We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (413)
Filter reviews
413 results
Traveller rating
182
171
36
16
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
182
171
36
16
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews breakfast room old town one night flower filled nice room street noise fountain internet ferry patio
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 413 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2017

Enjoyed our stay here. Our room (18) was comfortable and clean with a nice bathroom. Friendly staff and great location. Breakfast wasn't great and coffee horrible but we survived. Would recommend for a short stay.

Room Tip: 18 was out of the way down back steps. Very nice.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CarolAstonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2016 via mobile

Booked this Posada instead of our usual, Posada del Virrey and regret it fully. The Posada is perfectly located and has the potential to be the best, but poor upkeep and a terrible breakfast makes it a true disappointment:

1) the rooms are small and worn: carpets are dirty, doors and locks hardly work, the bathroom had mold growing in various places, the sink was leaking everywhere, the shower curtain was missing most of its rings and in general if you do not keep the AC on/windows open, there's a musty moldy smell.

2) the breakfast was a joke! Something so simple was a total failure. Coffee undrinkable, the orange juice fake, the pastries dry, the fruit days old, the yoghurt horrendous.

3) we had booked on hotels.com - where we always book and had never had a problem. But this time this Posada charged us 'their' prices, i.e. more expensive stating that these sites (hotels.com, Expedia.com etc.) only give estimate prices!!!! (What's the point of using these websites if they charge whatever they want at checkout?). The receptionist doing the checkout was unable to handle the situation and become quite rude. He called the manager and she tried to explain to us the same, we have our fixed prices etc., in the end we couldn't be bothered and left paying their full price. Even though the different wasn't huge, it was the principle that counted.

Some positive aspects:

4) The rooms and place was kept clean and housekeeping did a good job. The linen and towels really nice and good quality.

5) They had a crib at no extra charge and a baby chair at breakfast.

6) Check-in was smooth and painless and we were able to change the room from one on the ground floor to another one on the second floor - more light and privacy.

All in all, I will not be in a hurry to return. So disappointed seeing places like this with such potential run down and then finally the final price issue. You can do much better in Colonia!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Taina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed just for one night and arrived late. Reception was friendly and the room was clean and comfortable with a nice view of the river. It was a bit quirky and does require a little updating but overall a pleasant stay. Breakfast was good.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank 940AnnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

We were here one night enroute from Buenos Aires to Montevideo. We had a great room off an internal courtyard with a delightful 'La Fuente' (the fountain) which provided a backdrop of splashing water. The courtyard is covered in grape vines which provided a delightful place to just sit and read. WIFI in the garden was great. Our room had a king size bed, TV and video, small refrigerator with drinks and the usual accoutrements. The tiles floor was smooth underfoot. Bathroom was excellent.

The hotel is well positioned right off the main square in the old town. The staff are pleasant and most helpful.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JH1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2016

I will state upfront that my partner did not have problems sleeping but he can sleep through an earthquake. If you are like this don't bother reading this review.

We got the "Matrimonial Suite" and it was facing the street. I did not sleep. All night long people walked by and I could literally hear them burp. It was as if they were in our room. The noise goes on pretty much all night on the weekend.

Other than that the hotel was fine. The mattress wasn't great but the room was clean and large and attractively decorated with antiques and a charming bed net. Breakfast was OK. Service was OK.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews