We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“just returned 15/04/12”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sahara Beach Aquapark Resort
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Monastir
Wales
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“just returned 15/04/12”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

Just returned from the Sahara Beach in Skanes. Myself wife and 22 year old daughter. This is the second time we have been there, this time was a very very last minute decision and the sahara beach was one of the very few hotels with spaces left. We didnt search it out specifically.

The hotel itself was opened in 1975 and is showing its age although its not overly run down or tatty, just mature. Rooms are basic and could do with a bit of updating but for a quick week away they are acceptable. No luxuries, TV's, teamaking facilities etc but clean and functional.

Grounds and pools are nice and there is a good indoor pool if the weather isnt good or too good even.Plenty of sunbeds although there is not a pool towel facility, take your own thats a downside with the lower luggage weights on offer.

Food, well everyone has totally different opinions. Your allocated a table for the duration of your stay and your own waiter. A small tip £2 say at the begining of your stay gets you excellent service from day one. As for the food i would rate it acceptable, every meal there was something i liked, a few strange choices for the british palette but i was happy with what was on offer, as was the rest of my party.

Bars were OK and service good, staff in the main were polite and eager to please especially Mr Happy Happy a waiter in the main bar......what a character!!!! The entertainment in the evening, hmmmmmmm very very amature, but they do put a lot of effort in and really do try.

There is a kids club and mini entertainment in the earlier evening, cant vouch for the kids club, couldnt get my daughter to go.

We had a good time, had value for money for what we paid, but you get what you pay for. If you want the very best this isnt for you, but for a low cost family trip away with plenty of food and drink in reasonable surroundings and some entertainment its fine.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank kjgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,993 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,193
    1,478
    703
    310
    309
See reviews for
1,975
903
61
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (749)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

A fantastic hotel with extremely friendly staff. Our previous waiters from earlier visits remebered us and made it so special for our 3 children by going above the normal level of service, for example,using napkins to make different animals and telling jokes to keep them entertained. The kids club was once again well organised with a wide range of activities from go karting to pottery painting. Our room was always cleaned to a high standard with friendly staff who go out of their way to say good morning etc.

Room Tip: Higher floors offer more of a view across the swimming areas and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank kf7438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

come back on march 25th. just been on a family holiday to sahara beach, hotel staff and entertainment teams were brilliant.great hotel for familys with children,there is allways something going on for them.The only trouble with the holiday was not being told you had to fill in visas to get in to tunisia, witch caused havoc at the airport. ask your agent before you fly and save time.

Room Tip: ask for pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank michael s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

When i say another excellent holiday i mean it about the hotel and staff. The thomas cook rep was another matter, he tried fobbing people off with excuses about basic things like when we asked were the parasols were because the weather was red hot he said there isnt any but we knew there were because they had always been out the other times we'd stayed. And low and behold after some complaining off lots of families they appeared! The hotel and staff were as lovely as ever, i spoke to a family who were there and said the food here is better than some 5 star places they'd stayed at. They were also saying how friendly everyone was. The only down side was the archery wasnt up and running after being damaged some weeks ago in the storm they had, there had been more than enough time to get it up and running but it seemed to be at a stand still. But on the whole we had a great time. Will deffo go again if thomas cook dont drag the place down with tryng to tell people stories and putting people off returning. This hotel is brilliant for families we have been 3 times and everytime we leave there are teenages crying because they want to stay longer :)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank melanie082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Just arrived home after a week in Tunisia and must say it was much better than i expected.The rooms are basic but its only to sleep in and was really clean.The restaurant had so many choices of food to suit all taste and you were served by the same waiter every day,ours was lovely and he made sure we had everything we needed.The grounds and pools are really lovely but i was dissapointed to find the Aqua Park does not open untill may 3rd,the beach is nice but there was lots of seaweed everywhere so i dont advise swimming in the water.There is a beach bar which offers a variety of food so if you feel peckish during the afternoon thats the place to go.I would recommend the noody train into monaster,it cost 7 dinars(about £3.50)and you get to spend 2 hours there so really good value,you do get asked to go into the shops but a firm no is all thats needed if you choose not to.You can visit the a la carte restaurant for free once during your stay,book early though as we missed out on that.Our party was four woman and a five year old and we felt safe and totally relaxed during our stay.The staff are lovely and go out of their way for you,the animation team do a great job also .All in all a good holiday!

Room Tip: Were on the six floor facing the front of the hotel entrance .When coaches and taxis arrived it coul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank jagplug1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monastir hotels
9.2 km away
Regency Hotel and Spa
Regency Hotel and Spa
#12 of 43 in Monastir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
3.1 km away
SENTIDO Rosa Beach
SENTIDO Rosa Beach
#4 of 43 in Monastir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,094 reviews
2.6 km away
Royal Thalassa Monastir
Royal Thalassa Monastir
#6 of 43 in Monastir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Amir Palace
Amir Palace
#13 of 43 in Monastir
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
3.4 km away
smartline Skanes Serail
smartline Skanes Serail
#11 of 43 in Monastir
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
0.9 km away
Neptunia Beach
Neptunia Beach
#8 of 43 in Monastir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sahara Beach Aquapark Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sahara Beach Aquapark Resort

Property: Sahara Beach Aquapark Resort
Address: Route Touristique Dkhila, Monastir 5000, Tunisia (Formerly Sahara Beach Hotel)
Region: Tunisia > Monastir Governorate > Monastir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Monastir
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Monastir
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Monastir
#6 Family Hotel in Monastir
#6 Romantic Hotel in Monastir
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,579 - ₹ 10,668
Hotel Class:3 star — Sahara Beach Aquapark Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 1042
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near to Monastir and approx 12 km from Sousse (Skanes - Tunisia). Broad, fine sandy beach. 22.000 sq m of gardens. A childrens paradise. Short transfer. Plenty of action and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sahara Beach Aquapark Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sahara Beach Hotel Monastir
Iberostar Hotel Sahara Beach
Iberostar Hotel Monastir
Sahara Beach Hotel Tunisia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing