We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Morning market along Miyagawa River”

Hida-Takayama Miyagawa Morning Market
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
US$ 70.00*
and up
Private Cherry Blossom Event: Shopping, Cooking Lesson and Eating
Ranked #9 of 154 things to do in Takayama
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Morning market along Miyagawa River”
Reviewed 27 May 2012

This market mostly sell preserved vegetable, spices for noodle, Japanese souvenirs & snacks. Take light breakfast and come here to try sample food, Hida beef skewer is a must to try, price around 450 yen. This market end about noon.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Wai Fun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    219
    137
    23
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
132 reviews
119 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“lively morning market beside the river”
Reviewed 14 May 2012

lots of stalls selling local souvenirs like the sarubobo while on the right hand side are souvenirs shops as well, some snack stalls in the middle selling dangos, hida beef etc makes a great walk in the morning

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank meiyih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“local selection!”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

it's a nice morning walk to the morning market which is next to the river. continue to explore to the old private houses which is within the vicinity. Worth waking up in the morning for it.
better bargains for handy crafts and local fruits.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rakugosan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
275 reviews
146 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
“Friendly storeholders, interesting gifts for sale”
Reviewed 9 November 2011

The morning markets were really delightful to see. I especially wanted to purchase the famous sarubobo dolls as gifts for friends at home as well as for my own daughters. I purchased quite a few red ones that seem to be traditional, but you can also find different colours that have different meanings. These different colours and their meanings are explained in English in most of the shops around. The stall owner that we purchased the dolls from spoke very little English herself, but that did not stop our commumication. After our purchase, my young daughter decided she wanted another one but a different colour. We chose the colour and I went to pay the stall owner who indicated that this was a gift from her due to our large purchase previously, we were so grateful and my daughter was very happy. The market area also sold locally grown fruit and vegetables. Browse throught these markets and check out the local produce and handicrafts, but remember come midday and they are gone. It really is a morning market!!!

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Just-Julie-Cairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Little Kyoto”
Reviewed 2 September 2011

A recommended Japan Experience, who loves Market, HIstoric Ambience, Japanese Food. Hida Beef is a must unless you are Vegetarian/non-beef eater. One of the best beef in Japan, though not as well known as Kobe-beef outside Japan. There are plenty of historic places, a Castle.

Visited October 2010
Helpful?
Thank PradiptaTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hida-Takayama Miyagawa Morning Market also viewed

 
Takayama, Gifu Prefecture
Takayama, Gifu Prefecture
 

Been to Hida-Takayama Miyagawa Morning Market? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing