We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, shame about the food”
Review of Kuriat Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kuriat Palace
Ranked #35 of 43 Hotels in Monastir
Reviewed 25 November 2011

We returned from this hotel last week. The hotel is very well presented although only on restaurant and only one bar was open during our stay, due to the lack of people staying there. The food is absolutely terrible and for breakfast there was rarely any teabags, milk or sugar. The evening food was the same every night and freezing cold. The hotel has no heating in the rooms and as the nights in Tunisia can get very chilly it was very cold in the rooms. The staff are very helpful and the indoor swimming pool is brilliant. We have been to Tunisia over 20 times but we will never return to this hotel. We never originally booked this hotel but our hotel has closed so we were transferred, I wish we had been offered another hotel instead of this one.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite, we did not have to pay any extra due to the lack of visitors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jeannette g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2011

we often use this Hotel for short breaks. The service is friendly and good, the food is very good and the Jacuzzi is brilliant! It is in easy reach of El Jem and Mahdia and even Kairouan. highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hilarymusk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2011

I booked this hotel package because the hotel was advertised as of a 4 star standard and the photographs on the hotel web-site looked quite appealing. However, when we arrived the hotel and grounds painted a completely different picture. The hotel was built in 1983 or thereabouts and has probably never had a proper up-date or any continuous maintenance. The photographgs and descriptions are very misleading. Very few foreign tourists were staying at the hotel - merely a handful.

The lobby is dim with at least only about a third of the lights on. The lights at the top of the stairs on the second floor were permanently off casting the stairs in darkness. This is dangerous. Only 1 lift is partially working (on a set time scale or deliberately switched off), and the other one is permanently switched off. The room was clean and spacious and view is good. However, the TV was tiny and had only 1 English news channel which was fuzzy all the time. There were no facilities in the room such as a fridge, tea/coffee making machine or a safe. The front door could not be closed very well and on one occasion on our return we found the door ajar. Luckily nothing was missing. The air conditioning worked satisfactorily. There was plenty of parking but the grounds beyond the central entrance to the hotel were in a very poor state of ground maintenance.
The eating habits of the locals (who tended to visit the hotel at weekends) were appalling and food was strewn everywhere with considerable wastage. One French guest actually took photographs of the disgusting state of some of the tables.

Apart from the indoor swimming pool and the jacuzzi that were fine, all other sporting activities such as the ping-pong, tennis courts and squash court were in very poor state. The gym was very basic and had a damp and musty odour. Some facilities could not be used at all. The shop was very small and out of the way. In the small restaurant (in use for the first week) we had the same tasteless food every day which was of a very poor quality. In the large restaurant (in use for the second week) we often had to queue up for food, with regular shortages of some dishes as well as cups, plates and cutlery. Mounds of food were taken but then mostly left on every table and untouched. but remnants of partially eaten food were everywhere and particularly unpleasant and indeed was quite disgusting. The staff were helpless in preventing this behaviour.

Room Tip: Do not stay at this so called 4 star hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hazel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2011

I read reviews before I went and was dreading the hotel and think they were unfair which is why I am writing this. We had a great time, hotel was cheap and rooms nice, clean, big albiet parts of the hotel are dated with only french tv which were tiny but I didn't go on holiday to watch tv! Food is not good in the hotel i would agree with this we were half board for ten days and are there twice but nice food available next door or in monastir in the Marina complex and taxis all over the place and cheap. Nice bar in hotel and staff nice, not really any evening entertainment though. We had a good break when we went end of December weather was good and would recommend for a cheap holiday

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenGsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2010

We paid £25+ each pppw for bed and breakfast. The hotel entrance was imposing the food was ok dinner being about £6 a meal Rooms acceptable for the price not large but clean. Comfortable bar in a French colonial style. There was an inside pool and jacuzzi which was good as the outside was rather cool. Outside pool and seaside would be good in warmer weather, As it was out of season there was little entertainment but it was not far to Monastir or Sousse. And just a few minutes from the Airport.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pitch4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monastir hotels
0 km away
Royal Thalassa Monastir
Royal Thalassa Monastir
#7 of 43 in Monastir
1,303 reviews
0 km away
Amir Palace
Amir Palace
#16 of 43 in Monastir
1,195 reviews
0 km away
Mezri
Mezri
#29 of 43 in Monastir
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Marina Cap Monastir Apart'hotel
0 km away
Delphin El Habib
Delphin El Habib
#13 of 43 in Monastir
959 reviews
0 km away
Sahara Beach Aquapark Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuriat Palace? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuriat Palace

Address: Kuriat Palace, Monastir 5000, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Monastir Governorate > Monastir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Monastir
#15 Spa Hotel in Monastir
Hotel Class:4 star — Kuriat Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Also Known As:
Kuriat Palace Monastir
Kuriat Palace Hotel Monastir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing