We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Possibly worse 4* Hotel in Tunisia.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Iberostar Averroes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Iberostar Averroes
Ranked #10 of 123 Hotels in Hammamet
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Possibly worse 4* Hotel in Tunisia.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

As a frequent traveller to Tunisia, 3 hours from Manchester, great. Not been to Yasmine Hammamet before and chose Averroes because of Iberostar reputation and name.
BIG mistake detinately not upto 4* standards.
Washing facility from beach to hotel grounds, a basin filled with dirty water, no running fresh water.
Pool not cleaned on a daily basis, full of sand and debris.
Breakfast starts at 0630 but no hot food available till later.
Chefs and kitchen staff need to be told their uniforms also come in white.
Room was tired but clean and useable.
On the whole staff pleasant and accommodating (if you tip them).
Alcohol was acceptable for an all inclusive.
Thank goodness I only booked for 4 nights.

Room Tip: Consider another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Firebobby691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Averroes, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Dear guest,

We are very grateful for the review you wrote. It is our goal to achieve excellence in our daily work and no one better than our guests can indicate us how to improve day after day.

We are very sorry that you missed a more complete washing facility on the way between the beach and the hotel grounds; we understand that you prefer to enter the hotel without sand on your feet when coming back from the beach and we have passed the suggestion to install a tap with running fresh water at the entrance, to the technical department. The responsible persons are now studying the feasibility of this proposal and they will also be very attentive to the correct cleaning of the swimming pool. We apologize that during your stay you encountered that it was not sufficiently clean and we guarantee to keep alert to avoid such in the future.

Concerning the appropriate clothing of the staff, we would like to apologize for any situation under our standards, the head departments have been informed about your comments and we are sure they will help us to improve. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures and prevent any future occurrences.

Further we are glad that you find that the rooms were clean and useable and the all in service acceptable. It is very enjoyable to read that you also find our staff pleasant and accommodating, to us it is very important that our guests feel welcome and well attended; therefore in Iberostar we school our employees to perform with a clear client orientated service.

We do appreciate your comments as they can help us to improve. We hope to see you again in the near future and to have the opportunity to offer you a very enjoyable experience leaving a good and lasting impression

Yours faithfully,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,254
    666
    240
    102
    54
See reviews for
782
884
79
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

Having just spent our family holiday at this hotel it is definitely the best in area and location on beach makes it great for family's, couples or single travellers.
Could not find any faults, everywhere inside hotel was spotless and all staff are every friendly. Heard some people complaining about lack of variety in food which is totally untrue for those willing to eat other than the full English everyday.
Rooms where large and spotless cleaned every day but decor and beds felt a little dated.
Pool was large and very clean and whilst we stayed there was never a problem getting a sun bed which includes cushion brought for you by very friendly pool staff.
Would love to rate this hotel as 10 out of 10 but feel it is a little dated when comparing modern 4 star hotels so must give staff 10 out of 10 and hotel 8.5 out of 10.
If you need or would like wifi this is only available in reception and speed most of time meant it was quicker to wait for pigeon post rather than trying to download or even log on sometimes.
All being said we would return but would hope that some updates had taken place.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on 4th floor overlooking pool/ beach. Room 4017 which we had was best hotel room v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chris4502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Sebastian
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

It used to be a wonderful Iberostar stylish hotel with good location and friendly staff who are still doing their best to cover up all the disadvantages with their professionalism and smiles but hard as they may try..........if it is not renovated this year I cannot imagine the next summer in Averroes.The hotel has not been overhauled for 10 years or more.High time !! Air conditioning is not working and if you are lucky to get a room where it - is the hotel switches it off at unpredictable times so do not be surprised when you suddenly find yourself in a hot damp room with warm humid air blowing at your face out of the system. Sinks and bath pipes need unblocking, too.Cockroaches in the garden need to be ''controlled'' or else they will keep crawling under your table while you are consuming meals which are not bad at all. It would be recommended to change the doors which are joining rooms because you can hear your neighbours moving in their bed, not mentioning their cries. Apart from that there are numerous advantages of Averroes , the hotel which I used to visit numerous times.However, the hotel cannot renovate itself , therefore hopefully the big name Iberostar will soon give it a helping hand and also make sure that the beach which once had white clean sand will be clean again , as now it is completely unattended , full of cigarette ends , tissues and sharp objects.Please take care of Averroes as we want to come back . Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Averroes, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
Dear Robert,

We are grateful for this review; it is absolutely lovely to see how much you care for the Iberostar Averroes. We want to thank you for the councils you kindly offered and we will certainly take them in our consideration. No one better than a concerned guest, can help us to adapt the hotel to the needs of its clients.

Although the hotel was built a few years ago, we try to take good care of it and we do our utmost to maintain all the installations in a perfect state. Nevertheless we passed your remarks about overhauling some parts of the hotel to the concerning department so that the viability of this idea can be studied.

Please receive our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused by the infestation of insects. We do our utmost to prevent this and usually we can. Nevertheless sometimes due to the huge gardens, the green areas and the climatology there is a punctual invasion. As soon as this is ascertained we initiate the procedures to deal with the circumstances and solvent the inconvenience.

Further we took good note of your comments regarding the beach. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to prevent that in the future the beach looks unattended. Despite belonging to the DPM (Domaine publique maritime) it is our pleasure to explain that although it´s public, the hotel cares a lot and therefore every day, early in the morning, our gardeners clean all the beach by hand, even so, and due to the currents, weather circumstances and the fact that not all visitors have equal perception of values, sometimes it becomes in need of cleaning before the day has passed.

In addition we thank you for highlighting the quality of our culinary offer. As in Iberostar one of the main attractions is considered to be the gastronomic delight of all palates, our professional chefs prepare the meals with quality products only. Reading that you could enjoy their efforts strengthens our determination to keep encountering the demanding standards that are our guideline.

It is enjoyable to see that you would like to honor us with a new visit, and we are very flattered because of the beautiful compliments you made in relation to our staff. They are the base to offer the close and personalized service Iberostar is famous for. As all of them work very hard, striving to surpass guest expectations, we will definitely pass on your satisfaction with their services. They will surely celebrate that you wrote that they are very friendly.
Once again we want to thank you for your constructive critics and we will do all the possible to fulfill your expectations and holiday wishes. We look forward to thank you personally for your encouraging review and we send you our best regards.

Yours sincerely,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

We have just arrived home after 1 week at the Averroes. We visit Tunisia on a regular basis for our summer holidays and usually choose Iberostar, Riu or Magic Life Manar. This was our first time at the Averroes and it will be our last. We had two bedrooms booked. One for 3 people and one for 2. The 3 bedded room only had 2 beds.....lucky my young son is only little. I raised this at reception to no avail on a daily basis. I really dont expect to share a single bed and bath towels in a 4 star hotel! Yes, some reception staff were grumpy but most were lovely. The pool was not cleaned properly and you could see hair, plasters etc floating in the water. The food was lovely and our waiter looked after us really well. Weather, as you would expect in August, was amazing. No issue getting sunbeds around the pool even at 8am. If you're thinking of booking this hotel I would recommend the Belisaire instead for the same sort of money.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinkbugga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Averroes, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for having so carefully explained your positive and negative feelings about your stay. Your opinion is highly valuable and helps us improve our services.

Regarding the service orientation and professionalism of our reception staff, which is one of the prime pillars of our company, we are very sorry to hear that their performance was not meeting our standards neither your expectations. We are now revising all our procedures in order to guarantee that all employees supply correct measures when guests raise requires or objections.

We also want to thank you for your advice on the cleaning of the swimming pool and passed your comments to our maintenance service so that they stay alert and assure that this insufficiency won’t be repeated. On the other hand we are delighted to read you could easily become sun beds even at late hours.

We understand that gastronomy and spotless service in the restaurants are important factors in your holiday experience and it makes us feel proud that you high lighten that the food is lovely and your waiter looked very well after you.

We would like to thank you once more for sharing your observations with us as this gives us the opportunity to make improvements and thus offer all our guests a better service, which ultimately is the goal of Iberostar.

Yours faithfully,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

This is a good middle of the road hotel, the rooms are spacious and the public areas are clean and well maintained. There is a good choice at mealtimes and other reviewers complaining about the food should reconsider travelling abroad, if you want English food stay in England. There is a full programme of activities in the day and night and it is up to you whether you join in or not.There is a really good atmosphere and the staff are very helpful and polite. I was there during Ramadan and would have quite understood if the staff had been a bit grouchy through hunger however this was absolutely not the case and I was extremely impressed. My tips to enhance your holiday would be; if you drink spirits buy them duty free and take them with you,( those served as part of the all inclusive are local and not very nice), take a kettle as there are no tea making facilities in the rooms, if you are a smoker wait till you get there to buy cigarettes as they are only about £2.50 a packet(they are more or less the same price at the airport going home so you might as well buy them at the hotel and pack them), if you have the choice travel with BA as you get 23 kilos luggage allowance plus 23 kilos hand luggage and it would be a good idea to use the extra allowance to take your own beach towels ( I will also take one of my lounger cushions from home next time as those provided are not all that comfy and I personally spend the vast majority of my holiday laying down sunbathing !). I would certainly recommend this hotel and hope to return next year.

Room Tip: It's well worth paying extra for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GosportTopsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
9.6 km away
La Badira
La Badira
#1 of 123 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
11.3 km away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#4 of 123 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,886 reviews
10.6 km away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
SENTIDO Phenicia
SENTIDO Phenicia
#2 of 123 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,107 reviews
0.9 km away
Alhambra Thalasso Hotel
Alhambra Thalasso Hotel
#32 of 123 in Hammamet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
0.2 km away
Golden Tulip Taj Sultan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Averroes? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Averroes

Property: Iberostar Averroes
Address: | Yasmine, Hammamet 8052, Tunisia
Phone Number:
Region: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Hammamet
#7 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#9 Family Hotel in Hammamet
#10 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
#12 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,144 - ₹ 11,201
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Averroes 4*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The fantastic IBEROSTAR Averroes Hotel offers stupendous Hammamet vacations throughout the year. This 4-star all-inclusive Tunisian resort is the perfect spot for holidaying with children or for a couple's escape to the Mediterranean. With 255 double rooms, 7 junior suites, 2 suites, 2 suites with a pool and 2 huge meeting rooms, perfect for your big event, this top hotel and spa is ideal for celebrations or trips to the alluring country of Tunisia. Mediterranean Delicacies. Tunisian cuisine is some of the healthiest and most flavoursome food in the entire Mediterranean region. The IBEROSTAR Averroes Hotel's culinary experts prepare national and international food creations that are not only delicious but beautiful as well. The hotel's five bars and restaurants are guaranteed to entice guests. Entertainment for Young and Old in Hammamet- . IBEROSTAR Averroes adult guests can confidently entrust their little ones to qualified and skilled professionals who have organized hours of fun and games at the Mini-Club while parents enjoy entertainment shows and cabarets. The IBEROSTAR Averroes Hotel also offers other forms of entertainment for all ages and tastes including live music, dancing, and performances. Sports and Spa: Care and Be Cared For. Tennis courts, water-sports, aerobics, gymnastics, beach volleyball, dance lessons...all of this plus an outstanding spa, fitness room, Turkish baths, sauna, beauty salon, and massage services provided by the best professional staff are featured at our top hotel. Free Wi-Fi. Connect to the Internet with IBEROSTAR for as long as you want. The hotel offers exclusive free Wi-Fi in all its facilities. Conventions, Events, and Business Functions in Hammamet. Hammamet, Tunisia's attractiveness to tourists and warm climate make it the best hotel for hosting your conference or work function anytime of the year. The IBEROSTAR Averroes, with its internet-connected conference rooms, is well-equipped for successful meetings and business functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Iberostar Averroes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Averroes Hotel Hammamet
Iberostar Hotel Averroes
Iberostar Hotel Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing