We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Holiday, Lovely Hotel - Could Not Have Been Any Better!”
Review of SENTIDO Phenicia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SENTIDO Phenicia
Ranked #1 of 118 Hotels in Hammamet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2012 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed at this hotel from the 18th April - 25th April. It was our first time in Tunisia & after reading some mixed reviews were not sure what to expect. But I can honestly say This hotel exceeded my expectations and Tunisia itself is a beautiful country. On arrival we were given a cold fruit juice & a damp face cloth as it was very warm while we filled in the forms and had a talk from
The manager to tell us were things were etc. We were then given our key and the very friendly porter took our cases to our room for us.

Food:- I am a very fussy eater and always found somthing delicious to eat. They served everything from pizza, soup, chips, pasta, rice, fish to squid, lamb, turcky, beef, cous cous and some Tunisia special dishes which we tried and were very tasty. The deserts were simply amazing, my favourite being strawberries with chocolate moose. The breakfasts had a large choice such as toast, scrambled egg, cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit, omlettes etc, and was always lovely. There were snacks served throughout the day (the pancakes were yummy & the chef that served them very friendly).

Rooms:- our room was 5046 we had a lovely sea view which was nice to sit on the balcony & watch the sun set. The bed was super comfy and was a good size. We had a tv which was good to listen to the BBC world news whilst getting ready. The rooms were very clean and of good size. The towels and bed sheets were changed as offen as you wanted them. The room also had a small fridge which was handy for keeping the bottles of water and the aftersun in!

Hotel Stables:- the hotel stables are on the hotel grounds and is a lovely little yard. The horses are all very well cared for & beautiful to look at. We booked a 2hour beach ride through the hotel which was 65 diena each. It was worth every penny we had a wonderful time doing this.

Pools:- there was two pools both very well maintained. One was half indoor/outdoor which was a heated pool & was lovely. The other pool was cooler excellent to have a swim in to cool off. It had a pool bar in the middle which you could swim upto. There was always loungers availlable at both pools. The comfy pads that were available for the loungers were a great touch.

Beach:- was very beautiful. We enjoyed walking along it.

Entertainment Team:- these guys are brilliant really made our holiday special with great games throughout the day to keep everyone entertained and fantastic shows at night. They all work very hard at including everone in evrtthing! They were all fantastic but we would like to give a special mention to Alex, ziko, fi-fi, rita, bibo, aldo, deedee, kemo, nina! Thanks so much for making our holiday great fun!

Staff:- we have never met so many fantastic people working in one place, every single person was so friendly & helpful. Reception, bar, chefs, porters, entertainment, garden, waiters, cleaners, shop keeper, spa - every single member of staff was fantastic.

We are planning to return to this hotel in October this year!

I strongly recommend this hotel to
everyone. It's amazing.

Thank you for wonderful memories & a brilliant holiday :)

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank EmmaLouise01x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Dear Guests,

it would be a great pleasur to all of us welcoming you again in October - thank you so much for your brilliant comment written on tripadvisor!

Best regards
Yours
SENTIDO Phenicia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (5,978)
There are newer reviews for SENTIDO Phenicia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,776 - 2,780 of 5,979 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed for a week 4.4.12. to 11.4.12 and had a great holiday. The hotel itself is of a good to very good standard with good public areas and clean standard rooms. The grounds and beach area are excellent. One of the pools was heated and actually WARM! A first in my experience at this time of year!

Everywhere is spotlessly clean. What sets the hotel apart is the staff. Whether in the bar or restaurant, the entertainment team, the maids or on reception everyone was very friendly, polite and helpful.

Would definitely recommend to others and we'll be returning very soon.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Dewhura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Dear Guests,

we are simply delighted - thank you!
We are looking forward welcoming you hopefully in the nearest future!
Best regards
Yours
SENTIDO Phenicia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

The whole family (grandparents, parents and kids) has spent one night at the hotel sentido pheinicia and it was wonderful fron the arrival to the restaurant. We have felt heartily welcome. My father could not walk properly and they have found a wheelchair for him!
The kids were very happy and the parents too.
The food is excellent and the animation is really good for April. Please bear in mind that animation out of season in Tunisia can be really catastrophic.
Also, the swimming pool is indoor and outdoor too, the water is heated so you can swim outdoors in there is sunshine. Waht a wonderful experience.
I recommended this hotel and we will definitively come back.

Room Tip: please ask rooms with number above the 40s so you can face the sea.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weekend4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Dear Guests,

just come back! Thank you so much-we are happy with you knowing you spent a lovely week-end
at the SENTIDO Phenicia!

Best regards
Yours
SENTIDO Phenicia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Was not too sure what to expect of this hotel when reading a lot of the reviews before we went as there was a lot tof negative comments about the decor and cleaniness of the hotel but can honestly say that it was not an issue yes in a few places it could have done with a touch up of paint here and there but people shouldn't let it make a difference to their holiday.

When we arrived at the hotel we were taken into the entertainment room and were given a refreshing glass of lemon as a welcome drink while we filled in a form with our details, then the hotel manager explained about the hotel and where things were etc which we thought was very good as normaly when you go to a hotel you have to stand at the reception desk to do the forms etc.

We went on some trips, but decided not to do the Friday market one with the rep as we took a taxi there as they are really cheap and always plenty of them around plus you can go and come back when you are ready, there are always some waiting by the hotel and when you come out of the market they are by the entrance so you can save a lot of money by doing that.

I was surprised to see a shower gel/shampoo dispencer on the wall which was great as saved ours and was good to use as bubble bath to. Also there is a small washing line on the balcony wall which came in handy. You don't need to take beach towels as you can get them from the shop with a deposit which you get back when you hand them back, you can change them twice a week for clean ones.

There was 5 of us we all had a great week, the hotel staff were very friendly the food was fantastic and plenty variety. It is better value going all inclusive. Enjoyed the entertainment the animation team worked hard to entertain people. It would be good if there was 10 night stays as a week is not always long enough and 2 weeks can be too long.
Looking forward to returning again one day.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Chris568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback regarding the SENTIDO Phenicia, also a big
"Thank you" for recommending our resort.

Kind regards
Yours
SENTIDO Phenicia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

My Husband and I just spend three nights at the Phenicia and had a wonderful time. Before booking the trip I read many reviews on Trip Advisor and I can honestly say that any negative comments are not justified. The hotel is extremely clean, the staff work tirelessly to ensure every area from the hallways to the pool is perfect. The rooms were big enough for us and had every thing you need. It was out honeymoon and the hotel upgraded us to a double room overlooking the main pool area. It was a beautiful view and would recommend it (6009.) You do have to pay to use the safe which is a bit annoying but worth the few quid for peace of mind. The Breakfast room was great, you could sit inside or out on the terrace overlooking the pool. The choice was varied but don't expect a full English breakfast. Lunch and Dinner are buffet style, I must admit the food was the main let down of the hotel.`The presentation and the staff were great but the choice and flavour was a little disappointing. There was one night there Turkey steaks were being grilled in front of the guest. The chef emptied the tray of raw meal onto the grill but then poured the raw meat juice over the cooked meat and served it. The queue of people waiting looked at eat other and then all walked away, much to the chef's confusion, which was slightly worrying! I must say that I heard of no one being poorly while we stayed at the hotel and neither of us had any problems, I would just say to be sensible with food choices. I had read in other reviews that you are asked to sit with another couple if you stay with just two in your party, I asked the staff when we arrived if we could have a private table and they were more than happy to seat us this way. There are plenty of bars to get drinks from, not for wine lovers but the cocktails are very good. The animation team did their best to get us involved in activities but as we were only there a few days we wanted to relax, they were not pushy or rude but very nice and good fun. It did rain a bit when we were there but there is a pool table etc in the small games room that kept us happy. This is not a place for vibrant night life, at 12pm we were the last ones at the bar and they turned the lights off! We paid to use the gym (about £3 each for an hour) and not worth it at all, the equipment is old, apart from one new bike, and there is no air con at all! I do not think the hotel should charge to use the facility. We travelled with Thomas Cook and we had a transfer included in our trip, We visited the reception several times to find out what time our transfer was on the day we were leaving and were told to come back at the certain time. Each time we returned we were told to come back again. When we were finally told a time it turned out to be the wrong time! The staff had to come and find us as the bus was waiting for us. Very frustrating for us and the other passengers who had to wait for us, my advice would be to double check your pick up time to ensure you have the correct information. I also read that the lady in the shop was not friendly, I certainly did not find this to be the case. The lady was lovely and very helpful. The prices in the shop are far higher than what you will pay on the beach but I am sure the quality is higher too. Overall the hotel is wonderful, for the money we paid it was really good value and would happily recommend it to friends and family.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the main pool have a beautiful view but are only accessible by stairs not a lift like t...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicci P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Dear Guests,

Thank you for sharing your holiday impression with tripadvisor members. We are pleased to read that you are considering the hotel as "wonderful, for the money you paid, it was really good value"; thank you also for recommending the SENTIDO Phenicia happily to your friends and your family.
We checked immediately the "turkey steak" incident with our Chief Cook - it is very difficult to us
to confirm that they spread the meat juice over the grilled steaks - all our staff is trained on HACCP, and we are controlled every year, as well as we are employing a hygienist - we are doing everything possibel to avoid any risks in health - this is also the reason why we have no guests with stomach deseases!!!!!!!! And if we would - immediately action would follow in order to find out where is a non controlled risk.....!
Pick up times are given by the Thomas Cook Representatives - and they can be checked on
the Thomas Cook board under "homeward bound" even a few days before your departure.....
Best greetings
Yours
SENTIDO Phenicia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
6.5 km away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#5 of 118 in Hammamet
2,127 reviews
5.0 km away
La Badira
La Badira
#3 of 118 in Hammamet
708 reviews
5.7 km away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 km away
Hotel Manar
Hotel Manar
#2 of 118 in Hammamet
2,093 reviews
2.4 km away
Hotel Palace Oceana Hammamet
6.1 km away
SENTIDO Aziza Beach Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Phenicia? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Phenicia

Address: Avenue Moncef Bey, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#2 Family Hotel in Hammamet
#4 Business Hotel in Hammamet
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
Price Range: ₹ 3,963 - ₹ 22,933 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO Phenicia 4*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully situated on the East coast of Tunisia, SENTIDO Phenicia spreads between a fine sandy beach and a garden of 11 hectares where mix generously Palm and Olive trees. For your comfort, the rooms of the hotel all endowed with balconies or terraces offer you fantastic views between the gulf and mountains of Hammamet, swimming pools, or gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your SENTIDO Phenicia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sentido Phenicia Hotel Hammamet
Iberostar Hotel Hammamet
Iberostar Hotel Phenicia
Iberostar Phenicia Tunisia
Iberostar Phenicia Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing