We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Unmissable if you enjoy Japanese culture and history.

This was my second visit to the Soma House and I enjoyed it just as much this time as the first... read more

Reviewed 19 July 2018
pmah78
,
Yokohama, Japan
via mobile
Enjoyable historical gem in the heart of Motomachi

Like a previous reviewer, I almost walked right past this house as I was following my guidebook to... read more

Reviewed 12 May 2018
James B
,
Tokyo, Japan
Read all 93 reviews
  
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveller rating
51
29
12
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
51
29
12
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews english language audio guide british consulate gallery architecture influence motomachi yen history
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 93 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2015

Soumatei is a noteworthy destination located in Hakodate's Motomachi neighborhood. The house was built by a wealthy merchant, whose family occupied it for several generations. It features an interesting mix of oriental and occidental styles and influences. The furnishings, finishes, and gardens are beautiful. An English-language audio guide provides useful information at each of the dozen stops in the house. The staff is kind and helpful. IMO -- well worth the ¥800 admission fee (and parking is included) for the glimpse it provides of Hakodate's heyday period!

Date of experience: August 2015
6  Thank Andrew1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago
Google Translation

Date of experience: November 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2018
Google Translation

Date of experience: November 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: October 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2018
Google Translation

Date of experience: September 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews