We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything & More”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Palace Oceana Hammamet
Ranked #4 of 117 Hotels in Hammamet
Certificate of Excellence
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Everything & More”
Reviewed 24 May 2012

10 day break here from 6 to 16 may 2012 - weather great.
Only box not ticked was the beach ( seaweed & camel dung ) The general manager, personally, explained the sea weed was a bi--annual event on the spring & autumn eqinox. Sure enough as the week went on the tide gradually took the seaweed away!
Hotel, if not 5 stars then very close... facilities spot on, staff first class, food: everything you could ask for in quality & choice. The General Manager was here there and every where on a daily basis, from early to late. He should be holding master classes in how to be to totally front of house without being obtrusive, really impressed us! As mentioned great staff , but a special shout ( THOMSON PLEASE NOTE) to 'Jamie Cox ' - events manager, he put a smile on our face every morning and what a great laid back attitude with a can do approach to guests requirements.nice one Jamie - Hotel is certainly on our list for a not too distant re visit. WELL DONE TO ALL
M&R

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gram E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

840 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    573
    193
    46
    19
    9
See reviews for
136
505
40
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

This was a second trip to Tunisia for myself and a friend.We had previously stayed in another Riu Palace but decided to try the Oceana.This hotel recently converted to couples only status which is great if you have left your own little darlings at home with Daddy!.The hotel itself was beautiful and the grounds immaculately kept.The staff are polite and there was no evidence of the inuendo often experienced by female guests when travelling without our male escorts!!. Food was plentiful , varied and delicious. Mr Neves certainly runs a tight ship the hotel is a credit to him and his staff. My only gripe which is a minor one is that the outdoor pool was freezing despite the high temps of early May. I dont enjoy indoor pools and love to swim in the sun.We will be back however.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cathy12336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a 7 night stay at this hotel travelling with Thomson Holidays.
We had a large junior suite with pool and side views of the sea. The room was very clean and welcoming.
We were upgraded by Thomson's from H/B to All inclusive. Breakfast, lunch and dinner were to a very high standard with lots of choice and quality. The staff in the Restaurant were very professional and attentive
The pool area and grounds were immaculate. Once again staff in this area were very good in providing sun lounges/towels and drinks from the poolside bar.
The General Manager was excellent. Does everything in his power to ensure his guests are given the best service and an enjoyable stay.
You can walk along the beach to Yasmine Hammamet in a comfortable 40 mins approx. There is a large Marina with a choice of many restaurants, bars and shops. In the opposite direction from the hotel you have the old town of Hammamet. Walking time along the beach is approx 1hr 30 mins. We took a taxi at a cost of approx 6 Dn. We were dropped at the old Fort.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone. It ranks amongst the top hotels for service that I have stayed in.
The only disappointing feature of the hotel is its location. Nowhere to walk to on a warm romantic evening. But that's just me.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with pool and sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank XLU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

It's important to acknowledge that of the many hotels we have stayed in, a 5* hotel in Tunisia didn't quite equate to the same impeccable standards as we have experienced in 5* boutique Europe. That said, the staff, the welcome, the attention to detail and our overall stay far exceeded most of our experiences elsewhere! It took a few days for us to get into the swing with the way things are run (e.g tipping, difference in ordering lunch to dinner, location of the 'hidden' Hammam etc. and later in our stay we were able to advise others who commented that they wished they had met us on day one to know how things went so hopefully the following tips are helpful!

Rooms - spacious, impeccably cleaned every day and have wonderful sea views (worth the upgrade - we were originally given a non-sea view room and it would have really taken away some of the magic of the holiday).

Tipping - it is common to offer a 1 dinar / half a dinar tip on most occasions including daily drinks orders, maid service, daily towel and sun-lounger service etc.

Private beach - small warning - we were originally excited about the private beach, but after exploring on the second day we were approached several times by beach traders attempting (quite forcefully!) to sell their wares or drag us onto their horse / camel. Initially quite unnerving, but we soon got the hang of ignoring or saying no quite forcefully. This was also aided by the fact that once the hotel were aware, they soon provided beach-watch security which wasn't necessary for safety but acted as a good deterrent! The private garden grounds are beautiful and create a pleasant oasis with constant bar service as your sunlounger - fabulous touch.

Food - outstanding! Huge variety of both local and worldwide dishes with attentive staff who do their absolute best to make every evening more special than the last. We were on such good terms with the head chef by the end of our stay that he personally came to say goodbye on our final night. Breakfast is a stunning experience on the terrace looking over the sea.

Health Facilities - outdoor pool great, indoor pool even better when slightly colder outside (I imagine the pool will heat up from May onwards). The gym is adequate although no air conditioning. Spa and beauty facilities are varied and the treatments we had were very pleasant and very reasonably priced. Do go in search of the Hammam! It's hidden behind wooden doors to the left of the spa and many we encountered hadn't made use of it - there are relaxation beds and it acts as a large steam room which is a wonderful facility.

Entertainment - only downfall of our stay really. Very little in the way of real entertainment but we still enjoyed sitting in the luxurious bar area and listening to the mild live music.

Outstanding service - On more than one occasion, the staff at Riu Oceana go far beyond to make your stay truly wonderful. Mr Neves, hotel manager, is relentlessly parading the grounds to ensure everything is just so and greets all guests warmly on a daily basis.

For two days I became unwell with a heavy cold (suspect contracted on the plane!) and didn't feel up to breakfast. The restaurant staff were so kind as to notice I was absent at breakfast and accompany my partner back to my room with a whole tray of my usual breakfast choices and special Tunisian tea to help me recover! They also prepared our drinks by our table each evening and the bar staff anticipated our 'usual' most nights we arrived at the bar prior to dinner. Within the room, if a bikini or wet pair of shorts were left out, the maid kindly hung them on the line out on the balcony for us to dry! It's this kind of constant attention to detail and outstanding service that made our stay so wonderful.

Enjoy your stay! Hope these tips have been helpful.

Room Tip: Definitely pick sea view - not worth the other alternative of looking over a concrete roof!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank LadyoftheHPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
107 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

This was our fourth stay at this hotel and it is such a reliable place to stay. We usually come with Thompsons, but didn't like their flight times so booked independently through the hotel and booked flights with Tunis air. We arranged a taxi fom the hotel to pick us up from Tunis airport and to take us back. This worked very well and was quick and efficient.
When we arrived quite late,although we had missed dinner, there was a cold meal waiting in our room of bread,cheese, salad and fruits and a bottle of water. I thought this was a great touch. The staff at check in were delightful and recognised us even though it has been three years since our last visit.
Our room was 519 with pool and sea view and great for late sun in the afternoon. The hotel is immaculate, everything runs smoothly. Our room was cleaned beautifully each day, the food was plentiful and varied and the waiters their usual charming selves. Lots of the staff were the same, which I think is a positive sign. The manager, Mr Neves, keeps a very close eye on things and is around and about the hotel a great deal.
The facilities were excellent. We used the swimming pool and gym and my husband thought his massage was one of the best.
We had a very relaxing week in a lovely hotel with beautifully kept grounds. The only down point is that tourists do seem to be staying away from Hammamet and Tunisia in general. It would be so good to see them returning as there is minimal hassle and no sign of the social unrest.
I could not recommend this hotel enough. Start booking!!

Room Tip: Pay a little more and have a pool/sea view room on third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank madcatwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
6.9 km away
La Badira
La Badira
#3 of 117 in Hammamet
598 reviews
8.6 km away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#6 of 117 in Hammamet
1,985 reviews
7.8 km away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
SENTIDO Phenicia
SENTIDO Phenicia
#2 of 117 in Hammamet
5,404 reviews
3.6 km away
Golden Tulip Taj Sultan Resort
1.2 km away
The Russelior Hotel & Spa
The Russelior Hotel & Spa
#25 of 117 in Hammamet
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palace Oceana Hammamet? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palace Oceana Hammamet

Property: Hotel Palace Oceana Hammamet
Address: Barraket Essahel, B.P 58 | Hammamet Sud, Hammamet 8056, Tunisia (Formerly Hotel Riu Palace Oceana Hammamet)
Region: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
#3 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
#13 Family Hotel in Hammamet
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,744 - ₹ 26,015
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Palace Oceana Hammamet 5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in Hammamet-Jinene * Situated on the beach * Complimentary sun loungers and parasols on the beach * 4-storey building surrounded by 70,000 m2 of gardens * 8 km from Hammamet's old quarter * 2 km from various shops * 60/95 km from the Tunis/Monastir airports * 40 km from Enfidha airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Palace Oceana Hammamet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Oceana Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing