We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“we loved it and we will most defiantly be back didnt want to go home!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Alp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Alp
Ranked #75 of 147 Hotels in Kusadasi
county londonderry
2 reviews
“we loved it and we will most defiantly be back didnt want to go home!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

me and my boyfriend stayed in this hotel on the 23rd of July for two weeks, we were meant to be staying in the tur inn (turd hotel) but we got moved here and the staff are crazy they love making sure their customers are happy. the entertainment at night is provided by Denis who works in the hotel and he always ensure you are having a excellent time. and for the pictures people have put up of their room they aint even that bad our room was cleaned everyday and that's what u want its a 2-3 star hotel what do you expect!!! also all staff were very nice and so was the owner of the hotel :):)

Room Tip: room are good :) air condition, tv, balcony, phone what more do you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michelleloves2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    24
    11
    13
    19
See reviews for
13
48
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

book in on the 27th of july at around 10 - 30pm moved out early morning on the 28th.
the bathroom had all cracked tiles, the toilet when flushed water came up by the shower.
the shower curtin was very dirty. in the bed room there were electric wires hanging from the wall. when I pluged in the T.V. there were sparks from the scoket and I got an electric shock. the carpet on the floor was old and dirty. this room was so bad that I did not even use the shower, I thought that i would be cleaner if I did not use that shower.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martin0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kusadasi hotels

Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

I'm afraid I agree with much of what steveinmatlock (19 July 2011) has to say about Hotel Alp. I think the hotel maybe was actually 3 stars at one point (you can see 3 stars on the brass plaque outside, at top of steps), but that was before they lost their outside pool, etc. I think it has run down quite a bit since then.

The lack of English-speaking night staff manifested itself as a problem when 3 Irish girls, 18 years old, probably on their first holiday unaccompanied by their parents, turned up.
These girls were a nightmare: they played very loud music at 4 am from their balcony, shouted and swore at anyone who asked them to turn it down, vandalised the hotel with magic markers, and deliberately emptied crisps on the lift floor. I heard the manager, on their last day, threatening to call the police if they didn't behave. I wish he had, just to teach them a lesson. In any case, I think the management did pretty much everything they could to contain the situation, but they were hampered because the night staff speak limited English, so it was difficult for guests to explain what the problem was.

One more negative, before I move on to the positive points:
The rooms and corridors were floored in a horrible green carpet. I reckon they could lift the image and experience of the place instantly by replacing it with a clean tiled floor. Crappy polyester carpet is the last thing you want underfoot in 35-42 degrees heat. It doesn't feel or look clean, even if it is.

Positives:
Staff are very helpful and positive and do as much as they can to oblige. Admittedly, this is difficult if they don't speak English, but there are always English-speaking staff close at hand (during the day, at least). Staff work very hard and put in long shifts,

Deniz is a bit creepy with the ladies, but I think he is trying to be charming, in the same way that Italian men will kiss a women's hand, etc. He does speak at least 5 languages quite well, though, so he can move around all the guests, answering queries and helping out.
Isa, the manager, is very good. He originally trained as a History teacher, so is a mine of information about Turkey and its culture, traditions, etc.

The hotel’s (rather small) pool is on the rooftop, from where you can enjoy stunning views out to sea and of the town. It is also a good vantage point to watch the impressive cruise ships berthing and leaving port. The very best use of the rooftop, though, is to watch the sunset. (Oh, and you can sunbathe and dip in the pool there, too.)

The town is stuffed with any number of fairly good restaurants. One which is a definite cut above though, is Captain’s Place (NOT Captain’s Table, which you will pass on the way). Go to the bottom of the (admittedly steep) hill from the hotel until the main road, which runs along the waterfront. Turn left and walk about 15 minutes (depending how hot it is – you may walk more quickly or slowly!) and it is on your left. The food is absolutely exquisite. Although you will pay about 15% more than the standard, touristy restaurants you passed on the way, I promise you it is worth it. Enjoy good views of the harbour and of the sunset.

Still on the positive, Kuşadası is an excellent location from which to explore nearby Ephesus, only 20 minutes away by dolmuş (local bus) (this is why 2 - 4 big cruise ships dock each day in Kuşadası harbour).
Selçuk is just a few minutes further down the road, and is a fascinating town, stuffed full of history and architecture.

Finishing on a cautionary note:
Beware the market and local shops. Although the traders seem to like a bit of banter and haggling, if you don't offer them enough they are quick to turn aggressive, even potentially violent. We've travelled in Morocco, Tunisia and elsewhere in Turkey and have never come across shop keepers and traders as angry as at Kuşadası.

My top tip is to explain to them that you are not a rich tourist from one of the massive cruise ships in the harbour, but a poor holiday maker staying in Hotel Alp. That seems to help them understand where you are coming from!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Filosofo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

booked the alp in one of thomas cooks high street shops, it was sold to us has 3 star, when we arrived the rep joe swift showed me his paperwork the next day and its rated zero. all the english guests had been sold the holiday has 3 star or 2 star plus weather they booked it in a high street shop or on the internet, your paperwork, tickets etc that arrive a few weeks before departure date do not show any star rating so they only telling you in the shops its 3 star, this is disgraceful of thomas cook and iam taking this up in my compliant along with three other compliants i know of from guests in just this one week alone, so how long has this been going on for thomas cook? i dont know how thomas cook come to have this hotel on there books. so beware people!
the hotel is so bad there can only be three reasons i can think of how it could get a good review and that either you have a very low standard living at home, thomas cook putting in there own reviews here on tripadviser or they paying the guests.
the alp is located up a very steep hill, not good if you have walking difficulties, the elderly, unfit, children or disabled.
the beds are unfit for sleeping on, you can feel every spring and wire.
the brown room furniture dates from the 70s, the vile green carpet extends into your room from the landing, our bathroom was disgusting in everyway, some guests who we had made friends with told us some real horror storys, one guests bathroom had a broken sink, black mould around a drain in the corner, broken shower heads and ceilings falling in, these just a few of the problems us guests talked about.
the pool is located on top of the building, dont be fooled looking at old pictures on the internet. the pool is a cobbled together bodged up affair and is very disgusting, a layer of scum and snots, yes snot can be seen floating on top after about 2pm ish, i told our thomas cook rep joe about this because this is an immediate health and safety risk.
the rooftop terrace is half covered in some sort of astro turf, gods knows what its harbouring
some newish sunbeds but the rest are very shabby, the parasols filthy and are either torn or are rusting.
the food is disgusting in every way possible, lowest quality food they can buy. breakfast is bread, butter, jam, tomatos, baby cucumbers, salted feta cheese, yes salted, olives, some sort of tastless tinned meat and boiled eggs. tea and coffee is instant and not nice and you drink it out of polystyrene vending machine cups,lol. orange juice is cheap diluted or powered and was left wondering if they use tap water instead of bottled.
if you are having dinner at the alp beware you dont get a choice, you get what your given, no menu here. 90% of the dinner food will be either powered, tinned or frozen, very little if any is cooked fresh, these meals are on a level of poor quality school dinners.
only three staff speak english, the very rude manager, dennis who you will think is a pest has time goes by, a young waiter boy who seemed to be a nice polite guy. the rest, even the cleaning staff dont speak a word of english.
your now allowed to take in your own food, you have to buy from the hotel, 3 to 4 times more than you pay at the shops, 2 minutes up the road from the alp is a corner shop, use that and smuggle in the food and drink like all us guests did.
the noise at night is horrendous, there is a massive hotel built in front of the alp with a dual carrageway between, all the noise is reflected from this building, cars, taxis constantly pipping there horns at all hours, dogs barking all night, double glazing would sort this problem.
thats enough of the hotel from me, iam sure there will be more reviews coming along.
when you eat out, which you will be doing of course, i recommend the slip inn, excellant food, most of us english used this place, the chinese is very good so iam was told, but my best place has got to be a place called chicken & chicken in town, spotlessly clean and excellant food, i know i used to be a chef.
the market on a wednesday and friday is a must to do, one of the best parts of my holiday.
again i cannot believe thomas cook have the alp on there books,we only paid 468 pounds for one week but this is besides the point, they should not be selling it has a three star when its really zero rated weather your half board bed and breakfast or room only. pay a few more £s people and stay somewhere else. when the locals ask where your staying and they say good luck,lol you know it has a bad reputation.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caterpiller938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-in-Arden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

this hotel is like stepping back into the 70s, we were expecting the carry on abroad team to pop up somewhere!!
the noise from the roads is horrendous and if you like a good nights sleep this is not the place for you.
Breakfast is usual european fayre, salami, cheese olives etc....to be expected but the tea and coffee is served in polystyrene cups, if you stay HB beware you do not get a choice of meal you only get what they give you.
the decor is very tired as is the communal areas.
it did not deter us from having a great time we just used the hotel as a bed.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biffaboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kusadasi hotels
1.6 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kusadasi
10.8 km away
Palm Wings Beach Resort
0.4 km away
Pak Hotel
Pak Hotel
#63 of 147 in Kusadasi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Mr Happy's - Liman Hotel
Mr Happy's - Liman Hotel
#24 of 147 in Kusadasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
8.0 km away
Palm Wings Ephesus
Palm Wings Ephesus
#7 of 147 in Kusadasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.2 km away
Dias Hotel
Dias Hotel
#80 of 147 in Kusadasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alp? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alp

Property: Hotel Alp
Address: Birlik Yapi Sitesi Kusadasi Merkez, Kusadasi 09400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Aydin Province > Kusadasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 147 Hotels in Kusadasi
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alp 2*
Number of rooms: 50

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing