We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveller rating
55
25
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
55
25
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family bath visiting japan japanese style multi course special experience old town historical town pricey place an amazing place to stay picturesque canal two nights train station sashimi beef courses banquet antiques
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 84 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2018

My only regret is that we didn't stay longer. We toured Japan for three weeks, and this was one of our last stops. It was unquestionably the finest lodging experience we had on our trip. The gourmet multi course dinner was exquisite and served beautifully. The suites were spacious and comfortable, and the spa was one of the only we encountered on our trip, where you could book a private co-ed experience. The ryokan is located in the older section of town, which houses a fabulous art museum housing works from the great impressionist masters, boutiques that offer interesting and fashionable merchandise in an atmosphere quite different from the hustle and bustle of big cities in Japan. If you have the time and a Japan rail pass, I highly recommend you make this stop if only to experience the luxury of the ryokan.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jefe1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018

We stayed recently for a night. All booking arrangements were handled efficiently by the owner Ritsuko Makamura. The ryokan which has 8 rooms is located in the historic quarter on a canal. Our room was traditional and beautifully furnished. All staff provided excellent, friendly service. We had a most fantastic, elegant and tasty dinner in our room. It was 'vegetarian' heaven!! For breakfast we had 'western' in the restaurant. Ritsuko made a special visit to meet us, much appreciated. We highly recommend you stay at Ryokan Kurashiki.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Doyoulikeourname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018 via mobile

I enjoyed our stay in this traditional and well-located inn. Lovely room, spotless, well-appointed bathroom and friendly service- they even paid for our taxi back to the train station. I enjoyed the “family” bath (though I noticed some mildew on some tiles); walking past the open front entrance en route seemed awkward however. The dinner was good and beautifully presented, though I would have been fine just having it only one of two nights we stayed. (And though staff asked us what drinks we wanted with dinner, they forget the drinks.

Overall a memorable and happy experience.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Wendelfarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018

Beautiful place offering exquisite hospitality, excellent food, and impeccable service. An inn like no other. Stay a while. We had a beautiful suite furnished in lovely Japanese style, and a multiple course banquet in which the courses told a story about the guests. Located along a canal in the Edo section of town, may interesting walks and sites are bearby.

Room tip: Our room was the bestm slightly removed from the others, across a tiny courtyard.
Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Dbhmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2018

Agree with all the previous good reviews re service , food etc. This is a pricey place to stay in Kurashiki , but you have the privilege to have the whole canal to yourself in the early morning and late afternoon when all the day-trippers are gone . In the day time, the canal area is just like any busy shopping mall , bustling with people and their selfies. But , when the tourists are gone, one can really experience the magical atmosphere of an ancient old Japanese village-town. We were lucky this time to be able to witness sakura in full-bloom along the canal. A magical experience , indeed .

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rcllaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews