We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoughts on our fortnight at the Yali”
Review of Yali Beach Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kalkan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Yali Beach Hotel
Ranked #15 of 27 Kalkan B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Thoughts on our fortnight at the Yali”
Reviewed 29 September 2010

We've spent two weeks at the Yali, and returned home on 27th September. Enjoyed our first holiday in Kalkan and found it very relaxing. The Yali 'positives' are its position by the sea, beach club, cleanliness, relaxing atmosphere, friendly staff, housekeeper who cleaned the rooms plus numerous other duties, and the highly popular Labrador owned by one of the staff.

However, we felt there were a few 'negatives':

Breakfast was disappointing. There was a choice of food - cereals, jams, melon, etc., but a choice of rolls or bread would have been nice rather than bread every morning. Coffee consisted of sachets of instant coffee. Many a time we had to ask for cups, spoons, cereal bowls, as there weren't any on the main table where it should all be laid out. We felt more of a hindrance at breakfast time than anything, and it would have made such a difference to be greeted with a smile rather than more or less ignored.

Electricity and showers were an experience not to be missed.

We had a good sea view from our balcony but if your eyes dipped to ground level you had various debris strewn on a small area of wasteland, which could have been cleared.

The swimming pool and reception area as you enetered the hotel was abandoned, and not lit at night. It cast an air of neglect, which filtered through to the rest of the place - probably acted as a warning to all newcomers.

The stairs were not well lit, especially at the very bottom by the swimming pool area.

The unmade road was a pain and not well lit, but it does state in the brochure that it's unmade and a torch is recommended.

We didn't feel there was anyone really managing the place, and it did have this air of neglect. We think Fatima, the housekeeper, was in charge, and she really was very hard-working and helpful, but it lacked management.

During our second week we had a good look at the Hotel Asfiya where my parents were staying, and it was the complete opposite to the Yali. They haven't got the sea but they can use the Yali Beach Club, and it's the same price - all rather intriguing.

The Tapestry brochure describes the Yali as a simple property, which it is, but when you compare it to the Asfiya there's something wrong somewhere. We came away from the Asfiya gnashing our teeth!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jfjones53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    10
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
30
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

My wife and I have just returned from our second stay at the Yali Beach Hotel and we have to say, our overall emotion is one of some disappointment.

True the beach club itself has been renovated to a high standard with extended decking areas, new sun beds and a bar. However this just amplifies the lack of investment and interest taken in the hotel itself. Last year it was a hotel with a beach club, this year it is a beach club with some rooms at the back.

Clearly the owner and new manager feel they can make more money be attracting even more people to the beach club than they can from the hotel but this has had a detrimental effect on the hotel. The area around the, admittedly, small swimming pool was once the hub of the hotel. It contained the reception area and a bar, it was where you ate breakfast, you could always find a member of staff to talk to and you could have a final drink before retiring to bed. Now that the bar has moved across the road to the beach club the area is completely without purpose, looks tired & unloved, is completely unmanned day & night and gives an extremely poor first impression.

This lack of interest in the hotel was exemplified to us when we first arrived. We were meet by a very friendly lady who welcomed us and guided us to our room. We assumed she was the manager; in fact it turned out she was the cleaning lady! She was also the only one to say goodbye when we left and she deserves 5 stars. The only time we ever saw the manager in the hotel itself was when we couldn’t open the door to one of the balconies. Other than this he stayed in the beach club.

The bedrooms are beginning to look tired. The tiling in the very small bathroom was looking old & mouldy and the handle missing from the wardrobe door.

The area between the Yali Beach Hotel and the Caretta Boutique Hotel was an eye-sore with old doors and windows dumped there. To be fair to the Yali these were from the renovation of the Caretta Boutique Hotel but it was still unpleasant to look at and could have been cleared away with a little cooperation between the hotels. The area on the other side still has the strange rusting structure from last year and whilst the fridge and beer crates a previous reviewer saw were gone by the time we arrived (7th August) the area was still a mess.

Despite the above there are still positives to say about the Yali hotel. It is in a wonderful quite location and the views over the bay to Kalkan town are fantastic. The size of our room (4) was great, as was having two balconies (which you can sit out on). The hotel area and our bedroom were very clean. With some money invested in the hotel and something done with the pool area it could be a wonderful hotel and a wonderful beach club.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KentishTraveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2010

Came back last week from a more than relaxing holiday at the Yali. Can't believe some of the reviews recently posted on here, however onto their points later. For us the Yali was as described in the brochures, a 'Simple property', 'Decor is simple' and suites are 'simply furnished'. This is how it was described, and that was how it was. If people had done their research beforehand maybe they wouldn't have been disappointed. The description of the furniture in previous reviews as 'tired' we found to be untrue, maybe fitting the reviewers more perhaps?
The rooms all have their measurements on the website along with balcony sizes, including whether they have sun a.m or p.m, how many other hotel sites have that in their details?
Bathrooms could do with a tidy accepted, however as for calling them 'cramped' we found there to be ample space, more than in others we have visited in Turkey (5 time visitors), what else do you want to do in the shower other than get washed?
Again on the electricity side, we won't pull the wool over anyones eyes, it was erratic. Having said that whole swathes of Kalkan can be cut off at any given time as we have experienced previously (an hour one night, as we sat opposite diners in restaurants eating in darkness, apart from candlelight!).
As for the views, they are some of the best in Kalkan, and as close to the bay as you get anywhere without having to pay extortionate prices! The pictures portrayed are of the crates being put out for collection and were not there for more than hour or so, and on the other of the neighbouring hotels rubbish, of which Mustapha the owner was continually complaining to them about having it removed. As for the car park, well yes, there is one, do people want an underground one built??
The location of the hotel is as good as you can get in Kalkan, without being in the middle of the town, or having to climb steep hills or have to get taxis (unless you get lazy), it is a 10 minute level walk either way into town.
None of the balconies were 'standing only' as quite a few of the residents brought out their chairs to read, play games on or admire the wondeful views of Kalkan and its harbour.
As for the pool, we found it a nice cooling place to relax if you wanted to get away from the beach club and read a book or just chill, again the measurements are on the website so no gripes there!
Breakfast was the usual Turkish fare, including eggs done whichever way you wanted them. As for the sparrows, what do you want a 'No sparrows here' sign done in Turkish for them? All the food was covered up with clingfilm so as the birds couldn't get at the bowls, if the birds did get at them, then that was due to the humans not covering them back up again!
As for the staff, they are the jewels in the crown. All hardworking and willing to anything for you, from keeping the place clean to ordering taxis if needed, and all with a smile!
From young Fayat (sorry if names are misspelt), Serden and his lovely wife Esra, Non stop Mehmet right through to Mustapha himself with his lovely sense of humour and love of 'Dragons Den'! Special mention to Deniz and baby, hope all are well. All are eager to please when you engage with them.
That covers the hotel, which is surely what the review is about not the beach club?
However if people want to know what its really like, then its a great addition to the hotel facilities, all free, a great position, sun all day, (the sun doesn't 'disappear' in Turkey!). In the two weeks we were there it was busy just the once, where people had to find loungers close to the stairs leading down to the edge. But there were always spaces available despite this. Most times it was a half to two thirds full depending on the day.
May we also add that the reps were brilliant without being pushy. We would definitely go with Tapestry again.
Before adding your gripes people, do your research!
And remember, your on holiday, enjoy what you have, don't spend your holiday looking at what others have or haven't got, relax!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dave_and_Jules_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2010

THE TOWN:
Went to Kalkan on a friend's recommendation, and loved the town.
Great restaurants, some local charm left, felt very safe, and has managed not to succumb to the tacky 'Brits-abroad', sleazy image that sadly so many Turkish resorts have.

Booked the Yali Beach Club & Hotel on Tapestry, on the promise of a 'boutique hotel'.
Even asked the rep, where he would choose to stay, given the choice.
BIG MISTAKE!

There are 2 things at play here.
1) The Beach Club -
nice decking, thick matresses, and swimming platforms, straight into the beautiful sea. This is lovely, even if the food is distinctly average.
But as mentioned by other reviewers, go early in high-season if you want to get in.
I'd rate the BEACH CLUB, 3.5 out of 5.

2) The Hotel -
very tired, old creaky furniture, electricity that drops or cuts out every 3 minutes (not exaggerating), so the air con hardly works, awful bathrooms. Itchy, lumpy beds.
Ironically, once in the hotel, as a paying guest you can't pick up the free wi-fi signal available at the Beach Club.
Used the tiny pool a few times, to get away from the beach club crowds, until the skin on my partner's hands started peeling due to the chemicals being too high!
For some reason, the staff were a bit surly and unwelcoming to us, apart from the Chef guy who was very nice.
Only saving grace, was a very efficient cleaning lady, who did her best.
I'd rate the HOTEL 1 out of 5.

We got to experience the ASFIYA HOTEL on the last day, and I really wished I'd booked there for the same price, for our first visit to Kalkan.
It's just generally a more professional set-up, with better facilities and standards of food etc. It's admittedly further up the hill, but you can walk down and still use the Yali Beach Club.

The Yali Hotel, with some investment in good furniture & bathroom refits, COULD be a fantastic small bouthique hotel, right on the edge of the sea, with the benefit of its popular beach club.
But currently, it's just overpriced, outdated rubbish.

I would certainly return to Kalkan, but NOT to a hotel.
Having been, I now know it's actually much better to book a lovely apartment or villa, with own or shared pool, and use the beach clubs as a day visitor.
The choice of places is huge, and you'll get about 3 times the value in quality for the same money.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank trix15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2010

Really looked forward to this holiday having previously travelled with Tapestry a few years ago & enjoyed an excellent hotel in Kas but walking into our "suite" our hearts sank with what was on offer bearing in mind this is billed as a boutique hotel through a very reputable agent.

The room was basic, with cheap, tired furniture. The cramped "bathroom" only had a cheap looking shower, tired fittings again and a sink you couldn't use without banging your head on a glass shelf. The immediate views from the tiny balconies (standing only) were of a rubbish tip & car park one way and to the other, an abandoned large trailer, discarded commercial fridges & beer bottles to the other. There were none of the usual style, luxury that one would normally associate with a boutique hotel, this was more like a basic b&b or hostel.

The website pictures are nearly all of the attached beach club, which has been nicely done but is of course misleading. Breakfast was served there but, proved to be a health hazard as raiding sparrows helped themselves to the various plates on offer leaving us to carefully pick round half eaten cheese, bread and cereals and bird poo. Unbelievably, in this day & age, only instant coffee sachets were offered so we resorted to ordering & paying for coffee form the bar's espresso machine which was overpriced and barely much improvement.

Don't rely on the hotel pool, it's more accurately a plunge pool, which is why everyone troops down to the beach club. The trouble with that is it's oversubscribed, being shared with other Tapestry hotels and general public. Add the fact that it faces due east and the sun rapidly disappears in the afternoon, it's not surprising that the best sun loungers are bagged very early in the day, though the occupants are nowhere to be seen! The one diving platform is the sunniest spot so you have to clamber over bodies to get to dive. Large families predominated our visit and seemed to spread themselves wherever they could find spare loungers and then talked over the top of you whilst their children clambered around you. It was about as unrelaxing holiday as we have ever had but ok if you have kids I guess.

Our Tapestry reps were sympathetic but ultimately ineffectual. We were offered alternatives but these were described as having such as "road noise, separate beds, no sun etc" or, we could pay nearly £800 for an upgrade to what was described as much better accommodation. We deemed this too much in the circumstances and were told "you get what you pay for". We felt we paid for a boutique hotel through a highly regarded agency.

The creaky, intermittent plumbing & air conditioning in the suite were a metaphor for the whole hotel and resort as it struggled to cope in the evening with the burgeoning demands of tourists visiting this resort. It stands on the verge of being ruined by mass-market tourism and agencies that are content to trade sub standard accommodation just because it has a nice location by the sea, but that by any UK standards would be dismissed by even the least discerning, as over-priced rubbish.

We communicated our concerns to Tapestry on our return and after three weeks received a reply resolutely defending their offering citing numbers of satisfied customers etc but in 2010 surely they must realise you can't trade this site under the banner of boutique hotels with competition so evidently fierce in this market sector.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saint-g001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalkan hotels
0.7 km away
Kalamar Hotel
Kalamar Hotel
#16 of 39 in Kalkan
272 reviews
0.3 km away
Likya Residence and Spa
0.9 km away
Samira Exclusive Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Oasis Hotel
Oasis Hotel
#5 of 39 in Kalkan
180 reviews
0.4 km away
Asfiya Sea View Hotel
Asfiya Sea View Hotel
#9 of 39 in Kalkan
120 reviews
1.1 km away
Kulube Hotel
Kulube Hotel
#13 of 39 in Kalkan
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yali Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yali Beach Hotel

Property: Yali Beach Hotel
Address: Yaliboyu Mah. Cumhuriyet Cad. No:13, Kalkan 07960, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kalkan
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Kalkan
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,614
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing