We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa
Ranked #79 of 144 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We stayed for 2 nights and enjoyed the facilities very much. It is a bit from the centre of Hoi An but the resort runs a regular and efficient shuttle bus into town and to a private beach (which is part of your rate). The pool is indeed much larger than the photos. Breakfast is superb and the rooms are spacious and immaculate. It is a bit more expensive than other hotels in Hoi An but it is a great way to chill out and recharge your batteries if you have visited bustling Saigon and Hanoi.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

732 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    286
    78
    17
    4
See reviews for
138
348
33
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley Vale, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our 4 night stay in a suite set up for a family of 4. So much room for all of us. The gardens were amazing and the pool area delightful. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed the touches such as fresh fruit in our room and the lovely welcome on arrival. Breakfast was OK, the staff were great helping the children negotiate the stairs up to the eating area with their food. Be aware there are lots of stairs to negotiate if access is difficult for you. For us the walkways and stairs added to the charm.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyrrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Ancient House on our honeymoon. This is a very pretty and pleasant resort but it seems the rooms are very badly maintained and we experienced far too many issues here to make it a pleasant stay

On arrival mid afternoon, our room was not ready and we had to wait about half an hour before we were given the key. Reception also took our passports off us for over an hour which seemed to be the norm but was a worry to us, especially as we didn't need to do this in any other hotel in Vietnam. We got them back ok but this did seem strange.

The resort itself is very pretty, with the rooms set around a large central garden and pool area. The first room we had was on the first floor at the top of some stairs near the pool. The room was very pleasant, however there were ants in the bathroom. We contacted reception on our way out and on return, these seemed to have been sorted. Our first night was not great however as the location of the room was very noisy from people running up and down the stairs and talking outside the door until late at night. The air conditioning did not work very well as one of the windows didn't close and the door had a massive gap at the top. The first morning, we woke up with ants all over us as they had obviously not been sorted out and had found their way into the bed. On leaving the room for breakfast we also couldn't lock the door as the lock had jammed. As we had an early start to go on a tour, this meant one of us had to miss breakfast to wait for a maintenance person to repair the door. This was the final straw so we complained to the receptionist who didn't really seem to be that bothered. Thankfully the tour guide from our travel company was on hand to sort this out and managed to get us an upgrade to the "honeymoon suite" on the top floor; if this hadn't been sorted then we would have moved to another hotel. This room was better, however it was not without its faults; the power didn't work when we got into the room, then the toilet blocked, then the safe kept running out of battery and wouldn't open. We basically spent a lot of our stay calling maintenance people and waiting for them to sort things out rather than enjoy the pool area/ town which was very annoying. I suspect we were very unlucky but this was very very frustrating, especially as we never complain in hotels but seemed to find ourselves spending a lot of time raising issues at this place.

On the last but one day we got some laundry done at the hotel for ease which came back with marks all over it. By this time we were fed up with contacting reception so we couldn't be bothered to complain.

We have to commend the maintenance and cleaning staff for being excellent as they were all very responsive and helpful, however the reception staff did not seem bothered and had a very sour attitude.

The place has great potential but needs to be managed and maintained better with more attention paid to guests and customer service. Its an ok place to stay as long as expectations are not too high.

Room Tip: Try and avoid a room on an access staircase or near the pool as these can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DLLR7880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Dear DLLR7880,


Warm greetings from Hoi An Ancient House Resort!

Thank you very much for your stay with us as well as your comments on Tripadvisor.On behalf of the Management , I would like express my deepest sorry for any problem caused you during your stay with us and record all things you mentioned .Your comment is very good for us to improve our service immediately especially the attention to details and customer service.
I do hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you back to our Resort with better service.
With my best wishes to you and your family.
Cam On,

Huynh Nhut/Mr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights, and really enjoyed the beautiful gardens and pool (bigger than it looks in the photos). The architecture was delightful and we had a huge room with two double beds, and a balcony where we could look out over the surrounding countryside and distant hills - we didn't mind climbing the many steps to get the privacy and view! The actual 'ancient house' for which the resort was named is at the back of the hotel, and you can watch the family making rice pancakes (between 5 and 7am) and see the results drying on racks during the day. If you want to walk or cycle to town, go through the back of the hotel garden (past the ancient house) on to a quieter street (alongside a stream) than the busy road at the front, it is a nice 20 minute walk to the old town.

The food was nice but expensive, as you would expect for hotel food. The only downside was the computers in the lobby; only two of them and one wasn't functioning for a couple of days during our stay - you could rent laptops for your room and wifi was free. We didn't use any of their advertised tours, as these were much cheaper in town. Similarly with the laundry; there was a perfectly adequate service right next door!

A lovely place to stay and great breakfast included.

Room Tip: If you don't mind climbing steps, choose a room higher up for privacy, views and outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Petadonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petitpoulot, General Manager at Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Dear Petadonz,

Warm greetings from Ancient House resort & Spa!

Thank you for your time reviewing our resort.I am very happy to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We have taken note of your comment about public computer and it is now working in perfect condition.
We wish to welcome you back to Ancient Ancient House Resort with a perfect service.

Very kind regards,

Huynh Nhut/Mr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We stayed in this hotel mid February 2012 and absolutely loved it. We were touring the country so only stayed for 2 nights, but this was one of the nicest places I have stayed. The room is beautifully decorated - clean, white, and with a lovely 4 poster bed with mozzy net (which came in handy). The bathroom was amazing, and the air con was amazingly cold, a welcome relief from the insane heat.
The hotel is fairly new and they asked us to complete a survey so they could improve etc. The staff were great and the pool was nice and clean. The spa looked very good value but we didn't use it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petitpoulot, General Manager at Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Dear Georgia R,

Warm greetings from Ancient House Resort & Spa!

Thank you very much for your beautiful words in your positive review. I am happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the near future at our Resort.

With warm wishes from Ancient House Resort ' Management & Staff !

Huynh Nhut/Mr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.2 km away
Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa
0.4 km away
Belle Maison Hadana Hoi An Resort & Spa
2.2 km away
Muca Hoi An Boutique Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
0.5 km away
Hoi An Garden Palace
Hoi An Garden Palace
#38 of 144 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.3 km away
Lasenta Boutique Hotel Hoian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa

Property: Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa
Address: 377 Cua Dai Road, Hoi An 51000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#20 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#28 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#34 Luxury Hotel in Hoi An
#49 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,583 - ₹ 43,144
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Given the bustle and stress of our modern lifestyles, a break in the countryside can often help us to feel relaxed and restored. We often yearn for things ancient, simple and rustic because these are deeply rooted in our very soul. This is what we aim to offer you at Ancient House Resort - a period of calm, peace and tranquility, in a simple, rustic, but very unique and original setting. Viet Nam is becoming increasingly popular with tourists, and Hoi An Ancient Town is one of the top 'must see' destinations in the country. We developed our resort here in Hoi An to serve a need, and now we are here to serve you. We hope that the contents of this booklet will be useful to you and enhance your stay. Our resort has a total area of more than 6,600 square metres, which includes a luxuriant tropical garden of more than 5,000 square metres. We have 52 rooms, each between 32 - 38 square metres in size, and all the luxury facilities that you would expect to find in a hotel of international standard. Thank you for choosing Ancient House Resort as your haven of peace during your visit to bustling Hoi An. We hope you enjoy your time in both, and that you will leave with very happy and unforgettable memories ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Fastbooking and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ancient House Hotel Hoi An
Ancient Hotel Hoi An
Ancient Resort Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing