We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Museum of Bukovinian Jewish History
Save
Review Highlights
Fascinating insight and testament

This small, actually bijou museum is on the first floor of a public building, but it is easy to... read more

Reviewed 22 August 2018
Gordon P
,
Brussels, Belgium
Must visit

Museum of Bukovinian Jewish History is must visit for all tourist since you get the know the story... read more

Reviewed 16 September 2016
yossinir123
,
Tel Aviv, Israel
Read all 18 reviews
  
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveller rating
10
6
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
6
2
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 18 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2016

Museum of Bukovinian Jewish History is must visit for all tourist since you get the know the story of the Jewish people and community that was living in this area.

Date of experience: July 2016
1  Thank yossinir123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016

The story seems to repeat itself. A great Jewish community who contributed substantially to the development of Chernivtsi in its heydays was totally annihilated during WW2. The small museum gives a fascinating lesson in that history from the mid-18th century till WW2. It is compact and effectively arranged, You can see and hear everything in many languages in about 30 minutes.

Date of experience: September 2016
2  Thank 70ava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2016

This place is great for understanding the history of the region and the role of the Jewish population. The lady at the entrance did not know English, but was very helpful, especially when we wanted to use the devices with headphones that tell the story of the museum. Some of them did not work and we felt a bit bad she had to struggle so much to find good ones for us.
The history I listened to was very interesting and I'm glad I got to hear it. I also bought some lovely postcards with Jewish art, as well as a map of the Jewish cemetery. I suggest you do the same if you want to see it, as it will help a lot.

Date of experience: June 2016
2  Thank marabujor6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2015

Small but very interesting museum. Large collection of photographs describing the history of the Jews of Bukovina. The building was originally a Jewish center, but only a small part used for museum. Worth spending an hour or so. Have excellent recordings and wonderful web site.

Date of experience: April 2015
1  Thank Wolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2015

In important place to visit to get acquainted with the local history. If you have the chance to get some introduction, the few exposits gain life. This house is far from was it was in the past (the Jewish cultural center), but a start. Good place to buy literature.

Date of experience: August 2014
Thank JohannesH85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews