We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 81
US$ 68
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 102/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Grand Park Otaru(Otaru)
US$ 158
US$ 148
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 186
US$ 131
Rakuten Travel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 148/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 304
US$ 127
Rakuten Travel
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
US$ 163
US$ 103
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 147/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Guesthouse Otaru Wanokaze(Otaru)(Great Value!)
US$ 65
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
US$ 152
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Ryokan 
Ginrinso(Otaru)
US$ 631
US$ 617
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
Kourakuen(Otaru)
US$ 502
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (400)
Filter reviews
400 results
Traveller rating
94
212
80
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
94
212
80
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswithin walking distancejunior suitenice canal viewtop floortake picturessky loungeperfect stayexcellent hotelbuffet stylesushi restaurantsized roomrooms are smallshopping streetjr stationhotel roomtourist attractionsglass museum
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 400 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

Just 5 mins walk to Otaru canal. Car parking provided at ¥1000 per night, shelve parking. So interesting! We happen to left something in the car and have get it. Went in and saw all the cars shelves above. Very convenient they just bring the car to level 1. Anyway parking cost is very reasonable as we parked somewhere near LeTao main store to grab some goodies for approximately 2 hours and it cost us ¥2000!!! Just park in Otaru Nord Hotel and walk around. The location is great!
Check out the view in my room! Facilities are good considering the price. I like the double sink toilet. Very convenient for couples.
Will come back to this hotel again if I visit Otaru. Most probably will check out other branches in Japan.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ashlynn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OtaruNord, frnt at Hotel Nord Otaru, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Thank you for staying with Hotel Nord Otaru.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay.
We are so happy to hear that you like our hotel and room.
We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Otaru.
Hotel Nord Otaru chieko

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2018

My family (2 adults and 2 young kids) stayed in the Hotel Nord Otaru for two nights in the third week of July. Our car was parked inside the hotel multi-storey carpark with a charge of 1000 yen per day. As noticed only limited spaces were available. Some hotel staff commanded effective English and all of them were helpful. The hotel building was a prominent Western-style structure next to the Otaru Canal and its location was indeed perfect. The major attractions were within the walking distance. We used a junior suite that contained four beds (one of them was a sofa bed). After installing the sofa beds, little spaces were left for our lugguage. Nevertheless the beds were really comfortable. The room offered a city view. It was absolutely clean and quiet. All street sounds were totally insulted. Nothing was heard from neighboring rooms. The room had two toilets and two washbasins. The room interiors seemed to be recently renovated and everything were absolutely clean and new. The hotel buffet breakfast served great choices of western and Japanese food, and it was one of the best in my Hokkaido trip in terms of its food varieties, presentations, freshness, and venue (that gave a direct view over the Otaru Canal!). In short, the hotel location, room setting, and breakfast all warranted the highest rating. I definitely recommend Hotel Nord Otaru to all kinds of travelers who seek for a perfect stay at the iconic centre of Otaru.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joe_Chan_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OtaruNord, Front at Hotel Nord Otaru, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2018

Thank you for staying with Hotel Nord Otaru.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay.
We are so glad to hear that you like the room and breakfast.
We have more bigger room in our hotel.
Could you please make a reservation with that room next time.
Thank you very much for your rating.
We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Otaru.
Hotel Nord Otaru chieko

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

the welcome, check in was good but the room was extremely basic, very small and we could only open the suitcases one at a time by putting them on the small coffee table. Bathroom very basic. Buffet breakfast was meagre. The nice thing was the top floor bar with good views. Centrally located to walk the small town.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Lonestarbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OtaruNord, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Nord Otaru, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Thank you for staying with Hotel Nord Otaru.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Otaru.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018

The hotel is opposite the North Canal the main tourist attraction. It is within walking distance of the Visitors Centre and some great eateries. The staff speak little English but you can get yourself understood. The only disappointment was I arrived on a Sunday late, around 6pm, tired after spending 24 hours in planes and airports, they did not have a restaurant open for me to enjoy a quick meal and head back to my room. I had to go out and find somewhere. Luckily there was a Sushi restaurant next door which was very good and I did not have to walk far to get a meal.

Room Tip: I was on the fifth floor and it was relatively quiet. I had a great view of the canal and harbour from my window.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tatyana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OtaruNord, Front at Hotel Nord Otaru, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Thank you for staying with Hotel Nord Otaru.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay.
However we are so sorry we do Not have the restaurant on Dinner time.
We are happy to hear that you like the Sushi restaurant "Kitahama".
We will make an effort to speak English.
We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Otaru.
Hotel Nord Otaru chieko

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2018 via mobile

Disclaimer: This is entirely based on our own experience and observation.

The 2 women with bobbed hair at the front desk totally ignored us even though we greeted them (from what I could see, other foreigners who were chinese) and were super friendly to Japanese guests.

Attaching photos of carpets at corners of the room. Is this level of crusted dust in the carpet acceptable to you for the price you pay? Try other hotels in Otaru. We stayed in 2 others before & they were super friendly and hospitable.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank LoChin73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OtaruNord, 支配人 at Hotel Nord Otaru, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Nord Otaru.
Please accept my sincere apologies for a great deal of discomfort caused by the behavior of our staff and the insufficient room preparation, despite the fact that you chose our hotel among many others for your stay.
It is our duty to be alert and operate with the sense of hospitality when welcoming and communicating with the guests.
Front desk staff shall not act in any way that may be seen as inappropriate.
I, as the manager of the hotel, apologize for your unpleasant experience.
I will provide a proper guidance to all of our staff. Also instructions will be given to our housekeepers to ensure that the rooms are in satisfactory conditions before the guests check in.
Taking your feedback into consideration, we will strive to improve our service to provide our guests with more comfortable accommodation.
We appreciate you taking the time to write to us, and sincerely hope to see you again at our hotel.
Sincerely, Yuki Dobashi, Manager, Hotel Nord Otaru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews