We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Fujiya Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fujiya Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Orange
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Historic Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

The Fujiya Hotel is a historic place where dignitaries and famous people have stayed, including John Lennon and Albert Einstein. It is a unique, quirky hotel with a mix of Japanese and Western architecture. Our room was huge, high ceilings, extra long twin beds. The bathroom is old-fashioned, but hot springs water runs in the bath/shower. We benefited from the Fujiya Hotel's "Hospitality Plan" for foreigners, celebrating 133 years of service. There is nothing much in walking distance from the hotel, but their gardens are beautiful.

Room Tip: "Hospitality Plan" for foreigners gives a good value, $133 a night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

908 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    348
    130
    51
    25
See reviews for
356
333
31
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

After having visited the hotel on a few occasions before I decided to take my mother to stay on her third visit to Japan. We booked one night on the foreigner $133 special. I thought the rooms would be old, but they were a little more dated than I had expected - however, they were large and very comfortable. The bathrooms are also were quite dated, and the Onsen quite old and dingy. Our room was facing the scenic train track, and trains started at about 6.30 so it was quite noisy. The excellent service by all Team Members somehow managed to make-up for the disappointing standard of the room - I would expect the rooms not part of the $133 special offer present a higher standard.
Dining in the main restaurant was lovely - the food was magnificent, service excellent and the entire experience a delight. The wine is very expensive.
There is a small museum with some wonderful pictures of past guests and some of the lovely history of the hotel and the area.The garden is very pretty, the bar very appealing, and the lobby area is a place to sit and people-watch and enjoy the atmosphere.
It is best to have a car to tour this area, the small town where the hotel is - Miyanoshita - is lovely to look around, but the additional sights are easier to access by car (as is much of Hakone). Overall it was a pleasant stay at the Fujiya Hotel, one of those experiences that leaves with you with fond memories of staying in a hotel from days-gone-by. A little touch of history.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelHappyOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
166 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

Lovely rooms in an old-fashioned 1930s to 1960s sort of way.
Horribly expensive restaurants, all over 10,000 yen per person, unless you ask and then discover a la carte prices that are a little better.

Didn't try Fujiya Restaurant,French,after being convinced after a week here that in Japan Japanese food is incredible while non-Japanese not so much, so why pay 25% more than Paris and 50% more than NYC for inferior food.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

The beautiful smell hits you when you walk in and thankfully you can but a small pot of scented oil to take the smell home with you! The people were very helpful and friendly and gave us an overview of the history whilst walking us to our room. There is a museum of the hotel on the bottom floor, which is really interesting and lovely that they've kept a record of things! Pic of John Lennon visiting! It is like stepping back in time and I think it would have been the height of luxury in the 70's. The hotel was clean and had cleary been well looked after in most places but the indoor pool needed updating and whilst the water was lovely, the pool area was a bit grimey. The gardens were lovely and the local area was great - just beware that restaurants close early and we were stuck when we didn't get out until 8pm because everywhere was closed! It was expensive to eat in the hotel (£25 for a burger) so we ended up getting snacks from the 7/11 - good fun though trying to work out what things were! The hot spa water pumped straight to the room was nice!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lorrainebaldock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Fujya Hotel becuase we picked up a good value accommodation special (133USD/night). The room was huge and well appointed. The hot water is spring fed so absolutely lovely but takes several minutes to reach your room. The hotel bar was very nice and happy hour presented good value. We were very unimpressed, however, with the quality and prices of the meals on offer. Unfortunately there didn't seem to be any other dining options nearby so we eneded up the "western restaurant" where the food quality was very average and prices sky high. The hotel gardens are very pretty and worth a quick walk through.

The hotel is close to the train station but it's a pretty steep walk up the hill so I suggest arranging for one of the hotel cars to pick you up at the station if you have heavy suitcases.

The Hakone Freepass circut around the area makes for an interesting, good fun day or half day trip. There didn't seem to be a lot else to do around the area though excepth bush walking. We enjoyed our one night stay but that was enough for us. I'd recommend the hotel if you get can get a good rate but try to explore other dining options.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmy452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hakone-machi hotels
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Tenseien
Tenseien
#7 of 243 in Hakone-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Ashinoko Onsen
Hakone Hotel
Hakone Hotel
#27 of 243 in Hakone-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Gora Onsen
Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Yumoto Fujiya Hotel
Yumoto Fujiya Hotel
#4 of 243 in Hakone-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Tounosawa Onsen
Fukuzumiro Ryokan
Fukuzumiro Ryokan
#3 of 243 in Hakone-machi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Hakone Pax Yoshino
Hakone Pax Yoshino
#20 of 243 in Hakone-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fujiya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fujiya Hotel

Property: Fujiya Hotel
Address: 359 Miyanoshita, Ashigarashimo-gun, Hakone-machi 250-0404, Kanagawa Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Ashigarashimo-gun > Hakone-machi > Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hakone-machi
#2 Onsen Hotel in Hakone-machi
#4 Family Hotel in Hakone-machi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hakone-machi
#9 Best Value Hotel in Hakone-machi
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,871 - ₹ 36,987
Hotel Class:4 star — Fujiya Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Ikyu Corporation, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fujiya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fujiya Hotel Hakone Machi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing