We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A great find!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dervish Cave House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dervish Cave House
Ranked #28 of 63 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A great find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

The staff at this hotel go out of their way to help make your stay enjoyable. Prior to arriving I was able to arrange airport pick up and a day tour for the very next morning so that I had nothing to worry about upon arrival. I ended up booking a hot air balloon ride for the next morning at last minute and that was not a problem either.

The rooms are clean and cozy. The jacuzzi in the bathroom is a nice touch too. The location is really close to downtown

Would I come back? Yes. Will I recommend to friends? Yes.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank littlemisstravel1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    124
    22
    9
    5
See reviews for
103
192
32
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

The Dervish Cave House is a great option in Goreme. It is in the midst of the beautiful sights in Cappadoccia with spacious, beautiful rooms. In fact, the bathroom was the largest and most modern we encountered on our trip. The service was impeccable and the staff was super helpful. There is a lovely courtyard area to sit in the evenings and the eat breakfast in the morning overlooking the rocky landscape.

This is an excellent choice and very very fair prices!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

We arrived on Valentine's Day and I was pleasantly surprised to find that my husband had spoken with the staff to have something special done for the room. There were rose petals scattered on the floor, a bottle of wine, lit candles, and chocolates! They really went above and beyond to make our stay special! The room was amazing - we've never stayed anywhere like it. We took a recommended tour through the hotel with Nomad Tours, which we highly recommend (we took the red tour and it was a perfect combination of activities and very cheap!) The room was a bit cold at night, but it was still more than worth it. Looking around at other hotels, I think we truly found the best one in the area and would not have chosen anywhere else!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed here for 3N during a trip in December. It had snowed 2 days earlier and the complete town was white washed. It was great fun to stay at Goreme and this hotel was a good choice we made after reading the reviews on TA.
The only downside to the entire experience was that the Heating is a bit on the lower side. I am sure that it is expensive to keep the heating system active at all times, but when you come back to the room, you really wish that the heating was stronger. Having said that, everything else was right on track
Our pickup from Nevesehir was on time and efficient and we were dropped right outside the hotel. The checkin was quick and our Cave room (no 8) was just was we had imagined it. The bed is comfortable and the bathroom area is also spacious. The breakfast spread was the same everyday, but we weren't complaining.
The town square is around a 5 minute walk away, but uphill on your way back. You can pick up refreshments, water, from stores in the town square. There are also 3 ATM machines located near the Otogar (Bus station). The hotel fixed us up with Nomad Tours for 2 day trips and we really liked the services of Nomad as well. They also helped us arrange for a transfer back to the airport. They provide free wi fi, but the coverage inside the cave rooms is slightly weak. You will have to step outside into the common terrace area for a stronger signal
We would highly recommend the Dervish Cave Hotel as the experience of staying in a cave room surrounded by snow is definitely once in a lifetime

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KetanMohile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

Loved the room. We had a deluxe double room and it was very comfortable and very private. The staff were excellent and very helpful, especially the guy who brought breakfast in the morning (I forgot his name). Also when we arrived in the morning after a 12 hour bus ride, they allowed us to have breakfast even though we haven't checked in yet, which was a nice gesture.

Some criticism though. We stayed there for 5 nights yet they did not change the sheets or the towels once, which we found very disappointing. We did leave the keys for the room to be "cleaned" by I honestly don't know what they did, as nothing was touched, not even the key/coffee was filled. But this does not detract much from our stay which we thoroughly enjoyed

Room Tip: Room 1 was excellent :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.4 km away
Harman Cave Hotel
Harman Cave Hotel
#16 of 63 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.1 km away
Village Cave House Hotel
0.2 km away
Star Cave Hotel
Star Cave Hotel
#22 of 63 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Maccan Cave Hotel
Maccan Cave Hotel
#19 of 63 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.1 km away
Panoramic Cave Hotel
Panoramic Cave Hotel
#46 of 63 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.1 km away
Lalezar Cave Hotel
Lalezar Cave Hotel
#60 of 63 in Goreme
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dervish Cave House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dervish Cave House

Property: Dervish Cave House
Address: Gafeli mah no :6, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Goreme
#25 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,610 - ₹ 3,915
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dervish Cave House offers enchanting and elegant accommodation in restored 8 old Cappadocian house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Dervish Cave House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dervish Cave House Hotel Goreme
Dervish Cave Hotel
Dervish Cave House Cappadocia/Goreme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing