We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views of the cherry blossoms, rooftop public bath, beautifully appointed, contemporary, executive single room.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Riverge Akebono
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels / Ryokan in Fukui
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2014 via mobile

The Hotel Riverge Akebono is a gem. It was built in the mid 1990s; however, it has been well maintained and some rooms have been completely updated.
Sitting by the river in Fukui, in cherry blossom season, hotel rooms with views of the river have spectacular scenery.
My room was an "executive single" and beautifully appointed in contemporary decor with an emphasis on browns and soft textured beige, featuring some of Fukui's stunning papers.
The breakfast buffet, for which you pay extra, is a feast for the senses. Local pickles, everything freshly cooked or baked. Try the awesome array of pickles and the little freshly baked rice rolls. Yum!
For all the above reason I am giving the Riverge Akebono four stars.
A short drive from the station, or a 15 minute walk.
Enjoy.

  • Stayed: November 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jktoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2014

Clean and quiet hotel, room (epsecially bathroom) still a bit small compared to many European hotels, but still OK.
Room was clean, staff was friendly and speaks more or less english (sufficient to get most of my questions answered).
Good breakfast buffet, Japanese as well as a bit western stile (bread, jam) food.
You should visit the public bath and the restaurant/beer garden, great view over city/river.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Zaphod B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

This was one of the best hotels we stayed at in Japan. Very practical. Clean (getting a bit old and would be even better with some renovation). Has everything you need in a modern hotel like internet connection for free, PC in the lobby that you can use. A relaxing japanese bath on the top floor of the new building with a view of the city. And really... a very very nice breakfast. Japanese and western breakfast buffé. It's really great. And the breakfast room is also cozy. Not a gigantic room. It's small and the staff are really helpful and friendly. Price is good for what they offer. Not far from the station. Would recommend a taxi with luggage though. If you are with a backpack, you can walk but it's maybe a 20 minute walk or more depending on how fast you walk. They introduced us also a really delicious Japanese "soba" restaurant nearby. Traditional and tasty soba. We love soba so this was really a treat. I will definitely stay there again if we are going to Fukui.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heyla20120702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

First off, the staff was very, very nice. Very professional. But, I was so disappointed in this hotel. The carpet was absolutely filthy, from the lobby to our room. Our room smelled terrible....like the carpet was just giving off a bad odor. Definitely unpleasant. The towels (which had a posting nearby asking people not to take them) we beyond thin and useless. Don't worry...we left them there for the next unfortunate traveler. So glad I only had to endure one night here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2010

Very nice sento bath at top.

Very good breakfast buffet. My wife always wished she could eat her whole day's menu there.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madmagician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fukui hotels
Fukui Station
Hotel Fujita Fukui
Hotel Fujita Fukui
#2 of 53 in Fukui
224 reviews
Fukui Station
Yours Hotel Fukui
Yours Hotel Fukui
#4 of 53 in Fukui
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fukui Phoenix Hotel
#3 of 53 in Fukui
64 reviews
Fukui Station
Hotel Econo Fukui Ekimae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riverge Akebono? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riverge Akebono

Address: 3-10-12 Chuo, Fukui 910-0006, Fukui Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Chubu > Fukui Prefecture > Fukui > Fukui Station
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels / Ryokan in Fukui
Price Range: ₹ 3,503 - ₹ 9,147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riverge Akebono 3.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Resort hotel that over-looks the cherry trees of the Asuwa River. Enjoy the panoramic views of Fukui City from the spa on the roof. Rooms are reformed in 2014. You can enjoy your stay with our room, breakfast and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Riverge Akebono reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverge Akebono Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing