We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
166 results
Traveller rating
40
90
30
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
90
30
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews half board togendai station walking distance the bus cable car rice sightseeing cruise pirate ship place to stay romance car hot bath recommend this hotel japanese style public bath breakfast and dinner english hakone
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 166 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2018 via mobile

Firstly don’t expect any lake views - from anywhere in the hotel. Saying that they keep grounds well and we had pleasant tree views from our window. Rooms good sized, clean with all items you needed or may have forgotten to pack.
Food impressive- dinner very well prepared and beautifully presented- although predominantly Japanese there was always plain chicken and rice and salad for the less adventurous. Set menu with table service as well as a buffet to help yourself to extra bits. Breakfast gave you a mixture of European and Japanese to suit all.
Location - not sure if off season but nothing open by the lake this end - must book food at hotel and if hiking buy snacks elsewhere
Before arrival . Convenient 3 mins walk from Ropeway and ferry but note these shut at 1700 and Not easy to get here without them so have to watch timings.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank het2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018 via mobile

Unless you have a car, avoid this place. The location is not convenient at all, especially if it’s windy and you can’t use the boat service. Staff is unhelpful: nobody was able to tell us how to reach the Hakone shrine without a boat, we had to figure it out by ourselves. Their English is poor and they don’t understand your basic requests. They sent us an email a couple of days before our reservation to know if we wanted to have dinner at the hotel. We said we are vegan and vegetarian and asked about the menu. They said: MAYBE veggies and tofu (2700 yen /person). We said no thank you. The pics from the website are misleading, you might think the room is big but it’s small and you have to make your own bed removing the useless chairs you see in the photos. We had dinner outside as we had read negative reviews about it (overpriced), but breakfast was included. No fresh fruit, no cereals, mainly Japanese food. If you are vegan, it’s hard. No shower in the room, you HAVE to use the onsen. The bed was comfortable and the surroundings lovely. But again, you are far from everything and going around by bus is crazy crazy expensive. I do not recommend it

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank siuppolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

We travelled to Odakyu Hakone Lake Hotel from Tokyo using the Hakone 3-day free pass. To get to the hotel, you can take the Odakyu train from Shinjuku station to Odawara, switched train from Odawara to Yumoto (unless you pay for the upgrade to the more luxurious Romance Car), transfer to the Hakone Tozan Line, transfer to the Hakone Tozan Cable Car, before finally getting on the Hakone Ropeway. The free pass also allows you to move around Hakone on many buses.

This hotel is situated at the north end of Lake Ashi and hence offers great lake view. The free pass also allow us to get on the sightseeing cruise but remember to take note of the operating hour so that you are able to return by the cruise. The hotel was quite crowded during our stay. We opted for the plan with breakfast and dinner. Breakfast was buffet style but we had the same spread for both mornings. We had kiseki dinner which offered a very generous spread.

There are both outdoor and indoor osen too.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank PhoonKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and really enjoyed it. Staff were efficient, professional and courteous. We did not include the dinner option in our stay so we had to eat outside. The staff were gracious enough to organise a restaurant nearby the hotel to pick us up for dinner and drop us back at the hotel free of charge! Another thing we really liked are the onsen and traditional rooms! The onsen is quite spacious and clean. I went during dinner time and got to enjoy the entire public bath and onsen area all by myself! The traditional room was also quite spacious and clean with amenities aplenty. I definitely recommend giving the traditional room a try!
The environment of the hotel is also very relaxing and pleasant.
Breakfast was also very good. There were heaps of options, both western and Japanese.
Location is also very good, right next to Lake Ashi, Togendai ropeway and ferry terminal so it is very easy to get around the main areas of Hakone. There is a designated bus stop in front of the hotel too. The only con was that the hotel is located far from Hakone-Yumoto station, the main station into Hakone. It took around 40 minutes by bus to the hotel. All in all we really enjoyed our stay and would return in the future!

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank otonashii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

This hotel is walking distance from the ropeway station at Lake Ashi. Part of Odakyu chain. Hotel is well appointed, with nice modern amenities. But the food esp the dinner (semi buffet) was a letdown. Onsen was really nice, with indoor and outdoor pools and well-appointed changing area. Hotel grounds were lush and reminded me of lake district hotels in UK. We were given a 500 yen voucher to spend in the gift shop - nice touch.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BeanieHead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews