We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (723)
Filter reviews
723 results
Traveller rating
462
178
55
16
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
462
178
55
16
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach bar fish restaurant animation team jacuzzi bath thomas cook turkey german guests great holiday round bed other hotels indoor pool step aerobics plenty of sunbeds beach towels lovely hotel reception staff evening entertainment
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 723 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for a week. The hotel itself is lovely, very clean and lots of places to sit inside. Pool area is quite small and getting a bed was a nightmare- if you hadn’t put your towel on a bed by 7.30am you weren’t getting a bed. There was no service during the day. Most hotels I’ve been too before have people coming round taking your orders throughout the day. This wasn’t too much of a problem but definitely contributes to lacking that 5% quality. Loads to do during the day if you’re into that sort of thing- the inflatable one day was great fun. Rooms were lovely, cleaned nicely daily, bathroom was immaculate too. There were no hidden charges once we got there either for aircon or safe etc. Minibar was topped up daily with water, coke and Fanta Orange which was great.
Food was ok, what you’d expect from an all inclusive hotel really, often quite repetitive but enjoyable...at least for the first few days! We didn’t get into the a la carte because when we went to book a few days into our holiday they were full so book straight away when you get there! I was

Biggest thing to let them down was the entertainment. The majority of guests were German, English were definitely the minority, so entertainment was delivered in German, English and another language which just meant every night completely lost its buzz through the 3 different languages... obviously this can’t be helped but there were many other options of what to do as the hotel wasn’t really situated near anything else. I became really ill on our last day, not sure if it was from the food or something else, but I was told by the rep I would pay 50€ just to be seen by the hotel doctor so had to walk to the pharmacy about a 15 minute walk away just to get medicine so I’d be well enough to get on the plane the following day.
All in all we had a nice holiday. Not exceptional, not 5*, maybe 3.5* but it was enjoyable and for the price we paid we can’t really complain!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank 926lilym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

First time here and what a great hotel! Spotlessly clean. I witnessed broken umbrella being replaced within minutes when reported. Food was unbelievable- same quality and choice as that of a good cruise and friendly staff, nothing was too much trouble. Again spotlessly clean fab pool and spa facilities. If you want to truelly relax then this is the place.
Lara beach itself isn’t for people who want to explore I would say, as it’s more resort centric which actually for a change made us relax anyway.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank KMacDonald2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ates A, Genel Müdür at Melas Lara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2018

Dear Guest;

Thank you for your positive review on TripAdvisor.

We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that everything was to your entire satisfaction. Your kind words are very much appreciated. Rest assured that your comments are passed on to all those, who contributed to making your stay a more comfortable one.

We certainly enjoyed looking after you and we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon again.

Kind regards

Melas Lara Hotel
Guest Relation
e-mail: melaslara@melashotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

We have Just returned from an 11 night holiday. There were 5 of us in the party, husband & wife with 16 year old son, plus friend with her 16 year old son. After a slight delay we arrived at the Melas Lara hotel, booked through Thomas Cook just before midnight. We were the only ones who arrived and checked in so it was swift and we were given 3 rooms. Unfortunately we were given 3 double bedded room which was not what we booked and not something which was suitable for our party. I went down to reception to ask and was told that there was nothing which could be done that night as it was late and the hotel was busy. My son had to sleep on the sofa that night which was not ideal. He told me he would write in the book and for me to come down in the morning to speak the the reception staff. I went to reception after breakfast and came into contact with Ayhan, who was fully aware of my problem and he set about doing what he could to resolve the issue. The took me to a couple of different rooms and also included doing a swap with another guest who wanted a double bed instead of twin beds. Ayhan could not have done more for us and remained calm and efficient throughout and a special thank you from us.

The hotel is one of the smallest along the Lara Beach strip but what it may lack in size it most certainly does not lack in quality. The food and choice was great each night, the waiters work tirelessly, topping up your drinks sometimes without you even realising it. The hotel caters for a variety of nationalities which was great and gave us a real feeling of being away on holiday. There were not too many English guests but for us this was absolutely fine. The way the hotel staff switched from Turkish to English then German was impressive - despite reading some of the other reviews I can honestly say the hotel staff treated everyone fairly and equally.

The animation team work hard throughout the day, tried the aqua gym, belly dancing, step class and morning yoga all of which were fun and enjoyable.

The 3 waterslides were really good, not as big as some of the neighbouring hotels but we knew this before booking. We went for a run one morning and found that there was a local water park - Park Aqua only a 5 min walk away which was 40 Turkish Lira pp (£6.70) approx. We visited one day and went at 10 am when it opened. It’s best to do this as the park is quiet until lunchtime when several coaches with school children arrive so my advice is to make sure you go early. They allow you to go back to your hotel for lunch at your all inclusive hotel and then go back in. Really good and cheap option to visit.

Back to the hotel and the hotel has some wonderful gardens where you can get sun beds as an alternative to the pool area. There is mini golf, tennis court, table tennis available together with a spa within the hotel which is where you will find the gym and indoor pool. We visited the spa and met the wonderful Enver, ( aka John Travolta of Turkey):-). We experienced a Turkish Bath and massage which was out of this world and highly recommended.

Evening entertainment slightly low key except for the Acra Cuba group who were out of this world. The best show by far.

All in all we all thoroughly enjoyed this hotel and would recommend this hotel. It’s better that it is smaller than its neighbours - I’d much rather be amongst 800 + guests than 2500+.

Thank you to all the staff and a special mention to Ayhan.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Sharon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ates A, Genel Müdür at Melas Lara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Dear Guest;

Thank you for your positive review on TripAdvisor.

We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that everything was to your entire satisfaction. Your kind words are very much appreciated. Rest assured that your comments are passed on to all those, who contributed to making your stay a more comfortable one.

We certainly enjoyed looking after you and we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon again.

Kind regards

Melas Lara Hotel
Guest Relation
e-mail: melaslara@melashotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018 via mobile

Verry beautiful hotel... verry friendly staff... amazing food...we recomended ...nice and beatiful place for families..excelent holiday..we come back again...thanks all staff for nice time what we spend together....

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Inese B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ates A, Genel Müdür at Melas Lara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Dear Guest;

Thank you for your positive review on TripAdvisor.

We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that everything was to your entire satisfaction. Your kind words are very much appreciated. Rest assured that your comments are passed on to all those, who contributed to making your stay a more comfortable one.

We certainly enjoyed looking after you and we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon again.

Kind regards

Melas Lara Hotel
Guest Relation
e-mail: melaslara@melashotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2018 via mobile

Just arrived back from this hotel, first time in Turkey so very worried about safety, how wrong I was. This hotel has it all. 5 star. Location was fantastic and hotel was exceptional. Rooms perfect, food perfect facilities perfect, would I recommend, 100%. Staff where excellent very relaxed environment with every bit of luxury you could want.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank paulgourley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ates A, Genel Müdür at Melas Lara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2018

Dear Guest;

Thank you for your positive review on TripAdvisor.

We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that everything was to your entire satisfaction. Your kind words are very much appreciated. Rest assured that your comments are passed on to all those, who contributed to making your stay a more comfortable one.

We certainly enjoyed looking after you and we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon again.

Kind regards

Melas Lara Hotel
Guest Relation
e-mail: melaslara@melashotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews