We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Interesting Experience, Helpful Staff”
Review of Sosuke

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sosuke
Ranked #7 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Takayama
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Food, Interesting Experience, Helpful Staff”
Reviewed 6 July 2012

This was the first Minshuku we stayed in but having stayed in a Royokan a few days before we knew what to expect. This is a lovely old building tastefully rennovated. If you feel the need to sit on chairs there are some near a traditional fire place. The dining room is arranged so you can sit on the edge of a small recess under the tables, so it's like sitting on a chair, which is much more comfortable for western visitors. Food is very good. The Owners and Staff are polite, helpful and speak a reasonable amount of English.
A 5 minute walk from the station and easy to find. On our return to the station it was raining and without being asked the owner of the hotel offered to take us free of charge back to the station.
If you are staying in Takayama and want a taste of traditional Japanese accomodation I recommend this Inn.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    40
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
15
33
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

After reading positive reviews from TA and travel guides, i was looking forward to my very first Minshuku experience. However, the Japanese hospitality i so adored was marred by my very short 1 night stay at Sosuke. First off, clear walking directions were not given and it didn't help that the information centre outside the train station had a sulky face manning the counter.

Upon arrival at Sosuke, the warm reception that we were expecting didn't happen. Communications were kept to the bare minimum and we were left on our own, even while dining in their hall that evening. While the 9-course dinner was not bad at all, the owners seemed to have retreated into their private space, once the dishes were laid on the table. No complaints about the facilities, like the common bathroom and traditional bath, as they were very clean.

When we checked out the next morning, hoping to leave our luggage at the reception for a few hours, we were told that it was a holiday and that they were going to close at 10am. This piece of new information needed us to debate a little and to change our plans quickly. And so, we declined the owner's initial offer of sending us to the train station to leave our luggage at the lockers and instead, to bring forward our departure time, since it was a rainy day anyway. When we updated her that we will instead visit the morning market and return to collect our luggage before 10am, she appeared to be confused and if i may speculate, a little unhappy. This was inferred by her mutterings in Japanese (and i happen to understand a smattering). So off we went to the market, wondering why she reacted in that manner. We arrived back just before 10am and to our surprise, the lights and counter were shut and our bags were left right at the doorstep. I have never felt so unwelcome to the point of being shooed off before. That last incident took the cake and needless to say, i won't be back.

Takayama is a lovely town, a pity about its people.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pancakesSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

At Minshuku Susoke Guest House you’ll receive a warm welcome from the friendly owners. A Minshuku is a traditional Japanese inn – a bit down from a Ryokan – where guest accommodation is both living and bed room. This one is 170 years old (but it has been renovated since!). It’s “shoes off” in these inns and they are exchanged for slippers that steadfastly refused to stay on. The floor of our room was covered with tatami mats so no footwear, even slippers, is allowed on them. One wall of the room has 2 large cupboards containing robes, topcoats, belts and bedding. Futons of sheeted mattress and eider down are brought out by the guest at sleep time and put away in the morning. A third cupboard has minimal hanging space while below it, at floor level, was an incongruous TV set! The only furniture in the room was a low table and floor cushions to sit round it. En suite doesn’t apply here. There are 2 bathrooms (separately communal for men and women) where you can shower and soak in warm water, separate toilets, wash basin areas and 2 showers. Here I record that there are no hooks or hangers in the toilets, bathrooms or showers. You realise how useful these objects are when you can't put things anywhere other than on the floor. If you can cope with sleeping on the floor then it’s comfortable enough - but it was warm under the eiderdown and I was fairly stiff in the morning (I’ll put it down to my age!!).
The food was very good indeed. No choice Dinner is served to all residents at a set time of 6.30 prompt! Ours consisted of cold dishes like sashimi and various pickles and sauces. With them came the hot items - Miso soup, foil wrapped parcels of hot salmon and chicken cooked in their juices, soba noodles, rice, fried tofu and a covered dish on a burner cooking Hida beef and mushrooms. The quality was excellent but the meals have to be consumed fairly quickly because it all comes to the table together and a degree of speed eating is required to get through the hot dishes before they cool. Breakfast can be Western or Japanese and we chose the former - thick toast with butter, jam, tea and coffee. A boiled egg on the first morning was easy but next day we moved up a notch - try eating a fried egg with a butter knife and a teaspoon! You sit almost at ground level, at a low table with a foot-well under it. The logistics of getting in and out are interesting!
Despite wondering whether my back would stand up to a life crawling about the floor, I wouldn’t have missed the Minshuku experience for the world and recommend that you try it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jclimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

This guesthouse has a good location in the city, approx 15 minutes from the center. Our room was quite small but clean, toilet in the corridor and common bath on ground floor. The common bath was really good. Japanese dinner and breakfast was served at low tables with place for your legs below, very comfortable and a change from sitting on the floor.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trallalao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I stayed here during the spring matsuri 2012. You have to book early during the festival, and the place was full. It's excellent value for money, especially considering that the price includes breakfast and dinner. The location is convenient for the station, which is within easy walking distance (under 10 mins), and the centre of Takayama is about a quarter of an hour by foot. The room was clean if a little on the small side (4.5 tatami). There is a good-size communal bath and individual shower cubicles, which do get busy when the minshuku is full. Hot water is available from reception, where internet access is also provided; there is no wifi or kettle in the room. The dinners were an absolute feast, and the place itself is very friendly and welcoming. A large proportion of the guests were foreign, and staff will explain what you are eating, provide tips on sightseeing, etc.

Room Tip: A couple might find the 4.5 tatami rooms a little cramped: opt for one of the larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmv77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Takayama hotels
Takayama Station
Takayama Ouan
Takayama Ouan
#8 of 174 in Takayama
749 reviews
Takayama Station
Spa Hotel Alpina Hidatakayama
Hidatakayama Onsen
Hotel Associa Takayama Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chogoro
#56 of 96 in Takayama
6 reviews
Hidatakayama Onsen
Oyado Koto no Yume
Oyado Koto no Yume
#3 of 174 in Takayama
480 reviews
Sumiyoshi Ryokan
#1 of 174 in Takayama
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sosuke? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sosuke

Property: Sosuke
Address: 1-64 Okamotocho, Takayama 506-0054, Gifu Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Gifu Prefecture > Takayama
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Takayama
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,913 - ₹ 8,723
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sosuke 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Sosuke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sosuke Hotel Takayama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing