We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveller rating
11
13
6
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
11
13
6
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews vumba mountains delicious food place to stay stunning views zimbabwe
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 34 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2014

Were in Mutare for a swimming gala. A real treat to come back to the hotel after a hectic day at the pool. Relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Good food and service. First time we had been to Inn on the Vumba and will be back next year for sure.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doorbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnsofZimbabwe, Owner at Inn on the Vumba, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2014

Thank you for the lovely review of your recent stay with us at our country retreat , Inn on the Vumba . We so appreciate your support and look forward to your return this time next year if not before .
Kindest regards ,

Gordon Addams
Inns of Zimbabwe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2014

We were staying in the Vumba and had booked for luncheon here with my cousin and his wife, her Aunt and my other Cousins wife - sadly a widow. This place is absolutely charming. This is the classic '' old English'' hotel, full of charm character great people all through the Hotel from the doorman to the waiters. The food we had for our lunch was plentiful, beautifully cooked and delicious - one could not fault it all. I had a wander around the Hotel and there are lots of interesting features - whilst I did not venture into the rooms one would assume they are of the same vintage/ class as the main Hotel. For a walk back in time great views and delicious food, excellent old fashioned class service from top to bottom you will not be disappointed- like other places around Zimbabwe you need to accept the potholes, power cuts and totally needless Police road blocks every 20/30 kms !! Mike Moore

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank michaelmoore458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnsofZimbabwe, Owner at Inn on the Vumba, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2014

Thank you for the lovely review of our country retreat , Inn on the Vumba . We appreciate your support and value your contribution as it certainly encourages our staff to maintain if not improve service especially in these difficult times and pray that in good time , tourism will resume in numbers and enjoy the Eastern Highlands - the Bvumba and Nyanga when holidaying or on business here in Zimbabwe .

Kindest regards ,
Gordon Addams
Inns of Zimbabwe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We spent a night at the Inn on the Vumba after a busy day in Mutare. We had not stayed there for ten years. The welcome at reception was warm and geniune and the check in formalities limited - similar to arriving at your club perhaps. The lounge is as attractive as ever and spotless and our room the same. There are now TVs in the rooms, but with limited channels available. There is also wifi availability, at no extra cost, but it is understandbly quite slow. The same old bathrooms (would love the addition of a shower) but all comfortable and well appointed.We enjoyed a lovely table d'hote meal in the dining room, by candlelight. The factor that makes a difference at the Inn is the staff who cannot possibly to more to assist one and are so pleasant. A comfortable nights' sleep and a generous packed breakfast (requested the previous evening) delivered with the early morning tray of tea.
To top it all, even at that early hour of the morning, our filthy vehicle had been meticulously washed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CapeTownLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnsofZimbabwe, Owner at Inn on the Vumba, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Thank you for the lovely critique on our country retreat , Inn on the Vumba . It is always so rewarding to read such from an appreciative guest as we strive to maintain and even improve standards of our Inn(s) to encourage tourism to the Eastern Highlands and Zimbabwe , as a whole .
Here's wishing you a prosperous 2014 and so look forward to your return in the near future .
Kindest regards ,
Gordon
Inns of Zimbabwe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Stayed here on business, the rooms are very old fashioned like you would have experienced in the 80's.
Once we had checked in and gone into the lounge for dinner, when we came back someone had gone into our room and turned the bed covers over and left a chocolate. I felt this was strange as no-one should go into your room except to clean it.
The food was OK nothing special, the staff were attentive but a little overbearing in seeing if you wanted another drink all the time, don't think they get a lot of custom
WI FI is poor in the reception area and non existent in the bedrooms
Didn't except Credit cards so be forewarned. Not a cheap hotel $145.00 dollars including dinner and breakfast.
Best thing about this place was the pack up for breakfast
Will not use again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bumbleweed_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnsofZimbabwe, Owner at Inn on the Vumba, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Thank you for your recent review of our country retreat , Inn on the Vumba . We appreciate valid criticism of our Inns in our quest to maintain and improve standards .
Our ' turndown ' procedure is standard throughout our Inns as we would like guests to have their rooms checked and comfortable for your night ahead - being a tradition and complimentary to our commitment to personal service .
We have just had our WIFI upgraded and is now available in all rooms .
Credit cards - is a national issue as the service is reliant on the internet of the banks which at times is erratic .
Thank you again for your support ,
Kind regards ,

Gordon Addams
Inns of Zimbabwe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

A charming retreat in the Vumba mountains with fabulous views on clear sunny days. I guess that nothing has been changed at this place for years bygone and that is what makes the place special. It takes you down memory lane and helps you experience a Zimbabwe from probably half a century earlier. If any attempt at modernization is made, it will certainly spoil the charm of this unique hotel. Ideal for relaxation and a very sociable bar where drinks are reasonably priced. The only recommendation to the hotel would be to install showers in the bathrooms or alternatively to take away signs displayed asking guests to avoid wasting water. Plus improvements need to be made in cleanliness of the rooms. My bath was not cleaned on any of the four days I stayed there and the carpets in the rooms could do with a vacuum cleaner as against the conventional broom that is used. I also recommend that you have your own vehicle if you stay at this place though the owners/managers were kind enough to offer me a ride to wherever I wanted to go. Internet is intermittent so not ideal for work and mobile network coverage depends on which provider you are on. If I remember, econet does not work.

Room Tip: most rooms have the washbasin in the bedroom and carpeting on the bathroom floor. If you want to avoid this, ask to stay in either room 10 or 11.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sahsameer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnsofZimbabwe, Owner at Inn on the Vumba, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Thank you for your interesting and constructive review of our country retreat , Inn on the Vumba . We appreciate your comments in our quest to maintain and improve standards of the Inn .
Kind regards ,

Gordon Addams
Inns of Zimbabwe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews