We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great base for seeing Hoi An.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thien Thanh Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Thien Thanh Boutique Hotel
Ranked #83 of 140 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Athens,Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great base for seeing Hoi An.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

My wife and I stayed in Hoi An two years ago and are looking at going back. Thien Thanh was our home for a week. This is not luxury. However, for the price, it is amazing. the room was clean and very large. The views out the back were spectacular. The food, especially breakfast, was a highlight of our day. We were able to walk anywhere we wanted to go in town and a couple of dollars got us a cab to the beach. Give it a try and your will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Even though there are stairs, get one upstairs for better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    176
    77
    43
    42
See reviews for
89
356
49
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

this was a really lovely hotel with fantastic staff. We had a street room, and although at first we would have prefered a rear room looking over the rice paddys, we still were not disappointed because the street life of ordinary locals was cool to see. The pool was ice cold, but very refreshing after long hot days. The rear deck area is wonderful to start the day and breakfast on. Before staying here i was worried it might be a bit too far out of the old town but this wasn't the case. We would stay here again anytime
the rooms were very clean and spacious. we stayed in rm 306
the hotel orginised some great tours for us. also we went just 100m to the right of the hotel to a local tour company Minh Giang Travel and they were just lovely too

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chula Vista, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We arrived in Da Nang from Saigon, and what a relief! Fresh air, low humidity, and no constantly honking horns. Our shuttle driver was very courteous, and drove in a very un-Vietnamese manner (no speeding, honking, or passing), though that could just be due to the lower volume of traffic. When we arrived at the hotel, we were so pleased, we couldn't stop grinning. Such a cute little boutique hotel, away from the center of town, but close enough to walk. Adorable lobby - Our son was beside himself when he saw the fish pond and the pool on the first floor. The staff was very welcoming, and check-in was easy. The only problem was that there is no elevator and our room was on the 3rd floor. Apparently the bellman was on a break, so we muscled our luggage up the stairs ourselves rather than wait. It wasn't really an issue, but be aware if you have any problems with stairs, or have a large suitcase.
Our room was much smaller than I expected (it was supposed to be a "suite" after all), with two full/queen size beds, but the generous bathroom and gorgeous view from the balcony made up for it. There were lots of great little decor touches in the room and throughout the hotel. Placing luggage and belongings for 3 people took a little maneuvering, but we worked it out. Again, the serenity of the balcony, with the birds in the trees, the water buffalo grazing in the fields of rau muong (water spinach), and the total lack of traffic noise made up for the tight quarters . I asked about the "suite", wondering if perhaps we had been given the wrong room, but apparently all the rooms on the back of the hotel with balconies overlooking the fields are Suites.
Breakfast on the deck was heavenly, with made-to-order eggs and banana pancakes (yum!), assorted fruits (passion fruit!) and pastries, and of course wonderful cafe sua da. It was a lovely way to start each day.
Couple issues to note: 1) Don't mess with any power cords. Though the hotel is only 10 years old, perhaps the wiring isn't the best. I tried to turn off the side lamp using the toggle switch on the (rather frayed looking) cord because the main switch wasn't working, and the electrical outlet zapped with a loud pop, spark and puff of smoke. Luckily, no harm done, except for the 10 years my husband aged because he thought I electrocuted myself. We reported it to the front desk in the morning and the cord was replaced by the time we returned in the afternoon. 2) The night staff sleeps in the lobby and they close the gate at 11:00pm. So if you plan to stay out late, know that you'll need to be let in by a sleepy desk clerk. 3) On our last day, the lady in charge of breakfast asked us if we'd like to order soup - so of course we requested pho. The soup was tasty, though not exactly the pho we are used to - after 3 or 4 bites, our son said "I think I'm allergic to something in the soup." His lip was swelling before our eyes! My husband then noticed there were peanuts (!) in the soup. Luckily his allergic reaction is slight (itchy throat, swollen lips), and after a dose of benedryl he was fine, but we told the staff about the dangers of peanut allergies (my husband speaks fluent Vietnamese), and the fact that no Westerner would ever think there would be peanuts in pho. Needless to say, she was extremely apologetic, and again, no real harm done. 4) No credit cards accepted, so don't spend all your cash on your custom-made suit.
Of course, the bed was not the most comfortable (the norm in Vietnam), but overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, walked to town every day, rented bicycles next door for $1 and rode down to the beach. This is the one hotel (of the 5 we stayed in) we would absolutely return to again.

Room Tip: Book a suite - the balcony makes the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Asante T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maisons Alfort
Level Contributor
99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

I have been to Hoi An several times, and now I always go to this hotel.

Ii is small but very comfortable, with very nicely furnished rooms with small balconies overlooking a pond (for most rooms, do ask for one or you will regret)..

They have a (small) swimming pool, and a restaurant on a deck (pond-side).

The place is very calm, a little away from the old city (15 minutes to the river). You can use a bike if you want.

Like all hotels, they can pick you at the airport or bus station, at the regular price.

Be careful : they only take cash (but there is an ATM nearby).

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jlbrillet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Great staff, great service and cozy little boutique hotel away from the downtown noise (while not too far away). they have a beautiful pool and a nice patio where they serve a great breakfast. Small room but well decorated and clean. Staff is so nice and attentive. Would go back anytime.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.2 km away
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
#45 of 140 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
0.1 km away
Thien Nga Hotel
Thien Nga Hotel
#100 of 140 in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.4 km away
Thanh Van Hotel
Thanh Van Hotel
#61 of 140 in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hoi An Lilac Hotel
Hoi An Lilac Hotel
#105 of 140 in Hoi An
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
1.3 km away
Ha An Hotel
Ha An Hotel
#36 of 140 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
1.4 km away
Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thien Thanh Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thien Thanh Boutique Hotel

Property: Thien Thanh Boutique Hotel
Address: 16 Ba Trieu Street | Hoi An Town, Hoi An, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#29 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,030 - ₹ 2,815
Hotel Class:3 star — Thien Thanh Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Thien Thanh Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thien Thanh Hoi An
Hotel Thien Thanh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing