We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
K's House Takayama(Takayama)(Great Value!)
US$ 68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Okuhida Yakushi No Yu Honjin(Takayama)(Great Value!)
US$ 158
US$ 124
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$ 151
US$ 136
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
US$ 163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Minshuku Kuwataniya(Takayama)(Great Value!)
US$ 200
US$ 188
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 57
US$ 53
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Ryokan 
Ryokan Tanabe(Takayama)
US$ 230
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
US$ 328
US$ 213
Rakuten Travel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 49% below average rates

The price you found is 49% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 417/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ryokan 
Kakurean Hidaji(Takayama)
Free cancellation until 22/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 538
US$ 498
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (435)
Filter reviews
435 results
Traveller rating
55
221
131
14
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
55
221
131
14
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily martbudget hotelgreat locationthe busjr stationeconomy twinmorning buffetconvenience store downstairsold townconvenient spotsmall bedstrategic locationwalking distancehotel lobby ishigher floorcentral heatingnon smoking room
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 435 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2017

There are reviews suggesting we should avoid this place but it wasn't that bad. Our room on the 10th floor was clean and spacious. There was no option for non-smoking when I booked but it had been changed to a non-smoking room when we checked in. Breakfast room was a bit small and loud but food was good. The location couldn't be better as we travelled by train.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank luckybeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

I chose this hotel because of its convenient location opposite the Nohi Bus Centre. We saw the hotel once our bus from Nagoya turned into the bus centre. Same bus centre to take bus to Shiragawago etc.

There is a 24 hours convenience store just next to the hotel. As expected, the room was small but clean except the pillows were exceptionally small and soft so did not sleep that well. Reception staff speak good English and you can also get the Takayama walking map from the reception at level two.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank VickyYL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2017

Right in front of JR station and Nohi Bus Station, very convenience if you have luggage. The room is quite small, but clean, so nothing to complain.
The staff is very friendly to give you a quick guide about where to eat and where to go. The road in Takayama is very simple, won't get lost.
If you are looking for a place to stay one night, Country Hotel Takayama is a good choice.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PennieLiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017

While the location was perfect for us with a 24 hour market on the ground level, the twin room we had was terrible. We expected the small size room, but the moldy smell and the filthy, grimy carpet was unbearable. The wall by the foot of the beds were marked with scratches perhaps by previous visitors trying to squeeze their luggages into whatever space they could find. It is the worst place we had stayed in in Japan.

Room Tip: Some visitors' pictures did show room with rugs that looked different from ours.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 2Theresa55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017

One major advantage of Country Hotel Takayama is its very strategic location. It's just right in front of the the Nohi Bus Station and JR Takayama Station, which could connect you to Hirayu Onsen, Shirakawago, Kanazawa, Osaka, Nagoya, and many more. There's even a Family Mart below the hotel, which is a great help especially since most shops around the area close at around 6 PM. It's a 10-minute walk to the old street (Sanmachi). About the room, we booked for the smoking double rooms since there were no more 'no smoking' rooms available. The room is smaller compared to the standard hotel rooms - which we kind of expected after reading reviews about the hotel. The beddings and pillows though are not that fluffy, a bit harder than the usual. Also, there's no conditioner inside the bathroom. As for the complimentary water, you should fill up an evaluation form inside your room first before you receive them. The staff speak good English and they help you generously. We had their breakfast once and it was good considering that it's only 890 yen. As a traveler going for budget hotels, I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Luwalhati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews