We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fujiya Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Ryokan 
Hakone Manatee(Hakone-machi)
US$ 522
US$ 506
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 357
US$ 203
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 552
US$ 194
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hakone Sengokuhara Prince Hotel(Hakone-machi)(Great Value!)
US$ 373
US$ 151
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Fukuzumiro Ryokan(Hakone-machi)
US$ 308
US$ 287
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$ 454
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
US$ 434
US$ 384
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 466
US$ 280
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hakone Hotel(Hakone-machi)
US$ 353
US$ 210
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Hakone Pax Yoshino(Hakone-machi)(Great Value!)
US$ 336
US$ 193
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,029)
Filter reviews
1,029 results
Traveller rating
411
382
146
61
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
411
382
146
61
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshistoric hoteljohn lennonthe main dining roomthe indoor swimming poolforest lodgesmall museumkorean restaurantsilver servicefaded glorytrain stationadds to the charmspecial hotelup to datejapanese gardenbeautiful gardenthermal watertea room
Filter
Updating list...
234 - 239 of 1,029 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2012

After having visited the hotel on a few occasions before I decided to take my mother to stay on her third visit to Japan. We booked one night on the foreigner $133 special. I thought the rooms would be old, but they were a little more dated than I had expected - however, they were large and very comfortable. The bathrooms are also were quite dated, and the Onsen quite old and dingy. Our room was facing the scenic train track, and trains started at about 6.30 so it was quite noisy. The excellent service by all Team Members somehow managed to make-up for the disappointing standard of the room - I would expect the rooms not part of the $133 special offer present a higher standard.
Dining in the main restaurant was lovely - the food was magnificent, service excellent and the entire experience a delight. The wine is very expensive.
There is a small museum with some wonderful pictures of past guests and some of the lovely history of the hotel and the area.The garden is very pretty, the bar very appealing, and the lobby area is a place to sit and people-watch and enjoy the atmosphere.
It is best to have a car to tour this area, the small town where the hotel is - Miyanoshita - is lovely to look around, but the additional sights are easier to access by car (as is much of Hakone). Overall it was a pleasant stay at the Fujiya Hotel, one of those experiences that leaves with you with fond memories of staying in a hotel from days-gone-by. A little touch of history.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelHappyOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Lovely rooms in an old-fashioned 1930s to 1960s sort of way.
Horribly expensive restaurants, all over 10,000 yen per person, unless you ask and then discover a la carte prices that are a little better.

Didn't try Fujiya Restaurant,French,after being convinced after a week here that in Japan Japanese food is incredible while non-Japanese not so much, so why pay 25% more than Paris and 50% more than NYC for inferior food.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

The beautiful smell hits you when you walk in and thankfully you can but a small pot of scented oil to take the smell home with you! The people were very helpful and friendly and gave us an overview of the history whilst walking us to our room. There is a museum of the hotel on the bottom floor, which is really interesting and lovely that they've kept a record of things! Pic of John Lennon visiting! It is like stepping back in time and I think it would have been the height of luxury in the 70's. The hotel was clean and had cleary been well looked after in most places but the indoor pool needed updating and whilst the water was lovely, the pool area was a bit grimey. The gardens were lovely and the local area was great - just beware that restaurants close early and we were stuck when we didn't get out until 8pm because everywhere was closed! It was expensive to eat in the hotel (£25 for a burger) so we ended up getting snacks from the 7/11 - good fun though trying to work out what things were! The hot spa water pumped straight to the room was nice!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lorrainebaldock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Fujya Hotel becuase we picked up a good value accommodation special (133USD/night). The room was huge and well appointed. The hot water is spring fed so absolutely lovely but takes several minutes to reach your room. The hotel bar was very nice and happy hour presented good value. We were very unimpressed, however, with the quality and prices of the meals on offer. Unfortunately there didn't seem to be any other dining options nearby so we eneded up the "western restaurant" where the food quality was very average and prices sky high. The hotel gardens are very pretty and worth a quick walk through.

The hotel is close to the train station but it's a pretty steep walk up the hill so I suggest arranging for one of the hotel cars to pick you up at the station if you have heavy suitcases.

The Hakone Freepass circut around the area makes for an interesting, good fun day or half day trip. There didn't seem to be a lot else to do around the area though excepth bush walking. We enjoyed our one night stay but that was enough for us. I'd recommend the hotel if you get can get a good rate but try to explore other dining options.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimmy452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

As a foreigner you can try to book the Special Hospitality Plan. It should be USD 133 per room to celebrate 133 years of service.
We found Miyanoshita quite exotic because of lack of language skills. The Japanese spoke about 20 words in English... if we counted all the English the locals spoke outside the hotel during 3 days. But it was not a big problem, rather funny actually.
There are some beautiful walks in the area. We enjoyed the short and steep Chamberlain walk (ask for map in the reception).
Both the private and public baths were a little bit disappointing. I would have expected more in such a traditional bath. There are some baths at the other side of the road where you can bath outside. The pool area and sauna were OK. We did not eat at the hotel for cost reasons. Food in the mountain area was much more expensive than in Tokyo. Sometimes we settled for a picnic with items from the local supermarket.
Creaking floors, a beautiful garden, a smell of lavender in the hallways, a noble reception, exceptionally large rooms, the hotel museum, the hotel bakery, a couple of good (expensive) shops and an excellent service make you feel at home and comfortable.
Do not miss having a traditional Japanese breakfast in Kikkaso-Inn at least once. It is quite different, peaceful, quiet and healthy. Paper walls, traditional Japanese music, low chairs etc. But the western breakfast is also of good standard.
Rather than taking bus or train yo cal also rent a car for one day. It was not too expensive.

Room Tip: Try to book the Special Hospitality Plan. Half the price or normal rooms.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TveViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews