand out. Excellent service everywhere we went, clean room with good amenities and wi-fi. Good nights sleep.
We did stay on tower upper floors which gave great views and access to the club lounge 10am to 6pm for coffee/tea only, not like a regular club room strangely.
We didn't use restaurants (theres's a super Eggs'N'Things next door for breakfast), but did use the bar named Seaguardian II which is amazing and steeped in history.
Great hotel and happy to use again, just remember it's a little way from Yokohama CBD, but great for Cruise terminal and Chinatown.

Room Tip: We enjoyed tower high floor
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IvanNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
宿 泊, マネージャー at Hotel New Grand, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Thank you very much for your kind comments to our hotel.
I am really glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay overall including “Sea Guardian 2”. This traditional bar has hosted many Japanese celebrities and dignitaries such as famous novelist, Jiro Osaragi and movie star, Yujiro Ishihara. We hope you will continue to visit Yokohama in all seasons and stay for a much longer time at Hotel New Grand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2018

This is the hotel Douglas MacArthur stayed before September 2, 1945 and wrote his famous speech. My husband and I stayed at its MacArthur suite with elaborate furnishings including the writing desk MacArthur used. It has been improved to be the finest accommodation in town, with the jacuzzi bath tub and all. Very pleasant.

Room Tip: Corner suite
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PueoKupaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
宿 泊, マネージャー at Hotel New Grand, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2018

We thank you very much for staying at our McArthur’s Suite on your previous visit to Yokohama and I am very pleased to learn that you liked our room so much. We wish both you and your husband many serendipitous encounters on your travel around the world hoping your returns to Hotel New Grand in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018 via mobile

This Historic Hotel is a truly joyous experience. The staff are simply superb. The rooms are large, bright and airy with amazing views. We were afforded every courtesy and luxury.
The bars and lounge areas are delightful. The Normandie Restaurant provides a really good breakfast buffet.
After 14 nights in sheer hell in an Apa Hotel in Tokyo we thought we had died and gone to heaven. Sadly we were here only for one night. Strongly recommended to anyone hoping for International standards in a hotel in Japan.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Quayline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
宿 泊, マネージャー at Hotel New Grand, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2018

We thank you very much for posting your review. I was thrilled to hear your generous comments and gladly inform you that I conveyed your kind words to all our staff including our restaurant. We are proud to offer high quality breakfast with the spectacular view from the window facing toward Yokohama bay at our main dining room. It becomes a great place to enjoy superb French Lunch and dinner in a beautiful ambience. We look forward to welcoming you back someday in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews