We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (226)
Filter reviews
226 results
Traveller rating
111
55
29
12
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
111
55
29
12
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews calis beach next year pool table and table tennis table pool area water taxi great holiday cleaned daily beginning of september air con decent hotel moved rooms other hotels bars and restaurants lovely little hotel family run bar staff the ground floor
Filter
Updating list...
179 - 184 of 226 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2009

Absolutely Brilliant Holiday. The Golden moon hotel was great and i would definately return. The rooms, unfortunately we got the attic room, which all in all wasnt that bad the only downside was no balcony which made it hard to fry clothes and towels and also meant we had to stay out quite late at night. The room came with air con (which was £5 for the week) The room was decent enough as is all you really did was sleep and change in there! The water always warm in the shower/bath. The sheets and towels were changed every day which was good.
The staff, were excellent they couldnt do enough for you. Mustaffa was great always there to help and tell you the best places to go. Oscar the bar man great laugh made sure we had plenty to drink. Hamza the waiter well hes crazy haha, they all speak really good english and were a top laugh at the same time made sure that everyone was ok. Thank you to oscar for chasing up our airport transfer when it didnt arrive, and thank you for waving us off. Evin (i think this is how you spell her name) didnt speak as much english as the others so could some times come across quite rude, she was great with the kids. Mete the owner we didnt really have much contact with him but spoke to him on a few occasions, spoke good english and very friendly and polite.
The food at the hotel was fabulous we only ate there twice and it was great especially the chicken soup you must try the bbq nights and the chicken on the spit.
The hotel is in a great location 2 minutes away from the beach. The beach is shingle, and as you enter the water it is a little slippy it might be a good idea to wear some water shoes especially for the kids. After the slippy bit its back to shingle where most adults can stand. The water was very warm but very salty.
The resort wasnt loud or noisy but wasnt very quiet its a great location with some good bars and resaurants. A restaurant that i would reccomend is the chinease, its big and red and i think its called the orient but not quite sure but was excellent. Thers lots to do in the resort and there is a bus or boat which will take you to fethiye for a few lyra (the boat it better its cooler). There are some great shops in fethiye but you should definately go to the market before you buy in the shops. The chalis beach market is on a sunday and sells everyhing from fresh fruit to clothes its great for bargains.
Whilst on holiday we tried the tirkish bath and massage which was great, however do it at the beginning of the holiday as it exfoliates the skin and makes you loose your tan if you do it at the end of. We also tried the quad biking i hated every minue of it however my boyfriend loved it.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steffi-lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2009

Our stay as usual was excellent, the staff as always very attentive and happy, they couldn't do enough for you, thank you to Mete a nicer person who did us proud even getting him out of his bed at 5 in the morning with a phone call from Dalaman (apologies for that one Mete) Mustafa who is a brilliant organiser and in general an all round nice guy, Hamsa for the breakfasts and lunches and a run round the pool with the dog and disability scooter, Oscar for his attention at the bar and taking the michael out of my brother and finally Ender for all his lovely music played on his Saz . And finally, big chef and little chef who we couldn't exist without, especially the menemen (I love it) Not forgetting the cleaners who cleaned the rooms on a daily basis and who you don't always bump into, thank you all once again, see you all in September all being well.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdinburghGrumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2009

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for 1 wk (w/c 20th July).

This is a lovely hotel, with very friendly and courteous staff and a nice atmosphere. Unfortunately though there are little things which let it down. If it was one little thing it could be overlooked but we felt quite disappointed on our 1st night....

* Towels are hard and crispy - not very comforting on sunburnt skin!! On our last day we paid an extra £10 for the room until midnight as we had a night flight, but the maids didn’t provide towels, meaning we had to request towels to shower with
*Sheets - were very harsh, so requested a plain sheet which was much more comfy but only just covered the pair of us!
* Air con (although it is free which is uncommon and a bonus!) - switched off during the night so you couldnt sleep right through without waking up feeling sweaty and having to switch it bk on. It was locked on 20 degree setting and being above the bed blew away from you so took a while to feel it.
* Breakfast - I know a Turkish breakfast can be basic but I have stayed in other hotels and found the offerings at Golden Moon disappointing. There was bread and jams but the toaster was broken so couldn't toast it until the last day, the fruit was warm and had dried out and flies were on the food. The yoghurt was warm and lumpy, the milk was also warm.
However, on the last day the chef made omelettes to order which was a nice change!
* Cleaning - the bath was not cleaned throughout the stay. I admit, at home I would not clean the bath daily. BUT, if it needed it I would. And it did need it!! There was a film around the bath from salt from the sea, the residue of the mud baths etc which was left all wk. The sheets weren't changed either, and considering how hot it was if they'd been changed once this would have been nice! The room wasnt hoovered either. If this was my 1st stay in Turkey I might have believed this was the norm, but I have stayed in Turkey several times, and no this is not the case elsewhere.
* Shower - if you chose to shower at the same time as other guests the water pressure was limited, and occasionally nothing came out the tap at all. The temperature fluctuated a lot too, went from warm to boiling hot for no reason; not very safe for kids...
* Hot water??? - we arrived at 3am after a sweaty transfer from Dalaman wanting a quick shower before bed... no such luck as there was no hot water, so couldnt even wash our hands and feel cleaner... When you feel weary from being awake for so long and travelling so far with expectations of a fab holiday to come this really puts a dampener on it when you are forced to get into a clean bed feeling clammy and smelly!!
* Balcony – the view from the balcony we had was of wasteland and wheelie bins. Below was the kitchen/staff area, and discarded buckets of cooking oil where everywhere. It stunk of cat pee, although what created this smell I have no idea!!
* Nowhere to keep water etc cool - other hotels I have stayed in have had a minibar or a fridge. The Golden Moon apparently has 2 available if you request these, unfortunately this isn't sufficient to supply all the guests present at peak season.

There was a power cut one night when we were staying for the hotel's BBQ night, rather than venturing out to the other restaurants in Calis. It happened early evening so prevented people from showering after a day next to the pool and we were in our rooms in darkness with no air con. However we went downstairs to enjoy a drink at the bar and await the return of the electric. They continued with the BBQ despite the electric still not coming bk by candle light meaning rather suspect pink meat was served as the chef couldnt see well enough to have known for sure if the meat was cooked through...
The 30 or so guests sat with candles to have their meal which wasn't particularly unpleasant but it became an issue when you wanted to use the toilet or get drinks etc as you had to take the candle with you to work your way around the pool area in the dark. The staff stayed cool though, and were still helpful and friendly as ever, but the length of time it took to get the bbq food to the guests meant that we wasted a lot of our evening waiting for food. We came bk around midnight to find the power had been restored and Mustafa escorted us to our rooms to kindly ensure that the a/con was working ok. It came to light that other guests returning to their rooms before us had been told to not use their a/con and consequently spent a very hot and uncomfortable night.

The next morning Mete made effort to go to each guest in the dining area apologising for the issues the night before which I thought was a nice gesture. I don't believe it was on purpose but he didn't speak to me... I thought a discount or free drink would have been a nice gesture to give the guests who were inconvenienced ...

On the plus side, Mustafa, Oscar and Hamza were fantastic, and very helpful. Mustafa made a point of waiting for our transfer home with us, and saw us off with a hug and good wishes. He helped us with any queries we had like where to get the dolmus, excursions, exchanging currency etc etc, and very kindly allocated us the same room to stay in until our transfer collected us. Hamza made effort to learn our names and was always very sweet and chirpy! There is a girl Evin or something like that(!) who works there and gets on well with the kids which is nice, but she speaks limited/no English so doesn’t know where the line is and can be a bit much throwing ice cold water over you, telling you to stop reading and swim! etc

I found Calis a pleasant place to stay, and the locals were as friendly as the staff in the hotel. The walk bk to the hotel although only short is very dark, and a bit smelly!!
There were lots of nice places to eat and it was very easy to visit Olu Deniz, hisarnou and Fetiye by Dolmus. It only cost 1.50TL each to Fethiye! We enjoyed the mudbaths and the 12island tour. A visit to the Lagoon in Olu Deniz is a must too!

If I was to return I would stay in Olu Deniz, but it is much more expensive there, and much harder to get a late deal, as its booked up so far in advance.

I’d like to make a point of saying that this is not meant as a negative review of the hotel but I wanted it to be honest and hopefully the comments will encourage the little changes that are needed to be made…. We enjoyed our stay, but the little things made it less enjoyable and are so easily sorted that it is a shame they have not already been addressed! It’s a lovely little friendly family run hotel and if there was only 1 or 2 little things it’d be ok. But when you arrive at 3am to 1 non English speaking person, can’t have a shower or get clean, and the bed is uncomfy it is very disappointing!!

To be honest, by the time we left we felt inclined to overlook the little issues as overall it was ok, but this wouldnt help any of you would it!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sacha_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2009

We booked this holiday the day before & searched Tripadvisor as we were booking last min.
As there were mixed reviews from prior to Summer of this year, we hoped the most recent ones were correct.
We arrived at 04:00am, on the 6th July & met by one of the staff who carried our bags upstairs, it was very quiet at the time & we were v.tired so were not sure what to expect.
We had a corner room on the 2nd floor (less able bodied/with children/buggies note there are no lifts we saw whilst there - so get a ground/1st floor) & it was lovely , just as we had seen in photos on the hotel website.
- clean, carpeted, large, with balcony, good size wardrobe, safe in wardrobe, FREE Air Con, chest of drawers, chair (which turns into a single bed for kids) above lit dressing table & TV (tho. as on hol - did not use it, but it did work albeit with 2 channels - we're used to Sky+!!) and a 'phone.

Bathroom was one of the best I have seen in any hotel rated less than 4*.
Provided is 1600w hairdryer, shaver point, soap& shower gel (in wall dispensers). There is a BATH (which I have not had even in a 4* hotel last year) and shower attached. Nicely decorated with pale blue/aqua marble effect tiles.
Towels and bath mat changed every second day unless you require more.
The room/bathroom was cleaned/beds made/changed daily from approx 10am.
An ironing room is on the first floor - key from reception, & a small bookcase of books in case you want a read is also in reception - along with holiday company info, flight times etc. Internet is available on request from Reception too.
We were booked on B&B basis. Breakfast was from 8 - 10am, in interior dining room, & was choices of cereal, fruit, cold meats, boiled eggs, jam, bread, olives, salad, yoghurt & even an omlette if you asked. +Tea, coffee. The meals we bought at the hotel - various snacks by pool, & a couple of dinners was superb. Often early eve, straight in from beach we had snacks via room service & they also set us up a lovely table on the pool balcony & other dining area is in covered area in the gardens with a large screen TV available where you can choose from a choice of DVD's if required.
Pool was lovely, clean, with depth from 1-3m - 1.7m clearly marked, non slip mats all around pool area, and is surrounded by plants and flowers, was nice as you could smell jasmine in areas. There is a small kids pool of 40cm deep, and when no kids around was nice to sit in to cool off! .....plenty of sunbeds with pads - no charge for sunbeds. Pool bar is well stocked.
All the staff (Muhamed/Mete, Oscar, and Hamza) are extremely friendly & helpful.

We were less than 5min walk to Calis Beach/shops/bars, and although there was a bar close to the hotel, you could not hear it as you walked back to the hotel.
Resort has a fine shingle beach which we were fine with, some caution at some of the shore edges are there are 'plates' of thin rock approx a foot across which could be a bit sharp, but NOT in all areas, but they can be seen as you stand on the waters edge, so just walk over/around them. This DID NOT detract from us enjoying the beach. Sunbeds are approx £5.00 for two per day. There is a lovely breeze on the beach - helpful as over 40 degrees nearly every day!
Good selection of restaurants, shops (though no large supermarket that we saw) bars etc.
Recommend just out of main resort walk approx 300m - across from Bombay corner is 'Mehtap' - good, Turkish food where the local Turks eat - so you know it's good, fantastic kebabs, also the restaurant as you cross the bridge to the left on the corner ate there several times. If you want a chilled out drink, we became friends with Hamsi of HAMSI's Bar, along the left of the beachfront. - if you go - say Nick & Lisa said hello!
If you want something more lively, there is 'B52's', or just around the corner from there a basement club - sorry can't rem the name.
You can get a watertaxi to Fethiye, which is a harbour/marina resort, or the local Dolmus is cheap & frequent. We also got that to Olu Deniz for the day - but to be honest we left after few hours as not all its cracked up to be - LARGE Stones under the water, on beach, and water is very cold there. Glad we were not staying there to be honest.
All in all - we had a fantastic 10 days at the Golden Moon & Calis Beach & were very, very sorry to go home.
Hope to return late summer/Oct & Muhamed/Mete has already offered us a good deal as we mentioned it to him before we left.

Book a corner room if you can as slightly bigger then a standard room & we found it helpful to bring a travel kettle as no tea/coffee facilities are in rooms. There is no fridge either - which would be helpful for the aftersun/toiletries/make-up/water!!
If you get the chance - DO stay at the Golden Moon, we were not disappoined in ANY way.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisnic_Lang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2009

this is our 2nd visit to the golden moon and really love it,
all the staff are very friendly from the minute we arrived, and are at your every need
love hamza he such great character,
cleaners and chef is excellent to, would recommend meals at the hotel.
swimming nice size, kids love it,
just a small walk to beach and shops/bars
look forward to next year all ready
we booked for 7 nights but would go longer
only thing we hate was coming home.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews