We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Break babysitting elderly family member”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Blue Lagoon Hotel Marmaris
Ranked #165 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Reviewed 31 May 2017

We had specifically asked for a room on the ground floor due to mother-in-law and her ability to climb lots of stairs. We were given a room overlooking the front of the hotel which although was noisy at times was not the fault of the hotel as this came from the residential buildings around us. Room itself was ok, towels changed regularly (just dumped them on the floor every couple of days). The shower was good although it did seem that we had a better shower than others in the hotel as we always had hot sometimes scalding water, downside was that the door did not close properly and water tended to creep over the floor of the bathroom which was a bit of a slip hazard for mother in law but overcame this by dumping the standing mat just under the door to catch the overspill. Sheets changed regularly and beds made everyday. Beds were also comfortable and clean.
Location is good, on the local dolmus route and the hospital just a short walk away (with an elderly relative this had to be considered!) and a couple of chemists down the road too.
We stayed all inclusive which covers Turkish food with a nod to European palate, essentially if you dont like vegetables Turkey is not for you. Meat can be expensive as can fish therefore budget hotels which cater for the all inclusive guests are on a tight budget themselves. Personally I could always find something to eat. Breakfast was Turkish, there was a cereal bar but cereal in Turkey is not up to much and there was yoghurt. Plenty of jam, honey and spreads available.
Main meals were edible and although not as tasty as some meals I have had in Turkey was certainly not bland. There was always choice.
The bar choice is limited and Turkish wine is not the best in the world so has to be 'modified' with a drop of lemonade to make it drinkable but when one considers that this is a Muslim country and the taxes on alcohol have gone through the roof in recent years you are not going to get a good bottle of French or Chilean red. Vodka and gin were fine.
Overall the stay was good, staff were all good although there were times when the bar staff seemed to have disappeared off the face of the planet! English is spoken by most of the face to face staff and they are all happy to try and help. Mother in law loved that they all rushed to help her whenever she appeared!
Having stayed here some 5 or 6 years ago I would have no problem returning again,it is a reasonably priced hotel providing a good holiday. Staff helpful, food acceptable and the hotel clean and in a good location for town or the beach.
Thank you Blue Lagoon :-)

Room Tip: Dont keep quiet if you have an issue, ask the staff and they will help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pauline082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (367)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 367 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2017

My Partner and i arrived expecting a 3* Hotel. Luckily we had only booked for one week. We arrived and taken to our room, i thought it was a bad sign when the receptionist said 'i hope the room has been cleaned'?.. as we entered.
We went in and our first words as the door closed were 'Oh my God'..
We were stood in a room that couldnt be more basic, the funishings were very worn and dated and look liked they hadn't been changed since the 1960s. There were no tea/coffee making facilities, the bed was very thin and basic with just a blanket, no sheets.. the pillows (one each) were small and grubby.. We both could have cried tbh.. I didnt actually want to get into the bed, although i did reluctantly but slept in my clothes.. During our stay we had to ask for clean towels and a sheet for the bed of which they could only supply a single one..You get one basic toilet roll, the cheapest ones.. we had to keep asking for a roll and they lost the extra key to our room so didnt clean it and didnt bother to tell us until we went to them asking about clean towels and sheets after 2 days!! absolutely shocking. they never wanted to clean our rooms. Although we were all inclusive we chose to eat and drink elsewhere although the chef did manage to make an effort with my partners wishes for a vegetarian dish which she actually enjoyed a couple of. As for the rest of the food. the breakfast was exactly the same every day.. Hard boiled eggs, spicey ham, and one cereal very basic with natural yoghurt, the cereal was very poor. Not even a Toaster. The showers are disgusting and take an age to run hot water. If you do have a drink at the bar, it is very basic, the wine is extremely bad, and if you want a beer they serve it in a glass so small its about the size of a 1/4 pt glass.. During our time here the pool was not used once by anyone at the Hotel, very small and uninspiring.. We dont normally add a review but we felt we should write one this time to let families know what to expect.. This is far from a 3* Hotel... we wouldnt rate it at all.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 weeks on a all inclusive basis late September early October. The reviews were not great and prior to our arrival it was concerning. The guys on reception were very friendly and helpful sorry I can't remember names. Our room was nice and clean but dated, we had 2 single beds with ample pillows and blankets, the beds were made everyday and changed every other day along with towels.
We had a small balcony with a table and 2 chairs which looked onto the street.
The downside of the pool area was that we didn't get any sun until after lunch and the pool was very cold. The area was kept clean and tidy and lots of sunbeds available.
We were all inclusive and the drinks were served in small tumblers but this didn't matter as you could keep going back. Only local wine, vodka, gin and lager were available alcohol wise. The food was very basic and we discovered after the 2nd day what to have and what to avoid like the plague! We ate out for most of the second week as it was safer to do so.
Air conditioning was an extra £30 per week.
Wifi was only available in the reception and bar area.
The beach was a 10 minute walk as were the shops. A supermarket was less than 5 minutes away.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Katehen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

Great hotel. Lovely staff extremely helpful and a delight to talk with.nothing was too much to ask for and staff very polite.and accentive.hope to return very soon or in the near future..worth checking out if your thinking of going to Turkey.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Worst holiday of my life!!

Not child friendly at all!

I had strange men from the street coming in and picking my children up and taking pictures with them!!

we had a waterfall in our room coming from a nice hole in the roof.

same food just another day.

Cleaner had sticky fingers to, quite a few things went missing.

Kids park was used as a cat litter box.

They had a few treadmills in the basement.

Ohh and the kids pool was more like a puddle.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarah080191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
0.4 km away
Apart Green Park
Apart Green Park
#26 of 234 in Marmaris
395 reviews
2.3 km away
Ideal Prime Beach
Ideal Prime Beach
#16 of 234 in Marmaris
2,802 reviews
1.2 km away
Blue Bay Platinum Hotel
Blue Bay Platinum Hotel
#20 of 234 in Marmaris
2,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
D-Resort Grand Azur
D-Resort Grand Azur
#14 of 234 in Marmaris
1,351 reviews
0.9 km away
Club Aida
Club Aida
#2 of 234 in Marmaris
1,527 reviews
1.4 km away
Green Nature Diamond Hotel
Green Nature Diamond Hotel
#24 of 234 in Marmaris
1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Lagoon Hotel Marmaris? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Lagoon Hotel Marmaris

Address: 1. Inonu cad. 141.sok No:15, Marmaris 48700, Turkey (Formerly Blue Lagoon Apart Hotel)
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Price Range: ₹ 1,102 - ₹ 5,055 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Lagoon Hotel Marmaris 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Blue Lagoon Hotel Marmaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing