We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (383)
Filter reviews
383 results
Traveller rating
212
128
26
8
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
212
128
26
8
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pillow gallery massage chair lake shikotsu breakfast and dinner private onsen sashimi main dish presidential suite tatami area western dishes outdoor jacuzzi chitose airport the bus buffet spread choose your own during the check in process high class
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 383 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018

This is the third time we have been to here. The last two visits were great! But this one was ...... unexpectedly not good!

The room is great and luxurious with private onsen, well reflected by the price! A lady who serves at the restaurants. Very strange, we can see her at different restaurants. We see her in the mornings and evenings. The reason why we remember her is her extremely 'bad' face. When you call for her service, she will play deaf. And after several calls, she says she is serving other people and would then give us a stern face and do nothing.

We come here to relax, rest and enjoy. It is not fair to us when we both have to pay (a lot actually) and be treated badly, although we cannot expect that everyone is nice and the same welcoming.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Web W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
寛 小, 支配人 at Lake Shikotsu Tsuruga Resort Spa Mizu no Uta, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018
Google Translation

Web W様

今回も当館にご宿泊賜りありがとうございます。
しかしながら全ての面でご満足をご提供できずに申し訳ありません。今一度ホテル業としてのサービスを見直し、お客様にお喜びいただける宿つくりに励んでまいりたいと思っております。
北海道へお越しの際は、

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

Visited this lake on a winter morning. It was a magnificent and a serene place for any age groups. Just be aware to walk slowly and carefully during the winter. I saw many women and children falling down in the steps and hurting their back due to the slippery surface. Watch the steps and hold onto something and be careful. There's another route to view the lake with a minimal walk and no stairs. View the map before you start walking especially during the winter. There are a lot of shops and vending machines near the lake. Grab a cup of coffee and take a walk along the path.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Ivy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
橋本純一, 支配人 at Lake Shikotsu Tsuruga Resort Spa Mizu no Uta, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thanks for staying with us and taking the time to give us your feedback.
We heared the fact that you enjoyed Lake Shikotsu well in winter,we also very happy.
Nature of Hokkaido and Shikotsu can enjoy various landscapes and transitions of nature every season,so please come again where there is a chance.
We hope you will come back to see us again soon.

Lake Shikotsu Tsuruga Resort Spa Mizu no uta.
Manager,Junichi Hashimoto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018 via mobile

We loved it and it was a very different experience. All hotels should be this thoughtful and quiet. We had our kids with us but it would also make an extremely romantic getaway. We had the onsen in our room (outdoors in the snow) and it was lovely. We went to the main onsen as well and I preferred the outdoor bath. It was about -10 at the time.

The only quibble for us was the time constraints on getting a spa treatment or massage and we weren’t there long enough. This was made up for by the pillow selection lady who was so fastidious it was an experience in itself.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank BusinessTravel001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
橋本純一, 支配人 at Lake Shikotsu Tsuruga Resort Spa Mizu no Uta, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Thanks for staying with us and taking the time to give us your feedback.
We appreciate that we heard you had good time and enjoyed having a in-room private hot spring with your family.
However we apologize that you had feel uncomfortable by our pillow staff when you had a spa service.
We will certainly discuss your comments and we strive to re-educate our staff and aim to improve services in the future as soon as possible.
We hope you will come back to see us again soon.

Lake Shikotsu Tsuruga Resort Spa Mizu no uta.
Manager,Junichi Hashimoto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018

We love the design of the hotels, great style and not too big- about 50-60 rooms. Our rooms were large, mint clean and very comfortable, lots of attention to the details which makes for a nice, comfortable stay. Wifi works well. The in-room hot spring onsen was great, we don't know how temperature control works though, the sign was written all in Japanese. The main onsen was also very nice. Service was superb, we felt very welcomed by the staffs. The buffet dinner and breakfast were exceptional, large varieties and quality food with prompt service. You don't want to miss them if you are there. We love that they provide beautiful music at the lobby after dinner (the day we were there the harpist played.) The lake was also very beautiful, you have to walk down some stairs to the local road that runs along the lake area. There are some little shops and Japanese food stalls near the tourist centre. The hotel itself has a patisserie which seems to be famous,

It is quite far from town, about 40 min from the airport. The hotel provides shuttle bus services but you have to book seats in advance. For those who don't speak Japanese, try email as not everyone who answers the phone would be fluent in English.

In all, a very relaxing and pleasant stay at this spa hotel, $$$ well spent indeed!

Stayed: June 2017
Thank ChiaraJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
橋本純一, 支配人 at Lake Shikotsu Tsuruga Resort Spa Mizu no Uta, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Thank you for your possitve comments.We love it when our guests say that they would absolutely stay again.Great recommendations for others.
We will continue to provide good services so that all our guest can relax more and more.
We apologize that inconvenience for you about our Engish communication.We are always reviewing it and looking for ways to improve and will continue to do so.
It was good to hear that you enjoyed the Hotel and we hope that you enjoyed Hokkaido and your Japan experience and will one day return to see us again.

Lake Shikotsu Tsuruga Resort Spa Mizu no uta.
Manager,Junichi Hashimoto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2018 via mobile

It is a such relaxing place to end our 12 days Hokkaido Trip! We booked the hotel through Orbitz. Through Orbitz message hotel, we arranged our free pickup from Sapporo and dropped off Chitose airport next Day. So easy! Hotel requires everyone to take shoes off before entering lobby and walk inside with only socks on. We are perfect fine with this. The dining room is in another building connected by corridor which is short but very cold to walk through in winter. Food is very good quality both dinner and breakfast! Our room is very spacious and has a message chair which I enjoyed. Indoor and outdoor Onsen is great! When we boarded bus to the airport, staffs line up and bowed to us, it is so touching!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Fei L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
橋本純一, 支配人 at Lake Shikotsu Tsuruga Resort Spa Mizu no Uta, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2018

Thank you so much for visiting our hotel.
We are very happy to that you have enjoyed your stay.
We will continue to provide services that you can be relaxing,and aim to make more better hotel.
We are looking forward to seeing you at our hotel next time.

Lake Shikotsu Tsuruga Resort Spa Mizu no uta.
Manager,Junich Hashimoto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews