We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (149)
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveller rating
33
72
32
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
72
32
8
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 149 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2014

Clean and quiet hotel, room (epsecially bathroom) still a bit small compared to many European hotels, but still OK.
Room was clean, staff was friendly and speaks more or less english (sufficient to get most of my questions answered).
Good breakfast buffet, Japanese as well as a bit western stile (bread, jam) food.
You should visit the public bath and the restaurant/beer garden, great view over city/river.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Zaphod B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

This was one of the best hotels we stayed at in Japan. Very practical. Clean (getting a bit old and would be even better with some renovation). Has everything you need in a modern hotel like internet connection for free, PC in the lobby that you can use. A relaxing japanese bath on the top floor of the new building with a view of the city. And really... a very very nice breakfast. Japanese and western breakfast buffé. It's really great. And the breakfast room is also cozy. Not a gigantic room. It's small and the staff are really helpful and friendly. Price is good for what they offer. Not far from the station. Would recommend a taxi with luggage though. If you are with a backpack, you can walk but it's maybe a 20 minute walk or more depending on how fast you walk. They introduced us also a really delicious Japanese "soba" restaurant nearby. Traditional and tasty soba. We love soba so this was really a treat. I will definitely stay there again if we are going to Fukui.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahfeurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

First off, the staff was very, very nice. Very professional. But, I was so disappointed in this hotel. The carpet was absolutely filthy, from the lobby to our room. Our room smelled terrible....like the carpet was just giving off a bad odor. Definitely unpleasant. The towels (which had a posting nearby asking people not to take them) we beyond thin and useless. Don't worry...we left them there for the next unfortunate traveler. So glad I only had to endure one night here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2010

Very nice sento bath at top.

Very good breakfast buffet. My wife always wished she could eat her whole day's menu there.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madmagician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2010

..and enjoy the lovely Riverge Akebono. So nice to be able to open the window(slightly). Very clean and comfortable, pleasant staff. Excellent buffet breakfast with many selections. Quiet. Towels a bit thin, my only insignifigant complaint.

Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank putnam205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews