We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (554)
Filter reviews
554 results
Traveller rating
344
112
48
27
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
344
112
48
27
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews room attendant relais chateaux kaiseki dinner serene atmosphere steam room once in a lifetime an outdoor hot tub spa treatments ryokan experience zen garden japanese culture personal attendant four seasons kobe beef two nights karaoke room annex room
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 554 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2018

We visited Hakone for one day and decided to stay at Gora Kadan for one night. The service was extremely attentive. We were welcomed and escorted to our room. The attendant showed us the room and told us about the facilities as well. Our room had a bed area, a table area, a seating area and then an area leading to the outside private onsen. A number of people have mentioned that the explanations were confusing but we had no trouble understanding them. We decided to relax before the kaiseki dinner in the onsen. The attendant was great and worked out a schedule so I could have a massage and my daughter a facial for after dinner. Both were fantastic.
As to the kaiseki, we were pleased with it. I thought it had the appropriate variety of food. Breakfast came at the appointed time the next morning. Breakfast was good, Japanese style, but it was honestly too much food.
We left right after breakfast. I would have liked more time to explore the rest of the facility.

Date of stay: May 2018
Thank lovetravelChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018 via mobile

We stayed here and had a wonderful time
Everyone at the resort was warm friendly and welcoming and tried to make our stay as enjoyable as possible
The onsen was very interesting and relaxing and the meals were extrordinary
Rooms were comfortable and the sleeping matts were surprisingly comfortable for a good nites sleep
Our kids especially had a great time and we all realized that this was truly a once in a lifetime cultural experience

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank LEB-FLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

We were very excited to go to Hakone and stay at the Gora Kadan. We were nicely greeted but our ro was not ready and there was no offer to assist us in any way. We booked what we were told the nicest room at the hotel. I found it quite tired and musty smelling. We asked to book some spa treatments and were told that most services were booked over the next two days. We were not told to book treatments before we arrived. Our butler spoke very little English and did not explain the room or how things work. We eventually did get a massage which was good. We booked another one for the next day but when we went to go for the massage we were told to vacate our room before as they needed to turn it over. They told us we could shower in the public onsen. We had dietary restrictions and it seemed to be a problem for them. Our saving grace was the discovery of Nobu restaurant in Hakone where the food was fabulous. Hakone is a beautiful city. Don’t miss it but find somewhere else to stay. Not worth the $1500 US a night. All of the other hotels we stayed at in Japan were very accommodating.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
6  Thank Lawnhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

The staff is very kind and attentive. For me the service is the best part of Gora Kadan. It was our first time in a riokan hotel and it was nice to wear kimono and sleepers all the time. The room is comfortable and the bathroom with a special tube is the best part. And the linen and towels were nice.
They serve breakfast in your room which is fine.
It is located near Hakone Open Air Museum, a wonderful attraction! You can go walking.
What I dislike:
1) common areas are poor. The bar looks like an airport lounge doesn’t fit the hotel ambiance.
2) there is a deck with a beautiful view and no seat...
3) you take dinner in a private and strange room. And the food is regular. The kaiseki dinner was regular and sukiyaki was better.
4) the spa was also regular.
It worth the visit because of the overall experience but don’t expect a very good hotel.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank ThaCSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

Gora Kadan was recommended to us and we booked it without a lot of thought. Did we underestimate this! The experience was very unique and wonderful. We truly enjoyed this peek into Japanese culture. We were blown away by the service and the facilities. We wished we had booked more than a single day! Everything about this place was awesome! Yes, it is expensive, but I do highly recommend it..

Room tip: Not Cheap but we all need to indulge from time to time..
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews