We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic, but requires your imagination” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Setsugetsuka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Setsugetsuka
ChilliGarlic
Level Contributor
162 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Fantastic, but requires your imagination”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

I have been to a number of Onsen before, and had high expectations, which this hotel almost lived up to.
It's a treat getting to Gora, taking the Romance Car from Shinjuku (1 hr 40 mins) and then a small switchback train, running to Japanese precision, up the mountain (about 45 mins). The hotel is really close to the station.
The room was beautiful, and immaculately maintained. A private bath on the balcony makes it almost heaven. Dinner was below average, and could really be given a greater "wow" factor - get a really great chef in to re-make the dining experience! Breakfast was better, and the Japanese breakfast was generous and delicious.
There are three private baths as well, but we didn't try them - huge storm the night we were there which we watched instead.
I think where I'm disappointed is that the place seemed stage managed, rather than the service coming from a delight in service. While all staff were faultless, they were young and probably working a part-time job. I suppose more heart would make this place wonderful!

Room Tip: All rooms have private baths. Main building has a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChilliGarlic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    203
    102
    44
    14
See reviews for
185
195
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

I was really excited about staying here on my trip to Japan, but I think my fiance liked even better than me. I was timid to book a Ryokan, as my fiance can barely handle the careful service associated with a bed and breakfast in the US, and prefers anonymity in a hotel rather than doting service, however, this hotel allowed us to try the hot springs and Japanese cuisine, but with modern amenities and luxury you associate with bigger hotels.

We booked a 34 square meter, Japanese style room and it was rather spacious, especially for Japan, and had a gorgeous balcony that overlooked trees. We were worried about the beds in the Japanese rooms, but they were extremely comfortable and, comfort-wise, indistinguishable from a Western-style bed. We loved the shower which had a sliding glass door to the balcony, but the show-stopper is the cedar bath on the balcony - our's overlooked the trees, but had shades you could pull down for privacy although because it only overlooked trees we didn't need to. It was a delight to soak in it in the morning while the sun came up and birds started chirping.

As far as the hot springs go, we only used the private ones, and they too were absolutely delightful - soaking with your loved one underneath the stars, could it get any better?!?!? The system to use them was very easy, and despite the hotel being busy, we found there were plenty of times they were unoccupied. The hotel does give you super comfortable casual kimonos and pajama-like outfits to wear, and we learned the embarrassing way that you pretty much stay in these your whole time at the resort, including coming and going to the hot springs, and for dinner and breakfast.

The hotel has two restaurants, one serving kaiseki (Japanese style dinners), and another serving tempura and shabu shabu, and you get to pick which one to eat at each night, and they accomodate food allergies and tastes. We're adventurous eaters and consider ourselves foodies so we booked the kaiseki restaurant - turns out we're not as adventurous as we thought, we wish we would have booked the tempura one, but sometimes you just have to give it a shot. As many have already said, the service was exceptionally friendly and courteous and they spoke perfect English.

Despite Hakone seeming quaint from internet research, there is actually much to do in this area, and two days with one overnight wasn't really enough for us, especially if you like natural surroundings. Gora, the town the hotel is in is quite small and picturesque, and the cable car and rope line was quite fun. We took the Romance Car down from Tokyo to get to Hakone, and then took the Tozan Railway to get to Gora. The hotel is right across from the small, charming train station in Gora.

All in all, wonderful hotel in beautiful area - would gladly come back!

Room Tip: We booked the 34.1 square meter room, Japanese style room - it's huge. Unless you have a whole f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank johnwatersfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

We got a lot of weird looks from people when we told them we were honeymooning in Japan. "Japan? Why Japan?" Well, if they saw Setsugetsuka, they wouldn't question Japan as a honeymoon destination anymore!
First, Setsugetsuka is really convenient to the train station. It literally took us one minute to walk there after our ride from Tokyo. Two thumbs up for location! Second, when we arrived we found out that we were upgraded to a higher room because it was our honeymoon. A sweet card was waiting for us in the room congratulating us!
Third, the onsen were lovely and we gazed up into the stars while soaking. We could only hear crickets, it was so peaceful.
Fourth, service was wonderful and pleasant, and since we can't speak Japanese, we were assigned in an English section in which the server could communicate with us.
This was definitely a big splurge for us, but the excellent service and experience made it worth it. Absolutely unforgettable experience and wonderful start to our married life.

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank pinkargyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel with my 2 kids. We booked a modern Japanese/Western style room. It was huge. There were 2 double beds for my hubby and I. The kids decided to use the self-service futons (mommy laid them out for them) and slept on the floor. Our stay included 3 meals - dinner, noodles as a before bedtime snack, breakfast.

We loved the following about the hotel:
- excellent service from front desk and restaurant staff
- room was huge and super clean
- beautiful and colourful yukatas that we can use from the lobby ... lots of colours and designs you can choose from (not the dull colourless ones at other hotels). This makes it very pretty when all the guest are walking around the hotel in their yukatas.
- absolutely loved the cedar bath on the balcony :)
- gorgeous scenery at the hotel grounds
- loved the onsen facilities....especially the 3 private ones
- the food presentation was exquisite....looked too good to eat and it was delicious
- steps from the Gora rail trains
- free internet service

DISLIKES....
- nothing for the hotel
- it was expensive....but very worth it...so I don't feel that it is my dislike (maybe for others)
- only "dislike" was that we had to leave :( ....only could stay one night....wish we stayed there for more nights (or forever)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Clownfish88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2010

My family of four booked two japanese/western 36m2 rooms and stayed 1 night - 1st Dec on the 4th floor facing the garden at Setsugetsuka Hotel. We booked through Odakyu Travel at 21,900yen/person/night which includes breakfast and dinner and all taxes.

We were treated to ice-cream upon arrival and got to choose nice yukatas near the small shop on level one. The standard ones are in the wardrobe.
At the entrance of each room is an area for wearing shoes/wooden Japanese slippers. The brightly lit toilet fitted with washing facilities is located opposite this. You can choose to sleep on the mattresses on raised platform or futon on the floor where the table and chairs are. A wooden bathtub is provide for soaking at the balcony. The water is not hotspring water though. Separated bathroom/basin are adjacent to it. The room is very spacious, bright and airy with free internet. It is the biggest room during our entire stay in Japan. Besides yutakas, there is another set of shirt/pants provided. You can wear either to go to the hotsprings. I find the shirt/pants very comfortable. Two lovely baskets are provided to put personal belongings when visiting the hotsprings.

We loved the private outdoor hotsprings as the water temperature was just right. There are 3 such hotsprings in the hotel besides the public indoor and outdoor ones. No booking is required as long as it is unoccupied. If the light in the birdhouse corresponding to each private hotspring is turned on, it means it is occupied. We soaked 3 times during our stay. Loved it! Free flow Yakult provided along the corridor near the hotsprings.
Japanese dinner and breakfast and were good. Complimentary ramen provided for supper after 10pm.

It is the nearest hotel to Gora Station, less than 2mins’ walk and there is a direct bus going to Gotemba Premium Outlet from the bus stop no 2 opposite the hotel. It will stop outside the outlet. There is no transfer needed. First bus is at 9.40am. Journey was about 55mins. These were 2 reasons why I choose this hotel. There are also many shops outside the Gora Station but these usually close before dinner since dinner is provided by all hotels in Hakone. They catered mainly to the tourist crowds in the day.

Would recommend to stay here if you don’t mind paying through the nose. For more pictures, refer to travelisveryfun.blogspot.com

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Joyful08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hakone-machi hotels
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Tenseien
Tenseien
#9 of 242 in Hakone-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Gora Onsen
Laforet Club Hakone Gora Yu no Sumika
Kowakidani Onsen
Mizu no To
Mizu no To
#30 of 242 in Hakone-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gora Onsen
Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Hakone Manatee
Hakone Manatee
#11 of 242 in Hakone-machi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Gora Onsen
Sounkaku
Sounkaku
#17 of 242 in Hakone-machi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Setsugetsuka? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Setsugetsuka

Property: Setsugetsuka
Address: 1300 Goura, Ashigarashimo-gun, Hakone-machi 250-0408, Kanagawa Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Ashigarashimo-gun > Hakone-machi > Gora Onsen
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Hakone-machi
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Hakone-machi
Price range (per night): ₹ 19,440 - ₹ 42,414
Hotel Class:4 star — Setsugetsuka 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA so you can book your Setsugetsuka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Setsugetsuka Hotel Hakone-Machi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing