We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveller rating
103
16
4
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
103
16
4
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private booths inari sushi small ryokan kaiseki dinner and breakfast relaxing stay hot tub mount fuji private onsen the bus semi illy dish english meals japan hakone
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 127 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2018

Staying at this small ryokan for a night was the highlight of our week-long trip to Japan. We appreciated every little detail of the experience, from the complimentary welcome drinks, comfortable robes provided, to the cozy room stocked with even a CD of relaxing music.

The private onsen was the perfect size for two (small/mediumish-sized) people and left us feeling deeply relaxed and refreshed.


The kaiseki dinner and breakfast (in private booths) were also spectacular. Each dish was delicious and beautifully presented, with many catching us by surprise (no spoilers!). Afterwards, the manager even thoughtfully gave us a bento of inari sushi as a snack in case we weren't full (we were, but gobbled it up the next day).

At checkout, an employee (Gim Ra?) gave us a ride to the nearest bus stop.

Although this ryokan is smaller, out of the way, and seems more catered to locals, I'd 100% recommend this gem to anyone looking for an amazing private onsen/kaiseki experience.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ericgT3742XC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
箱根湯宿-然-, 支配人 at Hakone Yuyado Zen, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2018

Dear Mr. and Mrs.Eric G

Thank you for your stay at Yuyado ZEN Ryokan in Hakone .
Could you enjoy a stay?
If there is a chance to come to Japan , please come here again .
Thank you.

Yuyado ZEN in Hakone
Reservationist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018 via mobile

Our stay here was exceptional from start to finish: the service, the facilities and the food were all superb. We were offered a glass of fizz on arrival and the opportunity to book a massage. Dinner and breakfast were served in private booths and comprised an array of exquisite seasonal dishes (the smoked egg, garlic whelk and sashimi prawn was our stand out dish). We had a twin room with mountain views and loved our private onsen. The weather was atrocious when we arrived, so no views but very atmospheric. Once the mist burned off in the morning sun we were treated to the most spectacular views of Mount Fuji. The hotel is tucked away up the hillside and a bit of a walk from the bus stop so worth arranging for the hotel to pick you up if arriving by public transport. Our experience here was the highlight of my trip to Japan and I can't recommend it highly enough.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank katiebroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
箱根湯宿-然-, 支配人 at Hakone Yuyado Zen, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Dear Mr. and Mrs.

Thank you for your stay at Yuyado ZEN Ryokan in Hakone .
Could you enjoy a stay?
If there is a chance to come to Japan , please come here again .
Thank you.

Yuyado ZEN in Hakone
Reservationist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2018

Both dinner and breakfast are great. Onsen bath tub too small, need a bit of squeezing to fit two persons. Twin bed cannot be pushed and joined as one. There’re also also free drinks and ice cream in the fridge, on top of the illy coffee machine.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Connector591152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
箱根湯宿-然-, 支配人 at Hakone Yuyado Zen, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

Dear Mr. and Mrs.

Thank you for your stay at Yuyado ZEN Ryokan in Hakone .
Could you enjoy a stay?
If there is a chance to come to Japan , please come here again .
Thank you.

Yuyado ZEN in Hakone
Reservationist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018

It is a boutique onsen hotel. There are only nine rooms in the entire hotel. Every room has its own outdoor onsen tub. I guess not many foreign visitors went there before, but there were a lot of local guests. It locates at the high level of Hakone Mountain (I guess) as we had to drive downslope for a long time to reach Hakone Mache.
I chose a room with a view of Mt. Fuji. The room has all the necessary amenities, including a lot of drinks and snacks for free. They even provide ‘illy’ expresso coffee machine and capsules in the room. I enjoyed the onsen very much.
The onsen meals, dinner and breakfast, were gorgeous. You can taste the original flavour of each kind of food.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TWHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
箱根湯宿-然-, 支配人 at Hakone Yuyado Zen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Dear Mr. and Mrs.TWHK

Thank you for your stay at Yuyado ZEN Ryokan in Hakone .
Could you enjoy a stay?
If there is a chance to come to Japan , please come here again .
Thank you.

Yuyado ZEN in Hakone
Reservationist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017 via mobile

My room is the mountain view room. It is clean & spacious with semi open onsen. The service of the hotel is excellent. They greet you with a welcome drink, which u can choose sparkling wine from the list. Though they location is not convenient if you dont drive, they offer free shuttle from closest station. The dinner & breakfast is super delicious. Staff are very friendly. Though their website dont allow to book for 1 person, they give me a discount price on check out! If I have chance to visit Hakone, definitely will stay in Zen again.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
箱根湯宿-然-, 支配人 at Hakone Yuyado Zen, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

Dear Mrs.Christine L

Thank you for your stay at Yuyado ZEN Ryokan in Hakone .
Could you enjoy a stay?
If there is a chance to come to Japan , please come here again .
Thank you.

Yuyado ZEN in Hakone
Reservationist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews