We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“HEAVENLY HOLIDAY”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Melas Lara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Melas Lara Hotel
Ranked #3 of 231 Hotels in Antalya
Certificate of Excellence
huddersfield
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“HEAVENLY HOLIDAY”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

I arrived with two female friends, we'd booked a single and a double but we were offered a luxury room for three, with our own private pool, large balcony with chairs, tables and sunbeds! We were so pleased to accept. There was room for the rest of our friends and the manager kindly fetched another couple of sunbeds to use. The staff are perfect, nothing is too much trouble and one or two (the omelette chef in particular) made 'special' drinks or food for us. We tried to speak a few phrases in Turkish which amused but pleased the waiters etc. Sometimes we'd tip them but not all the time.
The hotel and lifts are spotlessly clean, those lifts are made of mirror and I can't imagine the work that goes into keeping them smear free! The carpets are shampooed, and everything is gleamingly fresh. The restaurant is also kept hygenically perfect. No food left on floors or dirty tableclothes when you sit down.
Food is lovely, something to please everybody, we booked an evening in the fish restaurant which was beautifully presented and very tasty. This was on the 12th floor and the sunset was pretty to see. The one small complaint is that dishes in the buffet restaurant are cleared away on the dot of 9.00p.m. So although the evening meal is from 7.00 to 9.00 p.m. you can't eat at 9.00 because the place has been cleared. Also the dishes which become empty from around 8.00p.m. are not always replaced, we missed out on a few things if we went into dinner at 8.30. But if you know this, you know to aim for around 8 at the latest.
Entertainment is a little amateur but done with fervour and enthusiasm. There are step classes, volleyball, darts and shooting etc. but these events are there if you with to join in but not forced upon you. We also had a turn around the crazy golf course and played skittles. The pool and slides are fun and very popular and of course well maintained. Beach bar does tasty lunches, or buffet in the main restaurant if you prefer.
We went into Antalya on the dolmus (about 35-45 minutes journey) a couple of times, which is a bit of a squeeze but not a problem. The harbour is very pretty and we did a short boat trip to a waterfall. The shopping is good for the usual fakes!
Around the Lara area there are lots of shopping malls, you have to barter for a bargain, and some fakes are better quality than others. Otherwise not a lot to do, but we went walking to admire other hotels in the area and all in all had a thoroughly good holiday.

Room Tip: can recommend room 1540
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue Bellwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    124
    38
    9
    8
See reviews for
218
178
8
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
283 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 354 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

Just returned from one week at this hotel. No complaints whatsoever. The staff on reception, bar, restaurant and even the cleaners were very professional, friendly and polite. The food was excellent with a good choice although if you ate at 9pm (the latest time to eat) there wasnt much left. The fish al la carte was also very good. The beach and pool bar were great for snacks at lunchtime and cakes at 4.30 daily. We played crazy golf and skittles on the grassed area. The rooms were nice (we originally got a very small room by the lift so asked to change to one a little better - my sister had room 1540 which had a plunge pool on a large balcony!). The room had a free safe, pool towels in the wardrobe and jacuzzi bath which was wonderfully relaxing. The all inclusive included drinks in the mini bar which was replenished every day and included 2litres of bottled water. The drinks in the bars were good, especially the gin and tonic which actually tasted like it should and the whiskey was also top notch. The beer of course is efes and is fine. The weather was spot on, no rain all week. We went on the bus to Antalya a couple of times but it was nearly an hours journey on a very stuffy dolmus, quite an ordeal! We did the boat trip from Antalya marina to the waterfall (2hrs with swim stop) for 8euros. The waterfall was spectacular. We did not like the location of the hotel as Lara beach is basically just a collection of hotels on a beach which was like building sand. There are a lot of shops selling fake designer goods. All in all I wouldnt return as we like to walk and there was nowhere to walk to apart from along a busy road. If the hotel was in a different location I would return tomorrow. It would be good for children as they would enjoy the slides etc.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

my husband and I first visited this hotel in March 2011 and were so impressed we decided to return this April with our family .Our rooms were very clean,comfortable and well stocked which included a fridge daily restocked with beer,water and pop! The outdoor pool alas was very cold but the indoor pool was a great asset.The food was good, varied and plentiful.Hot and cold drinks are served on tap all day by very pleasant waiters and waitresses and the bar staff were equally as cheerful in the evening.All in all another top notch stay at this excellent All Inclusive hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WalesUKHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

January was our second visit to Melas Lara and it did not disappoint. We first went 2 years ago for our honeymoon and had a really good stay.

The food is good, you get a varied choice even for the picky eaters.

The entertainment is not great at this time of year, but what they do put on does entertain on a basic level.

The staff are really friendly and attentive and will do anything to help.

We will be back, great break away...

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teezme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dersingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Prior to traveling to the Melas Lara I read the reviews of others and found mixed reviews.
I have to say that we; Myself, Wife and 2 Boys (6 & 4) had a great time and would seriously consider returning in the future.
The food was excellent and as somebody else mentioned, the deserts and pastries were a delight.
On previous holidays the so called family room was no bigger than a small office. The family rooms in this hotel are huge. In the Thomas Cook Brochure they are described as "Duplex Room". For those families wishing to visit, this means that the Children get their own room and adults get the main room with either a king size or twin beds.
The over standard and size of the room we stayed in was excellent. The room and facilities were thoroughly cleaned every day.
We stayed on the 10 floor and end of the corridor. Great views to the sea and surrounding areas
We never stay around the pool so I can't comment on the bar and food served. Yes the Pool was very cold but once we plucked up the courage to jump in it was not an issue. The water slides were great fun and very safe having their own landing area and pool.
Most of our daytime was spent on the beach drinking cocktails and beer. Nice beach, sun beds available and very relaxing.
The food served at the Beach Bar was simple but very nice, the freshly cooked pizzas were lovely.
A number of people have made reference to the staff being rude or ignorant. I have to be honest and say that the staff were great and everything we or our children asked for was provided. Imagine this for a moment as well. We spoke to the German and Russian holiday makers who were very nice and polite. Fancy that, being civil and polite means people will talk to you. We actually found the british tourist the worst and most ignorant, made me very upset and angry to see them behave this way. Some were very rude to my children who were trying to enjoy their holiday, who were told in no uncertain terms to not speak to my children in that way.
The Turkish Bath and Massage centre was brilliant and very relaxing. I visited twice and bartered for everything. Great deals
The rep Barbara is very lively and friendly. Any problems just talk to her and She can help.
Hope this was informative and will help you make up your mind. Great place, Great Staff

Room Tip: Stay away from the Lifts and if possible ask for the Upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antalya hotels
3.2 km away
Barut Lara
Barut Lara
#1 of 231 in Antalya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,099 reviews
0.4 km away
Aska Lara Resort & SPA
Aska Lara Resort & SPA
#11 of 231 in Antalya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,975 reviews
1.0 km away
Limak Lara De Luxe Hotel&Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Delphin Imperial Hotel Lara
0.3 km away
Baia Lara Hotel
Baia Lara Hotel
#2 of 231 in Antalya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,255 reviews
14.8 km away
Akra
Akra
#6 of 231 in Antalya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melas Lara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melas Lara Hotel

Property: Melas Lara Hotel
Address: Kemeragzi Mevkii Lara-Kundu, Antalya 07330, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Antalya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 231 Hotels in Antalya
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,735 - ₹ 19,010
Hotel Class:5 star — Melas Lara Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening date April 2009 Languages spoken Turkish, English, German, French, Russian Pension Ultra All Inclusive Operation period 12 Months Number of floors 12 Number of lifts 4 Growth of the complex Approximately 15.000 m2 General atmosphere: Elegant, silent, suitable for couples and families Distance to the airport:12 km. ( Antalya International Airport) Nearest city center: 15 km. ( Antalya ) Beach: 0 m. Nearest busstop: 100 m. Nearest historical places: Side Antique City, Aspendos theatre,Perge Antique City, Sillyon,Termessos,Olympos Sightseeing: Hadrianus Gate, Clock Tower, Republican Square, Duden Waterfall,Kursunlu Waterfall,Antalya Archaeological Museum, Kaleici ancient city and yacht harbour, Koprulu river national park-rafting centre Transportation: Minibus, taxi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Melas Lara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing